Teach the little child with your example.

0 17
Avatar for Preacherman
3 years ago
Topics: Life

The father of my little friend who calls me Uncle Ice Cream invited me for lunch today.

I knew it was the usual Sunday rich people's set up, so I decided to eat very well at home before leaving.

I brought out my orgasmic egusi soup from the freezer and made semo. After turning the semo, I brought down the pot of semo and plate of egusi to the floor.

I balanced well on the floor; removed my singlet, removed my short and having positioned myself in my boxer, I devoured this delicacy for 30 minutes. The sweat was excessive but the feeling was beyond this world.

I washed the dishes, took my bath and relaxed small under the AC before leaving the house.

When I arrived their house at Ikeja GRA, their gateman with his shinny brown teeth asked what I brought for him. Luckily, the tricycle who dropped me gave me ₦100 change in 5 ₦20 Naira notes. I handed them over to him.

"Uncle ice creammmmmmmmm...hawayu? I have found a female friend for you. Come and see her."

Climbing on my back, he pointed towards his elder sister's room and I laughed real hard. Did I tell you his elder sister is just 4 years old?

I fell on the sofa and told him I wanted to rest. He went and brought out his assignment book. "Uncle Ice cream, see the Christmas assignment I was given. Help me."

Just when I was about to disgrace myself, God of the eleventh hour showed up in the form of his father and he left me alone.

"Preacherman, good afternoon. How are you doing?"

"Good afternoon Sir. I'm very well Sir."

I shook his hand firmly and we sat down to a brief discussion on the new method of digital advertising idea I wanted to share with him.

His wife took my friend to the dinning to eat.

After a while, she started complaining. "Eat with your fork and knife or you won't eat this ice cream uncle preacher bought for you. Oya."

It seemed she was having a running battle with my little friend on using his cuttlery.

When we finished our discussion, we went over to the dinning to have lunch. His wife was almost done eating and we noticed she ate with only spoon.

My little friend was still struggling to finish his food when we (His father and I) joined him.

His father whispered to me to use my fork and knife. He held up his own and started to use same.

When the little boy saw us eating and smiling at him, he dropped his spoon and picked up his own fork and knife.

It was a running battle for him but he tried so hard to use it. And while we continued to use ours, he never dropped his own.

Noticing his challenge, his father dropped his own and returned to just using spoon. I did same. And funny enough, my little friend picked up his own spoon too.

In all of these, his father never said a word to him or shouted at him like his mother did. Clearly, he followed his father's example as much as he followed his mother's own.

A great lesson.

When I was about to leave, his father told me the idea I had for a new media and digital adverts was creatively ingenious. But I don't have to wait any longer.

"Preacherman, start with what you have and do what you can at the moment. When you begin to pull traction, more doors will open."

I nodded.

I believed him.

For in doing, we become better.

2
$ 0.00
Avatar for Preacherman
3 years ago
Topics: Life

Comments