"Mama, Thank You"

17 49
Avatar for Prudence
3 years ago

I grew up in a not so well off family. My father is a fisherman and my mother does not have a stable job. Sometimes she does laundry for our neighbors and relatives, sometimes she does some project-based factory jobs, most of the times, she sells fish to the neighborhood.

If she have something else to do, she lets me and my siblings do the selling of the those fish. At first it was fun, but later on as I grew older, selling fish was no longer fun at all. I was ashamed because i smell bad and I envied other girls who spent theiir day playing dolls.

My mother barely spend for our toys. She just let us make our own toys. I remember drawing a doll on a cardboard to have a paperdoll because mama wont spend a penny on a barbie doll. She would rather spend the money on something useful in the house.

Whenever I ask her for money, she always have something to trade. Either she will make me do some household chores to earn it, or she will literally let me go with her to her job and help her. There were even times when I and my siblings scavenge recyclables from garbages to earn money.

Back then I never understood her. I even see her as a great manipulator and dictator. But now that i became a mother like her, i realized that she was just preparing us to be ready in facing the realities of life. So I thank my mother for not spoiling me back then. Life is still hard but since i already experienced it as a child, it was just a piece of cake now.

18
$ 0.26
$ 0.26 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for Prudence
3 years ago

Comments

No doubt she prepared you well for this world. Now it's your turn to train your childrens.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes and I am determined to follow her footsteps

$ 0.00
3 years ago

love u mom

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, mother deserves our love

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Being a mother was a tough job and its a lifetime job too. We have to thanked them always for raising us(childrens) to be a good people..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I totally agree to you on that.. Raising children to be a good person is no easy job.. And they deserve our gratitude and respect

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes its a hardest job of all.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Love your mom .. in many ways .. mother's sacrifice everything .. for there child even she know are hard to buy dolls .for you he made a doll that money can't buy and give life by her love

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Absolutely, mother's sacrifice are priceless.. No amount of money can compare to our mother's love

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes .. true .. mother is always ..do there best .for there child to saw them happy

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh I remember that Barbie doll in a card board. I even make paper dress too. But now kids won't enjoy that dolls there are many Barbie dolls for sale now but I choose the paper one the 1 peso haha. For talking about mother. I believe in the saying Mother is always right. Before I don't listen but now in this age of mine I realized Mother's eyesight possessed a laser that no one can ever see. Their sense of hearing and instinct is beyond imaginable they are really right indeed.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I totally agree with you.. They are right when they said that you will only know once you become a mother also.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes we are a mother now😊❤️ And hopefully we will stay strong in this journey.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

nice one again. good job Prudence! keep on surprising us with your unique stories. Very heart warming. Mother's love is unequaled👏

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks for the encouragement. Absolutely, mother's love is unequaled.. I totally understand that now that I am already a mother myself

$ 0.00
3 years ago