How did I survived Engineering? And what are the things that motivates me.

26 48
Avatar for PrettyDiane
2 years ago
Topics: Education

..for some, it was easy, for me it wasn't..

I finished Bachelor of Science in Civil Engineering for 7 long years. Yeah, you read it right, it was a 5 year course but I extended 2 years in college because of financial problem.

For some, their college was easy, they have a rich family to sustain all their needs and could pay the tuition whenever it is needed. For me, I had to write multiple promisory notes in order for me to take the examination, and it was the hardest thing a student would feel.

I was not born with a golden spoon in my mouth, my parents are both poor but it didn't stop me to pursue Engineering. My 1st to 2nd year in college were full of anxieties and silent cries because I don't have allowances and the school's canteen foods are pricey. I had to survive a day with a growling stomach the whole day. At the age of 18, I had to work to sustain my studies. I applied as a callcenter agent and luckily, I passed. I support all my needs, and I pay all the tuition fee. I also got to help my family at home and it was the best thing ever.

It was all good until I was diagnosed having Vertigo. I was forced to stop schooling and it was one of the worst day of my life. The reason was over fatigue, no proper sleep. I was studying in the morning and working in the evening. Even if I was not okay, I forced to be okay because the bills in the hospital is what I was thinking.

I didn't blame my parents for all of this because they are the best parents in the world.

After that, I continued my studies and chose to resign in call center. In order to sustain my studies, I applied as a working student in our university. It really help me survive in college, thanks to our university, Cebu Institute of Technology - University.

It was not easy to be a working student. You have to accumulate 24 hours duty a week, so time management is very important. I always go to school early and go home late. That was my everyday routine for almost 3 years until I graduated in college.

I always find myself napping every vacant hours, because that's the only time I could rest. It was a good journey tho, I didn't regret doing those things to help my family financially and help me graduate in college. It help me mature in life, and help me being grateful to the smallest things I have.

Coffee helps me a lot especially during my major exams! β˜•

Yes! Coffee plays a big role in my college. I have to do a lot of reviews and coffee is there, always, for me. I think, I already drink all types of coffee. Major examinations were my hatest times because I only slept 1-2 hours before exam. I have to do all types of cramming to learn the concept and memorize all the formulas. I had to overdose myself with caffeine in order for me not to sleep during exams and luckily, I graduated.

You should be thankful if you have all the resources you have right now. You have a good phone, internet, laptop, be thankful, during my time, I only had my old phone with me, with no data. I had to go to the library to research my assignments, but still, I am very thankful for my old phone. I won't survived without it. My family is poor, but it didn't became a hindrance for me to reach my goals in life.

  • You always have to trust your ability in order to succeed.

  • You find your motivation in your studies, mine, my family and my goals in life.

  • Always choose to fight even if you failed a million times.

  • If you feel tired, pray to Almighty God. I usually go to The Feast whenever I failed my examination.

To all the students reading this, I survived 7 years in college because I believe in myself. You should, also.

I am literally crying while typing this. Got very emotional. I feel very proud of myself, tbh.

If I can, you can!

Thanks for reading my article!

7
$ 1.40
$ 1.00 from @ewyr
$ 0.10 from @JLoberiza
$ 0.10 from @Pichi28
+ 3
Sponsors of PrettyDiane
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for PrettyDiane
2 years ago
Topics: Education

Comments

This is very inspiring! You did great on this. God bless you always.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank youuu! It's my pleasure to inspire other people.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well done missy civil engineering is a tough course like you i graduated with so much trials in my studies but i have finished it 5 years and i am a license working mom and as of now i finished also my 2nd course.. so if you really work hard you can really achieved your goals in life. Cheers to your graduationπŸ₯‚πŸ₯‚πŸ₯‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So you're also a Civil engineer! Wow! Thanks a lot @IamAshrone. I will keep moving forward.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes i am and i am also a teacher. Welcome dear and keep forward.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Salute to you! Are you teaching Engineering subjects?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Maybe but i prefer teaching on senior high teaching mathematics.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow! I salute all Mathematics instructors. It is actually a tough job to do. ❣️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Waah! Salute to you dear! You did finish well! And no no time is wasted there.. that was all heart.. ! That was admirable

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you so much Pichi! I believe if we do it with all our heart, it will be paid off later on.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Grabe pala po yung naranasan mo! Finally after seven years, hinog na ang prutas!. I am so happy po na you will be engineer na. You inspire me a lot po and tama ka po na always pray po talaga tay kay Lord. Ako po kasi minsan napapanghinaan pero I keep on moving kasi pangarap ko po hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True! And I believe you will become a good doctor someday. Life is tough but our faith in God and in ourselves should be tougher!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Waaah! Hello, Engineer! You made it, Ate! I'm so proud of you! This is so inspiring! Ang galing mo pooo, your hard work paid off. ❣ I believe in myself too!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you dziefem! ❀️ Lahat talaga nag papaid once you start believing in yourself. Nag school ka pa?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're welcome po! Yes, Ate. 4th year.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ok ra na ang 7 year sa Engineering oi. Naa koy kaila EE. Nigraduate ug Suma..

Sumasampong taon sa Engineering .πŸ€£πŸ˜‚πŸ€£πŸ˜‚

Unsaon man... Every year, muenroll ug 12 units billiard ug 9 units mahjong. πŸ˜…πŸ€£πŸ˜†πŸ€£πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hala grabeha pud ana oy. Naa jd btaw daghan mga studyante labi na adunahan sila di na maseryoso sa ilang pag eskwela.

Daghan jd na kanang billiard or mahjongan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe. Mao man iyahang favorite subjects . hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I remembered my college days that next to our classroom of the Info Tech building were the Engeneering students. When we have an examination there I ask them to help, so I will give them snacks for the fee after they answer my exam. Mabuhay mga Engineers! :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Really? Such cuties naman. Engineering students talaga sobrang matulungin din. Buti naman ang natulungan ka. Thanks ❀️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yes, they helped me because there is a fee hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

First of all, congratulations Engineering of any kind is not easy. So well done Diane, you are awesome, and give yourself a pat on your back. I am a Chemical Engineer so I know how hard it is, studying and also making money to live and pay your tuition etc.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So, you are a Chemical Engineer in this life. I bet you are an alchemist in another.😁😁😁😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Glad I experienced those things. I am wiser now. Thanks by the way! I think yours is much more complicated. I can't imagine myself balancing equations.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Walay sapayan. Well, I do Project Management so don't really do the Chemical Engineering, I just manage their work hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Are you bisaya? I thought you're actually from another country! πŸ₯²

$ 0.00
2 years ago