There was a country...

4 27
Avatar for Prisca
Written by
2 years ago

Today I cried, the tears couldn't stop flowing, my hands were shaking so also my heart. Was I feeling any form of existence? All of a sudden I became weak, I couldn't comprehend anything. My vision became blur I could no longer see the pictures on the screens.

I remember I was always online in order not to miss out on what was happening because a minute away you miss out. But it was 7pm, yeah I began seeing different updates. I couldn't believe it, I was drowning in tears. The tears could no longer flow, my eyes were dried and I began hearing echoes and not human voices. I knew I was losing it, my mental height was being threatened.

I had no choice. I turned off my data and passed away.

How it all started...

This special anti-robbery squad has deviated from what they were employed to do. The corruption that was eating their bosses had begun eating them. They became demons in human form.

Guess what they don't have a uniform rather multi. They had been some complaints about this group. Instead of fighting internet fraudsters, they rather use it for their greedy purposes. They use to stay at the entrance of my school then in my university days. If they see you with a laptop, they apprehend you and accuse you of being an internet fraudster. They go as far as apprehending an innocent person and forcing you to give them money else you will be killed. One of my family friends had an encounter with them. As a normal student coming back to school, they rushed at him and forced him into their van. He kept telling them he isn't what they think he is. All these fell on deaf ears. Until he coughed out #5000, he wasn't released.

So many absurd stories about these squads. So many lives have been lost because of this inhumane attitude of these men. And then, the youth came together to air their views against this squad. Was that too much to ask? Just for the government to dissolve it.

So many youths bought the vision. From the Lekki toll gate, we had other clusters who were protesting against this squad. It was going to a week, our so-called sane government wasn't saying anything. They taught we would get tired until they saw our persistence. A balanced meal was given, so many companies permitted their workers to go for the protest, donations were made through flutter wave(crypto), companies donated their products.

All of a sudden, the government began talking about calling off the ASUU strike. They were eager to align with the ASUU chairman to make sure students who are protesting go back to school. NYSC began talking about mobilizing corp members. We don't know they had their hidden agenda.

At 7 pm today, they began shooting. They first remove the CCTV and the billboards that have lightning. They said they shot in the air but how come people died. They said once we lift the flag up during protest that no Nigerian army can shoot, but how come our flags were soaked with blood. Everyone ran but DJ switch was able to capture the moment. Thank God she was granted asylum by the Canadian government because she was hunted. AIT was shut down and was later given a fine to pay because it aired it. Other broadcast stations refused to air it out of fear.

And the book titled "There was a country' written by Chinua Achebe, has come to play.

There was a country when our leaders are there for our interest that is true democracy and not a dictatorship. What again is remained of a country that can't help its citizen, denying her of my right to speech.

This isn't DEMOCRACY...

This isn't NIGERIA...

There was actually a COUNTRYđŸ˜­.

4
$ 2.16
$ 2.08 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @HappyBoy
$ 0.03 from @Pearlkel
+ 1
Sponsors of Prisca
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Prisca
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

God knows I cried this morning when I saw video of protesters they were arresting today again They shot at them today again That’s very bad I hope Nigeria will be better again Rip to our fallen heroes

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We hope we hope, we keep hoping. When will this hope be realised?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Only God will save us in Nigeria cos our government no longer have the love of their citizens at heart again

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes. We are just living by God's mercy

$ 0.00
2 years ago