On gender-based stereotypes

0 27
Avatar for Priscybaby
2 years ago

In late 2021, I had an appointment with a prospective client. A client of mine had referred me to him.

When I got to the place and was ushered into his office, I could see the surprise on his face. Rather than speak to his surprised demeanour, I smiled. I already knew what he was thinking.

You see, one of the specialized services I provide is to rear chicken and goats and deliver them to my clients processed and packaged. Depending on the need of the client, the chicken and goats could be processed, packaged and delivered for home consumption or for outdoor events.

During my hearty discussions with the surprised client, I was able to clear his doubts and allay his fears. At the end, I got the contract!

That experience got me thinking about gender-based stereotypes. As a result, 2 notions struck me. Yes, they are not original thoughts but they became quite relevant. They are:

1. There are no gender-based professions anymore. Gone are the days when certain professions were ascribed to or reserved for a gender. For example, it was inconceivable for a male to be a nurse. Nurses were mandatorily females. For another instance, engineering classes in the university used to be 100% or predominantly male. A female engineering student was a rarity.

As children growing up, most of us were taught that certain professions belonged to a specific gender thereby putting a limit to our aspirations and dreams. Imagine what would have happened if we were spared of such stereotype!

But how did the stereotypes begin to lose their power? Well, thanks to civil rights movements, gender equality groups and globalization. As things stand today, anyone, irrespective of gender, can study and become anything they want to become.

Today we have male nurses and female engineers.

I am a female, and I'm a farmer

2. We have ascribed certain dressing to certain professions. For example, I went for that appointment in a trouser suit. I was taught to dress according to where you are going to. If I am going to the market, I dress appropriately.

I think my dressing threw him off a bit. It seemed to me my host was half-expecting to see me dressed in rags or dirty dresses. Naaaa!!! Far from it.

I dressed with purpose - to show confidence and class.

I provided the service he needed and I'm sure I surpassed his expectations because I got paid more than we bargained for.

He is currently one of my most loyal clients and encourages me to do great things.

My next target is to own my own farm!

I am observing; I am taking notes; I am learning. One day, e go happen and I will show you proof.

The major lesson for me is that no matter your gender, give your best in whatever you do. Don't let stereotypes limit you. Keep learning, keep improving.

So, when you see me among fowls and goats, do not cringe or fear for my safety or wonder if I know what I am doing. I know exactly what I'm doing and feel on top of the world.

What do u do? I will like to hear in the comment section below.

Let's connect together and make each other grow.

Sponsors of Priscybaby
empty
empty
empty

3
$ 0.16
$ 0.11 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Slimydee
Avatar for Priscybaby
2 years ago

Comments