Business in school, yay or nay?

4 35

Hello everyone, I'm Priscillia and below is a short story of my life journey.

When I told my mum that I would like to start a business in school, here's what she said.

"Rofiat, face your book and graduate with good grades first."

Unfortunately, I live in Nigeria.

More unfortunately, I happen to know people who graduated from University with very good results and are still jobless.

Some of them eventually went into buying and selling for survival.

And a few of them were lucky to have daddies that helped them lobby for a good job.

That opened my eyes to the truth.

That going to school isn't all about having a first-class or second-class upper.

It also entails developing yourself for the outer world.

Challenging yourself to evolve.

The public market isn't smiling, I tell you.

So, you need to stand out.

Most times, in a bid to have excellent results, we limit ourselves to our classroom.

We refuse to explore.

And end up clueless and confused after graduation.

Dear UG,

๐Ÿ“Live a life outside your classroom.

๐Ÿ“ Network within and outside the four walls of your school.

๐Ÿ“Learn a skill totally different from your field of study at school.

๐Ÿ“Volunteer with organizations and associations within or outside school.

๐Ÿ“ Don't limit your learning to school books only.

I'm not saying you shouldn't focus on school.

You should, because education is important.

But I am also reminding you that there's a bigger world to face out there.

A world that is less concerned about what grade you graduated with or which school you attended.

But more focused on what you can offer to the world as a person.

Okay, back to me..

I'm now a fashion designer in which my mum is so proud of .. I sow her different styles every time and she always love it.

She now says that she loves my spirit that she loves the fact that I'm a goal getter and also the fact that I'm doing great in my field.

Please I would advise you to not let anyone kill your dream, not even your parent, siblings, pastors, boyfriend/girlfriend, family members and so on.

I tell you that it will get to a point when they will be the one complimenting your effort.

They will want to support you with everything in them.

They will be so proud of you as long as you are doing so well in whatever you are doing.

You have lots of potential in you which you have to put to use.

A lot of people out there are awaiting your manifestation, show them that you can do it.

Start now, I mean start from your college or university time.

Don't wait till when you are already a graduate and the world is already expecting so much from you.

It is then that you will be feeling too big to get involved in some certain type of business because u are now a graduate.

Build that connection now in ur university, trust me this is the best time and I promise that you will be happy you did.

Remember this saying?

"Don't make the classroom your world, make the world your classroom."

Experiment. Fail. Grow. Evolve.

How did your own life journey go, if you are willing to share, kindly share with me below in the comment section ๐Ÿ‘‡.

I love you all, see you tomorrow ๐Ÿ˜

3
$ 0.10
$ 0.05 from @Unity
$ 0.05 from @Slimydee

Comments

Business must be taught to school students. Business principles have been introduced in the US and Canada's middle and high school curricula. I like your courage and enthusiasm to start your own.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you so much

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We shouldn't let our dreams to kill by everyone who surrounds us. Just continue and everyday is a chances to start. Don't wait the things you want to be done before you start.

We must start already and step by step. I know you will reach it. Nice meeting you my friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exactly.. nice meeting you too

$ 0.00
2 years ago