Torn Between Being an Engr. or Working in a BPO

12 42
Avatar for PrettyDiane
2 years ago

I spent most of my nights thinking about what to do first. I don't know which path I should go since I am torn between fulfilling my career as an Engineer or working in a BPO company.

I had this crisis lately in my life. I want to experience working as a Field Engineer while at the same time I also want to provide for my family, and the solution to that would be working in the call center since it has a higher salary.

To those who don't know, the starting salary of an engineer is around 12k-15k only. Lesser compared to working in a BPO industry. The urge to work in a call center is because I want to help my parents renovate our house soon as possible.

Sponsors of PrettyDiane
empty
empty
empty

I had a hard time deciding which path to choose. When you are adulting, you will experience a life crisis, and that is where my life is now.

My parents on the other hand want me to take the board exam first, but as their child, I want to set aside it for the meantime and apply for a call center job to start the renovation of the house. The reason why I want to start it asap is that during the rainy season, water easily enters our house due to holes in our roof. We recycled everything since there is no budget yet. The loan we applied for hasn't been approved.

That is why I am saving all my BCHs for the renovation. This little amount of money will soon be given to my parents once the loan has arrived.

This is just a little amount of money but who knows, a miracle happens every day and I would be able to save more BCH for our house.

This is also why last night, I tried applying for jobs that have a good salary. Being a field engineer, I know it can't help me financially unless I have already lots of experienced and have licensed already. I hope you guys can help me with which path should I take first. Huhu.

This is just a short article. Somebody help me.

2
$ 0.78
$ 0.65 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @LucyStephanie
$ 0.05 from @fantagira
+ 1
Sponsors of PrettyDiane
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for PrettyDiane
2 years ago

Comments

Better be an engineer first and get experience. The call center industry will always be there anytime, perhaps even until we are senior citizens. You don't need to get into it yet. I would suggest to take the board exam and be an engineer first before going into the BPO industry.

That's what I did. I was happy enough to have left the first career I graduated from because I was able to work and use what I learned in college before becoming a call center agent. And then I left that for another career too. Lol.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for this @LucyStephanie. This is very helpful. I will start my review soon.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice. πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ‘

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I often spend a long time being indecisive about things in life. Until I remind myself that there is no wright or wrong decisions. The one which we pick will always be the right one for the lessons we have to learn πŸ’™

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for thisss @fantagira. I really appreciate this. This is very helpful.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You’re welcome sis πŸ’™

$ 0.00
2 years ago

From a former call center agent, if wala ka pang exp, nasa 13k to 15k dn usually ang sahod depende pa sa account na iaassign sayo pwedeng mas mataas pa, plus allowances, incentives, night differential pa. May anually raise ka dn either yearly, quarterly or bi-anually pero lahat yun depende sa performance mo or offer ng company. May mga company na maganda naman ang bigayan, pero mahirap ang growth sa bpo kung gusto mo lumaki ang sahod mo. Tska kahit regular employee ka na di mo alam kung kelan ka matatanggal kapag agent position ka kasi you have a scorecard to maintain. Kapag regular emp ka na but you fail to meet the scorecard bibigyan ka pa dn ng chance depende management ng account nyo or ililipat ka ng ibang account. Kung kaya mong imaintain ang scorecard mo ng matagal or magapply ka ng mga for promotion na position para secured ka sa bpo.

If gusto mo talaga ipractice ang pagiging engr magstart ka talaga sa mababa pero mas maraming opportunities na engr position sa ibang bansa or govt na pwedeng mas maging stable job and mas maganda offer.

Depende na lang stability ng job na gusto mo siguro.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you for this sis. I had already an experienced in BPO industry. Parang, gustong gusto ko muna sa BPo kase nga para makatulong agad sa bahay. Pero this year rin plano ko mag build na sa career ko as an Engr. Yan talaga life crisis ko now. Hays.

Parang pera muna uunahin ko, then after na sa bahay jan na ako magpupush sa career ko talaga as an engr.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ok yan sis take advantage mo yung nakakawork ka habang nasa bahay para makaipon.

Ako kasi di ko na alam kung anong career tatahakin ko kasi 30 nako tska konti lang experience ko sa course na tinake ko kaya feeling ko sa bpo na talaga ako babagsak pag nagwork ako ulit. Yun na lang alam kong gawin eh huhu

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ano course mo sis? Hirap noh? Parang yung field mo di mo tuloy kase aminin natin mas madali pera sa BPO at sobrang maganda talaga mga offers unlike sa ibang klase na work.

26 na rin ako at wala pa akong nararating. Hays

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Secretarial course ko pero di talaga yun yung gusto ko hahaha yun lang availa le na feeling ko kaya ng isip ko hahaha. Pero one time tinanong ako ng bago kong kawork, kung nagtake nako ng civil service exam at bakit di daw ako nagwork sa govt.

Wag mo isipin na wala ka pang naratating, naglalakbay ka pa lang papunta sa tatahakin mo. Mas madali bigayan pero nasacrifice ko mental health ko sa bpo. Ngayon baka di na ko makahanap ng work sa govt kasi wala pa dn ako civil service exam, mas ganda kasi benefits sa govt lalo na kapag nagkaedad ka na.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sige lang, sooner or later di natin alam yung takbo nang panahon. Baka meron talaga nakalaan para sa iyo.

True iyan.. yan yung goal ko pag nagka lisensya na ako, magtatrabaho tlaga ako sa govt. Malaki din talaga sahod pag sa govt at yung mga benefits maganda.

$ 0.00
2 years ago