Salad to Stay in Shape!

40 71
Avatar for Purepinay
3 years ago

I started to love salad when me and my partner in crime rcarter discovered the healthy benefits and different ways to make it at home.

In our first year of dating we used to go out to eat almost every single meal. We spent roughly 1500 pesos ($30 USD) a day, that's 45,000 pesos a month! (Which is a lot here in the Philippines). Until we noticed our weight was increasing more and our pants were getting tighter =D. So we decided to make a change.

We became fans of Food Network, a cooking show in USA. We both learned a lot of good recipes for salad.

Up until this day, we make salad at home at least 5 times a week. We enjoy it because it helps us stay in shape.

Here are some of our salad creations;

Arugula with Red Beans and Nuts
Arugula is bit overpriced in the Cebu, Philippines. I rarely buy it at the grocery store unless I get it from my farmer friends. I met them during my jog up the mountain here in Cebu. I saw a bunch of lettuce on the side of the street, they were going to deliver to the grocery store =). But I got lucky they sold me some, for only 150 pesos for a kilo but I gave them 200 because I got different kinds, from arugula, romaine, red leaf and green leaf lettuce (wa-lah! happy me!) =D

Ingredients:
Arugula
Red kidney beans
Almond
Pistachio
Sunflower seeds
Feta Cheese
Pan-seared boneless chicken

Dressing:
1tbsp Honey
4 tbsp EVOO (Extra Virgin Olive Oil)
2 tbsp ACV (Apple Cider Vinegar)
2 tsp dijon mustard
dash salt & pepper


Simple Salad

Iceberg lettuce is the cheapest lettuce you can buy at the same time very appetizing . I usually buy it for 40.00 pesos good for two people. Depending on how big your appetite is, you have to remember that you have other veggies to add to your salad.

Ingredients:
Iceberg Lettuce
Cucumber
Tomatoes
White Onion
Feta Cheese
Pan-seared boneless chicken (EVOO, red pepper flakes, salt and pepper)

Dressing 1 :
4 tbsp EVOO (Extra Virgin Olive Oil)
2 tbsp ACV (Apple Cider Vinegar)
1 tsp lemon juice
2 tsp dijon mustard
about 1/8 tsp salt & pepper


Salad with Pan-seared Chicken and Homemade Bacon Tidbits

Ingredients:
Cucumber
Tomatoes
White Onion
Feta Cheese
Carrots
Red peppers
Apple
Almonds
Homemade bacon tidbits
Pan-seared chicken (EVOO, red pepper flakes, oregano, salt and pepper)

Dressing:
2 tablespoons mayonnaise.
2 EVOO (Extra Virgin Olive Oil)
1/8 tsp Lemon juice
salt & pepper


Asian Beef Salad

Ingredients:
Arugula
Romaine Lettuce
White Onion
Green apple
Carrots
Cucumber
Chickpeas
Red kidney beans (love beans, it adds extra texture to my salad)

Dressing:
2 tbsp Lime juice
1/8 tsp Sesame oil
1 tbsp Honey
4 tbsp EVOO ( because I like to make my dressing healthier)
dash salt & pepper


PS
_You can always adjust the dressing depending on your taste.*_

Hope you enjoy this post =)
Sharing is caring =) Feel free to re-use the contents with right credit Thank you ^_-

38
$ 0.00
Sponsors of Purepinay
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Purepinay
3 years ago

Comments

Great article

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wonderful article

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Great article Please subscribe me back

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow mukhang masarap po ahh..matry nga minsan..thanks for sharing😘😘😘

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Masarap tqlaga yan at masustansya pa. Welcome

$ 0.00
3 years ago

😋😋😋

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Its to expensive, it could feed a poor family in a week at that cost

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice article

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you so much for the recipe. It turned out delicious and tasty. I will tell my friends also to try this recipe.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you. I have more recipes to come 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I like your article Please subscribe me back

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice looking salad great

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thankyou

$ 0.00
3 years ago

😱🤤😋wow very healthy food and looks so delicious 🤤😋

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow! Looks great and delicious. I eat salad most days for lunch and have been doing it for years. I put a variety of topping and dressings on my salads. I sometimes add ground flaxseeds, red onions or chickpeas. I add grilled chicken or a packet of tuna. I am not a big fruit on salad person. Thanks again for sharing your food recipe.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Welcome. I try to make a new recipe about salad.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

thanks for the recipe. I will try this.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Your welcome

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Looks healthy! I need this, thanks for sharing

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Welcome

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sweet

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm salivating

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I love salad

$ 0.00
3 years ago

made this yesterday it was so delicious, right now i'm busy baking it again, absolutely fantastic,,,,Thank you for the wonderful recipe

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wc

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Subvaribe me

$ 0.00
3 years ago

wow ang sasarap nang mga pagkain nakakagutom ..talaga.. 😆 sana my mabuting kalooban na mag.abot nang pagkain .

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Dont worry dalhan kita dyan lol

$ 0.00
3 years ago