How to finally get rid of red snails in the garden

1 42
Avatar for Purebeauty
3 years ago

Red snails cause a lot of damage to plants and destroy crops. Sprinkling with salt is not the most effective solution. The snail begins to salivate, suffers, but the salt does not kill it. In addition, salt in the vegetable garden in large quantities is anything but welcome. The best and probably the only really effective natural way to get rid of them is to think of ducks.

The use of pesticides is not the safest, and salt control, boiling with boiling water and similar measures are not the most humane. Even though snails are pests, they are still living beings. The natural cycle is such that snails can also be food for someone - and the ideal eaters of these bold red crawling creatures are ducks - Indian runners.

Indian runners are like some kind of little snail mammals. The advantage of Indian runners is that they have snails, but not your crops. Those who have them say that with runners in the garden there is no more spirit or hearing about snails. So if you only have the chance, just pop it into your garden. Be sure to adjust the number of ducks to the size of the garden. Don’t populate too many ducks in a garden that is too small, as it will run out of food for everyone too soon. Also, do not carry the collected snails in a container for the ducks, but let them collect them themselves. At the same time, make sure that there is always plenty of water available. Due to the lack of water and the abundance of snails, the duck can suffocate.

Good luck!

Thank you!

Greetings to all! @Purebeauty

5
$ 0.27
$ 0.10 from @tired_momma
$ 0.06 from @lagrapefruit
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
+ 2
Sponsors of Purebeauty
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Purebeauty
3 years ago

Comments

Ah dear thank you but if I have ducks here they finish me off with the plants hahaha. Just kidding...seriously now, I killed off the invasive snails by throwing salt on the big ones. The salt dehydrates them and they stay stuck without moving and the small ones and their eggs were eaten by the toads. I didn't want toads in my garden but then I changed my mind. Now I accept the toad that I never see and I don't have snails that I saw all the time and they killed my plants.

$ 0.03
3 years ago