Finally adopted a Platform(SDG)

16 46
Avatar for QueenRaay
2 years ago

11/11/21

Today was very memorable because I and my partner went to a school to educate the junior school students about Sustainable Developmental Goals(SDG). I decided to adopt a platform after a long while in service.

I woke up very early this morning because I was very excited about today. The first thing I did after I woke up is I called my partner and we agreed to meet at my place so that we can both go together to the school.

The day started with us getting there earlier than the time they requested us to come. We were there 30minutes before the session, we had to sit under a tree since it was still early and the students were still on break.

I took some shots while waiting under the tree.

Students playing in the school compound
Pictures of other children in the school playing ground

Immediately after the break was over, the vice principal led us to the first class. I spoke with them about the goals of SDG's, eradicating poverty on the planet, protecting the people and promoting peace.

The vice principal introducing us to the class.

One thing that shocked me was the population of the class was over 100, it wasn't so easy for me to get them to listen to me, I can imagine how their teachers cope with such a large class. As you can see in the above picture some of them were busy having a meeting at the back of the class while I was being introduced.

I was so excited to see the students and even though we had a bit of trouble communicating with them at first, we managed to reach an understanding and we were able to reach a lot of students.

Sponsors of QueenRaay
empty
empty
empty
Check out my amazing sponsors, you'll love their articles.

Another surprising thing was the eagerness of the students to learn, to the extent that many sat on the window while some even sat on the floor out of readiness to learn.

My partner told the students about the core focus of SDG.
A picture of me telling the students our main focus for the duration of the classes.

Finally, about today, there's this particular girl we met named Gift, she is so beautiful for her age, she has the power of changing the world. We met her through one of our friends who referred us to this particular school. They told us that there is one girl, in particular, they requested for us to meet because of her life story.

Gift was so adorable and we just felt like we had to do something about it and we did. Gift was a girl who has been orphaned since she was born and lived with her uncle up until now. She had so many dreams and even though she had so many dreams she never let them get the best of her.

There were so many challenges she faced but yet she had so much faith in herself and she had such a great sense of humour that we could spend hours with her.

The most obvious thing to ask about her life would be her past, but she replied that she doesn't remember much or neither has she ever seen a picture of her biological parents.

The only thing she can remember vividly was the day her father died and how he begged his family to take care of his daughter.

She was such a bright student in her class, so much so that one of her teachers advised her to pursue higher education even though they both knew it would be futile as they live in a remote community where there are no universities nearby and they can't even imagine how she would go about it.

Next week is another time and I can't wait to go there again next week to continue from where we stopped.

N.B: All images were taken by me with my phone.

10
$ 0.33
$ 0.05 from @TengoLoTodo
$ 0.05 from @Idksamad7869
$ 0.05 from @King_Gozie
+ 6
Sponsors of QueenRaay
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for QueenRaay
2 years ago

Comments

There’s so much passion in that school and I do hope there will be an opportunity for the young girl to further her education.. you all did a break job yesterday, I must commend your effort towards this...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks, bro. I was surprised at their passion as well. I hope so as well, I'll keep giving her moral support and help in the little way I can as well.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

If I may ask "what do you plan doing for these students with SDG?" Like I know its purpose is to eradicate poverty. You wan use your bch? 🤣🤣🤣

Don't mind me. Just kidding That is nice. I love listening to people like Gift and to know their past too. Good luck on your new Platform.

Is the initiative between you and your partner?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol 😆 😆, I pray I'll become very rich for that. And probably I'll source funds(BCH) from my bosses(you inclusive).

No, the initiative is for my NYSC community development service. But I knew I wouldn't be able to cope with public such population alone, that was why I went with him.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You have finally adopted a platform dear, congratulations...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, I did.. Would be going to another school next week as well.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Great work will harvest great reward from the Lord. Just continue serving and while you can for in time greatness will overflow.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Amen. Thanks so much for the encouragement. I'm grateful.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You had an awesome day QR. The number of students in a class astounded me, they're too many. All the best!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks ma'am. Yes, the population is of high percent. That's how our public schools here are. Many would even sit on floors and windows to learn.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Quite sad but what matters is they get to learn something.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That is simply awesome, thank you for doing that, but the class size wow, I am glad you got through to them and that they want to learn.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you, sir. The class size was a scare at first, but I got over it. Most public schools here in Nigeria are of large population because we have lots of less privileged people.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sometimes it is easier to talk to a bigger group, they feed of the energy of the group.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Awwn, I will like to know the girl too. I pray she meet people that will help her in achieving her dreams

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm still working on her, we would need her again next week. I really hope she gets all the needed help to succeed.

$ 0.00
2 years ago