The Notoriety of Graft and Corruption

4 26
Avatar for Pyper
Written by
3 years ago
Topics: Bitcoin Cash

I used to think politics would never concern me or my lifestyle. "Politics do not interest me." I remember uttering those exact words when I was asked "If you could vote, who would you choose?"

A lot of years have gone by and I have long reflected on that version of me. I realized lack of awareness is different from ignorance and that version of me was merely too innocent to know about issues that happened behind closed doors, the injustices that surrounded local communities and the social issues that affected not only my fellowmen but also the environment and the country.

We were tasked to prepare for the extemporaneous speech that was scheduled on Nov. 13, 2020. Without much preparation, my topic was about the possible legislative processes that should be implemented in order to stop graft and corruption. I've done my research prior to the scheduled date but I did not come across possible solutions, thus, my speech was based on knowledge and opinions.

"We are a community. If one decides to pull another down, others will follow. If politicians - who are supposed to guide and serve our community - decides to misguide and betray us, they are not only affecting lives, they are also bringing dirt to our country."

Do you wonder where those programs, advocacies and campaigns prior to the election ever led? Because I do and I think about this one politician from my country who was proven to be involved with the pork barrel scam scandal, yet had the audacity to run for the election. Sadly enough, he won. Around that time, he became famous on social media and voters were asked why they voted for him. Believe it or not, most of them answered "His advertisement was catchy and he seemed to be fun."

This is not lack of awareness, this is ignorance. I'm not disregarding the fact that people are capable of change but graft and corruption are prominent because of politicians like him. Sure they can change, but don't let them run for elections. They can prove how much they've changed but they can't undo the damages. Besides, they can change and be better versions of themselves while continuing to serve the country, not as politicians but as fellowmen.

This is one solution which I think should be implemented - politicians who are proven to be involved in scandals such as bribery, fraud, scams and corruption should be banned from running and participating in elections. Two, before even running for elections, there must be discreet background checks in order to ensure whether or not they are reliable, trustworthy and if they have had incidents in the past which affects law and order.

There is an anti-graft and corruption law that is implemented but let me ask you this, "Why is it notoriously dominant?" I remember this other politician who started off being so loving and caring to farmers but in the end, her true colors finally showed - she manipulated, degraded and betrayed farmers and all for what? For the land so she could have more housing developments, thus, more money. Farmers are hard workers yet they are one of the most underpaid members of society. It is politicians like her - dishonest, discriminative and unjust who contributes nothing but pain and injustice within a country. This is the third solution, they must have oaths with their campaigns and advocacies and if they are elected, they must continue to meet those objectives. If ever those promises have been broken, they must be impeached.

Now I want you to think deeply about politics. Were your votes worth it? If you've noticed injustices brought by politicians, what might you suggest as solutions to lessen and get rid of such? Remember, a community strives to help one another for the betterment of the country, not be destroyed by power and money.

3
$ 4.21
$ 4.21 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Pyper
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Pyper
Written by
3 years ago
Topics: Bitcoin Cash

Comments

Enjoyed reading your article and learned something new thanks for sharing

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you! I appreciate it. This article, after all, is intended for everyone to think deeply about politics and social issues.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm not a voter yet but as I observe the society, they chose an instant gain, like cash where their votes were bought,without knowing the toll it will bring to the society in the future.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes. This is a sad reality because some politicians use money in order to manipulate people into voting for them. Electoral fraud may help those in need for the time being but it can be risky for the future and may be ineffective in the long run.

$ 0.00
3 years ago