My Voyage...

6 23
Avatar for Prisca
Written by
2 years ago

How do you traveling? Some persons write traveling as a hobby and I keep wondering if am from the same world as them. Talking about hobbies, I think sleep is my hobby 🤫 but sleeping in a vehicle in motion is quite not enjoyable.

I need to salute those who make traveling a hobby. Pls, how do you do it? All the traveling they talk about is just a few minutes or hours journey. Why do I say this, I can't imagine someone sitting for over six hours and calling that a hobby🤧. I'm from the eastern part of the country and going to my hometown will require you to sit for seven-eight hours that if there was no traffic. Then, if there was traffic, be ready to spend your night on the road.

The Niger bridge, sharing a boundary between the Deltans and Anambra is usually our fear to most users of the road. There's usually heavy traffic which will require hours before it clears. So what do we do? We have to leave Lagos on time to beat the traffic. But some of these road transport companies would want to act funny by leaving late, then you will just bear in mind that you may not get to your hometown that day.

What about those traveling from Lagos to the south-south. Those they use to sleep on the road most times. Meanwhile, I want to talk about my voyage to my village for my traditional engagement. Now, some persons do theirs in the town where they live but it depends. If you choose to do it in the city then maybe your families all live in cities and you don't have relatives that do not stay close to home, this also the vice-versa for those who do theirs in their hometown. The day was approaching, I knew I would be sitting in a bus for more than eight hours.

But something happened...

My traditional engagement was supposed to be slated for 16th October, but just some days to the event, we were called by our spiritual leaders that there is going to be a program on that day in the state, so it's either we take it backward that is 15th or shift it to the upper Saturday. Due to the chaos at the east, we needed to just leave it at that 15th so that everyone can also take a chill peel...Lol.

Ok, it was Sunday morning we got the news. Mumsy hasn't gone to market yet. Hubby came to the house to do some necessary rites which I will explain to us later. Mumsy said we would have to travel by night because there was no time. We had planned to travel Thursday morning, and start preparing the following day. But with the situation of things and my work which I had already taken two days off, we had to resolve traveling Wednesday night. At first, I objected. I told my mum they should go and I will join them Thursday night when I come. But I had a change of mind. People have been traveling by night and nothing has happened. And when we travel by night, we would get to our hometown the following morning. It's also less expensive.

It was the big Luxury bus. We moved at 7 pm and the bus was filled with people while some were hanging. We had a man who came to reveal to us the importance of crude oil and sold some on the bus. To my surprise, they were passengers waiting for night buses at Ijebu Ode and Ondo state.

Not long I fell asleep... Though I was waking up at some point in time to look into the dark.

We got to Onitsha at 4 am dropped some passengers and continued because its destination is Aba in Abia state. We got to Owerri at some minutes past 7 am.

We boarded a cab to our village due to the loads we were carrying. Before 8 am, we got home.

4
$ 0.93
$ 0.81 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.04 from @King_Gozie
$ 0.03 from @FarmGirl
+ 2
Sponsors of Prisca
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Prisca
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Some people consider it a hobby actually I do love it too. That moment us priceless to someone else.. glad you got to your destination safe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah...another man's meat is another man's poison.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sleeping is good but I don't do that when I travel to new places, lol!

I like to travel as long as I do it in my own time at my own pace :) Long journeys can be exhausting but depending on your company, it can be fun too :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I really like you jhare, nothing gives more joy than sleeping, I'm even sleep typing 😂😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I get your point but it’s fun at the same time. You know getting down at Ore to buy whatever you want to buy, seeing how Ogun,Ondo,Benin,Delta,Anambra e.t.c looks like and being proud to say that you’ve traveled a lot. Traveling is not my own hobby ooh but it’s fun and you know that too

$ 0.00
2 years ago