Why are you working hard?

19 45
Avatar for Princessbusayo
1 year ago

"Without hard work, nothing grows but weeds".

Gordon B. Hinckley

What if someone woke you up, and the first question is "Why are you working hard?" What will you say? Are you just working hard for nothing? Are you working hard to prepare the way for your children? Are you working hard so you won't have to work tomorrow? Are you working hard to spend lavishly on yourself? Are you working hard to achieve the goal of vacation to the best country?

For as long as the endless reasons may seem to be, everyone has different reasons. Some are working hard because of their dying mother/father/guardian. To some, they want to live a good life. While others want to spend lavishly and travel the whole country.

I watched a funny skit yesterday and a question was asked "What are your goals?" He said he wants to have money, more money that will keep wasting while he keeps spending. As funny as it may sound, such is a reason for someone. Someone saved a lot of money on the Kuda app for his younger brother so he can help him with his WAEC examination and Jamb so he won't have to start looking for money, but he was denied access to his account after he wanted to withdraw and pay for the fees. His own reason for working hard was to save and help his younger brother.


If you ask me why am I working hard? I have many reasons and I have written down goals that would require money to foot them. Without money, we can't do or achieve anything, even though there are many things money cannot buy. The truth is, you need money to make money and while you are working hard to make such money, remember you also need to consider putting God first and trusting in Him because without Him in the picture, you are working for nothing.

I am working hard for my future because I don't want to live a dependent life. I don't want to become a slave who would keep going errands because I have no choice. I want to define a good life through working hard and make sure I have something that will save me from becoming a beggar.

I am working hard to earn more so I can keep saving and investing. I said in my previous posts how great and life saving it is to save from what you earn. If I don't work (hard), how do I get money to save one tenth? How do I invest if I don't work? "No work, no pay". You can't expect to sit down and money should keep rushing down for you. There is no good luck anywhere except taking advantage of opportunities that come your way.

I am working hard for my children. No one wants to share their children with relatives to take care of them because of poverty. I know how I started my life and how it has been till now. I would say I am the only child that finished secondary school with my parents. Others were scattered with relatives because my parents couldn't afford sponsoring us. I don't want to live such a life as my parents, so I must work hard not to live such a life. I want to take care of my children, myself and my husband. I want to be the best mother to them. I want to give them the best life they deserve. I don't want them to be under anyone except under our roofs.

If I don't define my future now that I have the strength, opportunity and chance, it will be too late for me in the future where I won't be able to do anything at all. Even if I would enjoy the fruits of my labor, let me know I did well and left a big impact. My Dad does not have any property and even if he dies today, we would continue living our lives with what we have worked for.

Me, working hard every day, I know why I am doing so. I know if I don't take any action now, my strength would refuse me later and it would be too late to even turn back the hand of the clock. I don't want to regret later, this is why I am not giving up but working hard hoping things would fall in line for me.

I trust in God always for a better future with me looking at the mirror, smiling while looking back that "I took hold of the opportunity then". Of course, I would have to mentor my children not to waste time in their youthful age but to take advantage of every opportunity that comes around.

Thanks for reading

Image by Andrew on unsplash

[April 23, 2022] (No 113 article for the year)

18
$ 7.80
$ 7.30 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
+ 11
Sponsors of Princessbusayo
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Princessbusayo
1 year ago

Comments

Wow, indeed we all have different reasons why we are working hard, I am working hard so I won't rely on my friends or family before I can eat, I am working hard because I don't want to be a liability to my husband, I am working hard because I want to take care of my siblings and mom , I am working hard because I want to attain a position they haven't attained in my family, so help me God.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

May God bless us and make us achieve all we are working for. Amen πŸ™

$ 0.00
1 year ago

AmenπŸ™

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I fully agree with you Princess, people work hard for different reasons. Some to be financially stable, why some to work hard go enjoy their best life. As for me am working hard to be the best version of myself in every area of my life, so as to make my family live happily forever.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Yes, we are doing this because of our family and to live the best life. Thank you for contributing.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I work hard for my family and for my future. Working hard is truly not an easy task. Like sometimes I just want to breakdown. But this is the reality and with that I should embrace it.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

That is it. We should embrace the reality.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We work hard cause we have the obligations to our family and parents. We need to help them. We strive cause we need to uplift ourselves from poverty.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

working hard is a way to really live in accordance with God's will that we as humans must work hard to meet the needs of life but often interpret it as the best way for the future and that is also a rational thing.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I am working hard because the type of lifestyle I want to be living is expensive and doesn't come easily

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Hehehe! Everyone's aim including me.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I totally agree. Putting trust in God in everything we do is the major one. πŸ’—

$ 0.02
1 year ago

We are all working and earning to invest to have better life when we are unable to do anything related to physical work

$ 0.02
1 year ago

That is it. There will be time we won't be able to work again.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

My answer to the question of why I'm working hard will be that I want those around me to not lack anything

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Yes, we work so as to give what we have to others. Thank you.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

As long as it is tied to a reason then it's all set. I work hard to live my best life in the future

$ 0.02
1 year ago

There is nothing wrong with working hard. But take time for a break.. I guess @Happyboy's article is the best answer to this one πŸ˜…

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Yes, I went through the post yesterday and it's worth it too 😊😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago