Just Another Ending

3 16
Avatar for Prudence
1 year ago

I've been to many interviews before and there is one question that always gives me a hard time answering. Every time I hear that question I take a moment to pause and politely say that, "I don't have an answer for that right but I will make sure to let you know once I figure it out." Guess what the question is? Well, it goes like this,"What will be the reason for you to leave the company.?"

Imagine you were there to apply for a job and they ask you that? I used to work as a contractual worker under an agency. They look for companies that will hire us for 6-12 months. Once the contract ends, if your performance was good they will renew your contract but of course if they're not satisfied they'll end it. No strings attached. And for me who looks for stability in life, it was very tiring.

Until one day, I decided to enter the world of BPO industry. It was here, that I first encountered that difficult question. I was actually very surprised when they asked me for a reason to leave the company. I mean, I was there to get a job and hoping to get regularized after 6 months ang hopefully grow old with the company. But then, I learned later on that there actually exist a number of people whom they called "the call center hoppers". They just attend trainings and then after a week or two in production they will leave. Some of them stay until they get paid for the 13th month pay before leaving. I wondered why, but when I started working there, I realized why. Being in this industry is not easy. You can read articles and post about how hard it is if you want to know. Or if you have friends and relatives who works in bpo, ask them.

I thought before, there should be no reason for me to leave, unless the company no longer needs me, I will stay. My family is my motivation so I will conquer whatever challenges I encounter at work. Believe me, I tried. But then after 2 years I left. Started fresh with another bpo company and now after 2 and a half years, I am again in a cross road.

Believe me, I really intended to stay, but having nightmares about work and hearing your partner say, "Leave your problems at work, do not bring them at home." and hearing the same exact words from my managers, "leave your problems at home, do not bring them at work." By the way, I work from home. Yeah. I literally just wanted to hang myself.

I had to choose what to end, my work, my relationship or my life? Both staying and ending hurts but I have to choose one. and I have decided to let go the only thing that I can let go, which is work. The other options are non-negotiable. I can always look for another job anytime. If I come to another cross road again, I will choose the same.

3
$ 1.27
$ 1.25 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @cinderella
Avatar for Prudence
1 year ago

Comments

How long have you stayed in a job? I am in my current job for 12 years. I think I will retire in this place.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow, how I wish I could find a place like that. I have worked for 6 different companies within ten years and the longest that I have stayed lasted for 3 years.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes, we have to settle we are not getting any younger. As the days passed, so does our age. I work in the government. I also used to jump from one company to another until I was appointed in 2010.

$ 0.00
1 year ago