Tithes and how it helped me

8 33
Avatar for Princessbusayo
2 years ago

Lead Image

@Olasquare comment on my previous post prompted me to write on this.

We all believe as Christians how tithes is very important to us. Tithes is the One-Tenth of our income and God has already promised to open the windows of heaven and pour out His blessings on those that pay their tithes. So many people's misconception about tithes is that Pastors use it for their wellbeing which I see it as not true. While growing up, I came to understand why paying of tithes is necessary in the household of God. Firstly, God has mandated us to give Him back 10% of what we earn; that is, if we are earning $100 per month, we are expected to pay $10 to God. Now, the question is "Does God make use of this money?" This was what I had in mind then until I realized that our tithes is being sent to the missionaries outside who have gone for evangelism in another city, state or a far distant and they need money for the work of God: These people need money to care for themselves and help the work of God going. And again, the tithes can be used to see the church through by providing everything needed in the Church to help the smooth running of it. The Pastors do not spend a penny from tithes but to make the work of God going and also to help make the missionaries survive on the field.

After being graduated from Secondary School and did my NCE (Nigerian Certificate in Education), I went for teaching Job and my first year was without paying my tithes. I was spending all my money per month and nothing to show for it until my elder Sister came to visit us. She left us to live with our grandma when she stopped sucking our mother's breast and since that day, my grandma has been taking care of her through her education. After finishing from the University of Benin, she came to visit us and I was so happy to meet my elder sister for a long time. When she arrived, I saw her with two phones and a laptop which got me surprised and I asked her where she got everything from? Then she asked me a question: "Do you pay tithes?"

How has my question related to paying of tithes? I answered and said No. Then she started by telling me how important tithes was and how God has blessed her through paying of tithes. She said everything God blessed her with includes the phones and laptop she got and ever since then, she has been faithful. That really inspired me and from that day onward, I started paying my tithes. I noticed ever since I started seperating my tithes from my salary, God has never stopped blessing me.

I TOLD MY FRIEND ABOUT IT

I have a friend, also a colleague where I teach. Her money would have finished with budget even before collecting her salary and once she collects her salary, it's gone that day because she would have paid her debts and solved all her problems and the next week, she would borrow some money from me: She is collecting higher than me though. Then one-day, she explained what she uses the salary to do and how she would end up not having anything and with her explanation, she didn't talk about tithes. I then asked her why she doesn't pay tithes, she replied and said "Money isn't always enough and you are talking about tithes". I smiled and told her my own experience and how God has been blessing me. I told her she should try it someday by removing her tithes immediately she collects her salary but she wasn't ready to answer me. I told her this is one reason you end up going from one debt to another because it's like you are robbing God.

The truth is if we do not pay our tithes, we are robbing God and blocking our ways of blessing. God has provided a job for you and He is just asking for 10% from you, so He can keep blessing you more but because you feel the money is small, you can't remove any. Then watch when He will take the Job back from you. God has told us to pay our tithes and prove Him if He would not open the gate of heaven and bless us. The truth is that, we will receive more from God when we obey Him with our tithes. He is going to multiply the 10% in multiple folds if you can try Him by paying your tithes. The only way you can do this is to keep in mind that you are removing the percent from your salary and once it reaches your hand, quickly seperate the tithes and watch God perform His blessing in your life.

I have never lacked ever since I started paying my tithes and it has always been a wonderful experience for me and thanks to my Sister who brought the knowledge to me when I knew nothing about paying of tithes. You can also be faithful to pay your tithes and stop robbing God of His own right.

10
$ 10.14
$ 10.03 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @George_Dee
$ 0.03 from @zolabundance2
+ 3
Sponsors of Princessbusayo
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Princessbusayo
2 years ago

Comments

Let me deviate a little bit. Most Pastors don't use the money for personal gains as you have said because I can personally say I know some who use it only for the things of the ministry and on the other hand, we have those who turn it to their own. Those who see ministry as an escape from poverty and these are the ones that most people see that makes them assume everyone does it. Giving to God is always profitable when we do it with the right heart. God searches all hearts and He knows the thoughts of every man. We were told never to give grudgingly. Most people do and still when they give they don't see results, so they feel it doesn't work.

As I would always tell people, your relationship with God matters and do as God dropped in your heart. Don't feel compelled. Don't give because I told you but do it because you are convinced and that's why I love how your sister didn't force it and how you didn't force it with your friend too.

Personal conviction is important.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh yes... we should give with a free heart and not forcefully.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Absolutely.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you. There's blessings in paying tithe. Thanks for clarification. We rob God if we do not pay.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for this reminder. I just have to find a way how to give the tithes to the church. Be more blessed!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

In each religion there are ways through which God blessed the needy one through human Source.In Islam we have Zakat system and you have tithes.Both have same purpose to get the will of Allah by helping others.When we spend more in the way of Allah we get more.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow. Kinda amazing. I am also working on writing about tithing, too. 😮 This is true. We will never lack if we give what is for God.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Goodmorning and happy Sunday @Princessbusayo thanks for the message. I must give my tithe today

$ 0.00
2 years ago