Sometimes love just ain't enough

2 13
Avatar for Psyche
Written by
2 years ago

"There's a danger in loving somebody too much
And it's sad when you know it's your heart you can't trust
There's a reason why people don't stay where they are
Baby sometimes love just ain't enough"


I once heard this song and it made me think that "is there's a possibility that love just ain't enough for a relationship to last?"

I always thought that, when you love someone, you can overcome the trials that will trigger your relationship. You can be fool, you can be naive and you can risk all you have just for love.

But as time goes by, I slowly realized that this single line of a song is somewhat true. Many relationship especially in 21st century doesn't last due to a lot of factors.

  1. Money

Yesterday, I watched the movie "Anak" starring Vilma Santos and Claudine Bareto. This movie is all about a mom who will risk it all just to support her family especially her children. Her husband tried to be an OFW but just after 2 weeks, he returned to their place because he can't live in a far away place without his family.

Vilma decided to be an OFW instead of her husband. She realized that if her husband can't do it, then who will do it for them? No matter how much he love her children and her husband, she still decided to be an OFW because if she'll stay just because she love them so much, her family's future will be affected because of their financial situation.

In this movie I realized that Love isn't enough especially when you see your family suffering from poverty.

  1. Dreams

Sometimes, our dreams can also trigger our relationship with someone. There are those individual who will choose dreams over love. One of the many examples of this is the movie "Must be Love" starring KathNiel. Kath's father met his first love who is a Beauty Queen. He courted her and they were blessed with a beautiful daughter (Kath).

They established a lechon (roasted pork) business in their community. Kath's mother who is a former beauty queen was the one who managed the business. She was the one who will chop the pork. One day, she realized that her life became totally messed. She was a former beauty queen turned to just a commoner housewife. One day she just left their home to chase her dreams.

This movie made me realized that love isn't enough for a relationship to last especially if your partner is goal oriented.


Now let me share to you the times when I felt like I owned this line of a song.

I have a 3 years and 9 months relationship with someone. In that 3 and 9 months we shared together, if experienced pain and hatred.

Pain in the sense that he always invalidate my feelings. Frankly speaking, I am a very soft hearted person. If you will not listen to my opinions, I will easily feel invalidated and unimportant. There are a lot of nights that I will just cry in my room because of him. I just feel like he doesn't care about the happenings of my life.

Hatred. I experienced this feeling when I accidentally opened his conversation with someone. Note! She is not just someone but she was his former crush way back high school. They shared sweet conversion with each other. I feel super duper angry and we almost break up in that moment.


Just today, he blocked me on facebook foe some stupid reason. I think that I can't take it anymore. This relationship slowly turns to toxicity. I decided to stop contacting him for him to realized that I can live without him. Yeah, I love him so much but maybe Love just ain't enough.

Thanks for readingđź’•


Lead image was from unsplash.

0
$ 0.00
Sponsors of Psyche
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Psyche
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Hi. You poured out your feelings but guess what - love isn't about feelings! If you really want to know what love is, it isn't found in songs and films. Kindly do yourself and others a favor and read my latest post. Only then will you know what love is. God bless you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think the main reason is money and the other thing is lust, they think they love not knowing is just lust

$ 0.00
2 years ago