The mistake I made

23 54
Avatar for Princessbusayo
2 years ago

Lead Image

I couldn't stop laughing when I stumbled on an article made by @zellypearl You can go through it if you haven't for the sake of understanding her message here

Then I got to a part that read thus;

"So I was cleaning my room this morning and I stumbled on my chemistry note. I am just laughing because heaven knows I don't understand this thing that I just scored all. What took me to science class please?"

This was a short post but very meaningful to me because I remembered a mistake I ever committed then but all I just did was to laugh at myself and foolishness. I promised her to make my own post even when I was commenting on her article and I didn't want to let out the cat from the bag but to let others laugh at my worst step. Lol

But before then, I would like to say something about the above write-up. This is a problem with most young girls and even adult now. They want to follow their friends and do what they do, all in the name of not leaving each other forgetting that they need to work on what they have interest and passion for and not someone's else niche. I have written about this in my post about finding your niche when it comes to becoming a good writer on any platform like this.

When I was in Secondary School (J.S.S 3), I have these friends who we walk together and we went to same school till we graduated. When it was time to enter SS3 (Senior School), we were given the opportunity to choose the class we want and what our interest is, either to be in a commercial, art or science class. My friends went to commercial class and funny me, I also followed them because I don't want to seperate from them. We never understood what niche was then and all we want is to just be in the same class with our friends. Perhaps I can say it's a coincidence to say and follow them because I ended up being in a class that has my interest in. But my own belief was to go with my friends.


And I did this same mistake while in the University but this time around, it didn't favor me. This is the aspect I want you guys to laugh at me....I am giving you that permission πŸ˜€πŸ˜€

Photo from Gettyimages.com

It was the second semester in 200 level and a course was introduced to us which was mandatory we do. It's called EVD (Enterpreneurship Vocational Development). This course is to train us in a skill to have after graduating and we were told we would be given a certificate of completion. Right from time, I am not that interested in having an offline skill but to be knowledgeable in online skills that deals with technology. So, we were given a form to fill in our details and choose the skill we are interested to go for and we must focus on it. It's a course on it own and one must pass it to graduate.

I was at home then as it was during holiday and my friends do not have any phone to do theirs, they had to call me to help fill their details as they sent every information including the skill they are going for. It happened that both my friends went for the same skill and after helping them, I just went for the same skill called "Hat Decoration and Fascinator". Funny me, I don't know how to knead or even hold a machine, where do I start from? how do I go about it? I don't want to be alone going for the class for another skill, it will look so boring to me, I want I and my friends to always walk together but I didn't know I was deceiving myself. Afterall, I wasn't interested in their so called skill and I went with that mindset and we all waited to resume back to school so we can start the training.

"Busayo, you are doing yourself" I said to myself when we resumed and the training was scheduled for every Thursday 4pm (Something I am not even interested in sef, and you went to decide on that time) That makes my mindset drifted from it because our normal lectures starts from 8-12am and I would have to go home and come back after 4pm. This is what I don't like. I want to do all I needed to do at the same time so I can have enough time to rest.

I was so ashamed of myself (Gettyimages.com)

The training started with the woman introducing herself and asked how many of us has sewing machine and can handle it, everybody raised their hands but the only person not raising her hand is this follow follow girl (me)😝 I was ashamed of myself and my friend was like "You are in trouble". I just looked at her and said "thank God you are a tailor, you will be helping me when there is an assignment and I will pay you" She laughed and the practical began. Every material they were calling for us to buy were new to me but I pretended I was writing them down. After the end of the first practical of a rose, we were given an assignment to do roses and bring to the next class.

This was how the problem started. Someone who wasn't concentrating in the class but was with my phone commenting on posts from Uptrennd (an earning platform but closed now)

Okay, now I know I have done the mistake of following you guys. You will help me oo, I don't have interest in these things oo, what is my business with EVD? Let me just do my course and graduate. I am not doing any skill.

Thanks to my friends who helped me with all assignments and it's time for the last practical to use in grading our scores and we are done with Hats and Fascinator. We were grouped into different groups and unfortunately, I was thrown into a different group apart from my friends. One thing about me is that I don't talk to everyone except my friends. These faces in my group are new and I don't know how to escape this group work. A group leader was chosen and according to her, the work will be splitted among ourselves. When it got to my turn, I had to use the excuse that "I need to travel home to do an urgent work" but I gave them money for what they needed. This was how the poor girl was able to escape ooπŸ˜€πŸ˜€

Seriously, it wasn't funny to me because I know I fucked up by following my friends instead of going for an alternative where I can still manage since I have no interest in the skill.

I don't want to dwell much and start preaching again since I have written this before and my good friend @zellypearl has done justice to it. I believe with this my story, you can understand and pick a lesson or two from it.

Thanks for reading

|June 21, 2021|

12
$ 19.31
$ 19.18 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @George_Dee
$ 0.05 from @AimHarryianne
+ 2
Sponsors of Princessbusayo
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Princessbusayo
2 years ago

Comments

Lol, starting Monday with such a funny is great... Your story reminded me of precious and wunmi, they both followed each other until one failed in ss3 and had to repeat waec several times while the other almost graduated and the annoying thing is that, the one in university decided to move on without Wunmi.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Can you see life. This is what we don't know. When we follow friends, the person you are following may not know and he or she will move on while the person following will still be struggling to make it in a career that isn't for him or her. I wish she could just realize it was because she didn't go for what was her interest.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Much of my friends do such mistakes when going to college thank God I follow what I love than friends..

Anyways thanks for visiting my article πŸ₯° much appreciated it.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yea, many times we tend to do what our friends do but we must learn to discover what we are good at so it can be easy for us while doing them. You are welcome

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I made a lot of mistakes too, but I learn to make it right little by little, as much as possible. I also make it as a lesson to think before doing something which may be lead to another mistake..

Thanks for sharing this my friend, and for supporting my articles.☺️❀️

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you also for coming by on my post. We should make sure we learn from our mistakes in the past. We might not know then but when we later realize and make use of the lesson in it, it makes us great.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Surely it is my friend..❀️😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Girl, you are funny o. So common rose? As simple as A, B, C you couldn't make? Hahaha. Wetin carry you go Hat and Fascinator decorations abeg, and I am sure you don't even know how to use the needle lol. Well, thank your stars that you found an escapes route lol

$ 0.02
2 years ago

😏😏 Don't mind me oo. I never had an inch interest in it because the course was introduced two weeks to our exam and I was like "Which kind school be this now?" πŸ˜€πŸ˜€ But thank God everything is now history. Lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚what can follow follow follow not do. Thank God it wasn't a core course

$ 0.02
2 years ago

If it had been a core course,I would have forced myself. Then, I would know how to sit tight for it🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

πŸ˜…that's true

$ 0.00
2 years ago

these things is common for girls but boys too are not excluded, i could remember my secondary school days one of our friend do follow everything we did then in junior class, after we promoted to senior class only two among us choose to be in science class, there is this guy among us that has interest in science but choose to join majority, in a nut shell, when couldnt promoted to ss2 thats when he realise that he is doing himself. Seriously, in life we do make alot of mistakes but those we made intentionally are worst we make sometime.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I love the last statement. This means most times, we tend to make intentional mistakes and we are so blind to understand the truth then and it is always a painful moment then when we realize our mistake.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

exactly! but if you are able to find your way through, it will become a thing of laughter.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Everyone do mistakes and they learned something from it so try to get benefits from mistakes

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you for your response. There is benefits when we realize our mistakes and learn from them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is funny🀣thank god you escaped unscathed. I can't say I've been influenced to do something (academics related) because my friends are, but a friend once told me she took the decision to go to science department because of me. I felt bad , but thankfully, she changed at sss2

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank God she quickly noticed and diverted to something of her interest. We should learn from mistakes and not try to repeat such.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happy boy o. You and this your influence lol, I am glad the young girl finally found her niche o

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Maybe it's because I talk alot 🀣🀣🀣 when I'm excited about a project or something. I tend to pass the excitement on to others. Though sometimes the end result isn't good. Most times it is.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

-Hehehe sometimes it happens we do some funny mistake that if we remember all we can do is to laugh at ourselves and reminiscing how this mistake makes us a better person and make us improve..by making it all right..if we always find our mistake a lesson in a positive way everything becomes more easy for us..Blessed Evening!❀🌷

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank God for you been able to retrace your steps

$ 0.00
2 years ago