My Voyage Il...

6 25
Avatar for Prisca
Written by
2 years ago

I have been extremely busy and stressed out these days. The way I fall asleep easily like logwood is 🤧. Unlike my formal self, I would have to toss around before Mr. Sleep comes. But these days, I just have to lay my head on my pillow, and off I go.

Well, that aside...

In my last post, I talked about my experience traveling to my hometown. It was a bit scary for me but I found myself asking my mum if we would take the night bus coming back to Lagos. Lol...

Our experience at the village was a memorable one, though some unseen insects feasted on my fresh skin and I began seeing some burns on my skin😭.

I began scratching, it becomes bumps...

I told my mum we have to start coming back immediately. She had wanted to stay for some 4-5 days but I had to discourage her, coupled with the political unrest at the east.

And so we decided to come back Sunday since there was a sit at home on Monday.

Sunday morning we set out for our journey. We got to the central bus stop in my village and luckily we saw a bus to convey us. We bargained and paid for four seats. But it was remaining a passenger for the bus to get filled. We drove to the next bus stop which is thirty minutes drive to get passengers.

Trust Nigerian transporters, we spent an hour before we could leave that bus stop.

We got Ihiala Anambra and our car broke down. We all came down to a mechanic village to repair it. As we all came down, we heard some noise from the major road and a puff of smoke rose.

We all ran to the spot. Guess what we saw? The mob was burning a thief...

They were two that stole a motorcycle, the first died while he was burnt but the second had refused to die. We were told he was using charms. But how we saw him was a near-death state. His skin was peeled off revealing his flesh. At a thought I pitied him but I snapped out of it. I mean why the laziness to work, why the quick rich syndrome.

The truth is that there is no easy way to earn a living. Even the robbery they indulge in requires proper planning, else, their life is a big risk.

Even here on read. cash, you to do some mental job in other to earn.

Finally, the other criminal died and they threw his remains into the bush.

We continued our journey.

We were at Asaba and my younger sister who was going back to school from the village called to tell where she was currently. Immediately, our bus was flagged down by an army officer. As the driver was talking to him, he kept on looking at me and I was trying to get what my sister was saying.

Shockingly, the Army guy said he was going to shoot me that he kept on looking at me, and I kept on making calls. Everyone on the bus began begging him.

Pls what was my offence? I need to if it's an offence making calls whilst a soldier should be starting at me?

My dearies, in this part of the country where anything goes, I just quietly kept my phone but cursed this nation under my breath. Or was it when we passed one of these men and our driver refused to find him money for 'kola' and he nearly held us hostage.

The roadblocks caused some kind of traffic and we were scared of reaching Lagos at midnight because of insecurity. But we got home 9pm, and we thank God for a safe trip back home.

3
$ 2.33
$ 2.30 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @FarmGirl
Sponsors of Prisca
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Prisca
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

This issue if lynching is really going rampant and something has to be done before they start burning wrong people

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh gosh, that was scary. I mean you witnessed someone getting burned and then you were told to be shot because you were making calls? May the Lord have mercy...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The experience with the soldier scared my soul out of my mind. This is rampant in here...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That would scare me too. Take care, sis!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Shoot you for making calls, that's so funny. Corruption is our biggest problem in this country. #Endpolicebrutality.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes ooo. I was speechless. Everyone began begging him.

$ 0.00
2 years ago