More than money

0 21
Avatar for Preacherman
3 years ago

This morning around 6:00am, I was at Murtala Muhammad International Airport to see off a relative and handover stuff he would deliver to my siblings in the US. While offloading the bags, a man came to assist and I generously accepted.

When we pushed the bags to the particular entrance gate, I thanked him and offered him a tip as a show of gratitude. Well, not actually gratitude. I knew why he helped me was because he was expecting something monetary in return and although I was under no obligation to give, I felt it was the right thing.

But the man pushed back the Naira note to me and told me his name. I didn't understand what was going on so I asked why he was telling me his name since I never really cared to know. He told me why.

"People just see me hustling here and they feel it's just the money. No be the entire truth shaa. I dey hope to find favour here some day. So more than money, I need you to know my name or mark my face in case when next you come to the airport."

After he said this, it just seemed like a force came over me and I paid more attention to his face. I smiled and told him that was a powerful short sentence he made. I was thrilled.

I fist bumped him and was about walking out when he called me back and requested for the money I gave him earlier.

"Bros abeg, it's not like I don't want the money ooo, please give it to me, at least let me see something to buy onions and tomatoes for my family this weekend."

I handed the tip back to him and left.

On my way home, I kept thinking about his words. In truth, I didn't think of him beyond the money he would've gotten from helping me. I saw him as someone pestering people there just to get money from them.

But his words changed my thought in a split second. I now saw a human being like me, just doing the best he can to make a living for himself and provide for his family.

So here's a lesson worth sharing with your friends from Preacherman to you; let us take pride and honour in doing good and honest work. Because in genuine and honest labour, there is dignity.

If you're getting the job done, they should know you're the one doing it. They should know your name because it is your name that climbs the ladder even in your absence.

Daniel(that's his name) made me think about something today and I'm sharing with you, so you can think about it too and if it's worth it, you can share with your friends.

Have a splendid week ahead!

1
$ 0.00
Avatar for Preacherman
3 years ago

Comments