Granny left - memories stayed forever

5 21
Avatar for Pouki
Written by
2 years ago

I woke up this morning, feeling a little melancholy. Didn’t know the reason, nothing bad or sad happened last night, nor this morning, so I thought I had a bad dream I didn’t remember. About an hour ago, a memory came to my mind and realize the reason: before 19 years this day, my granny died. Suddenly, all the memories from the moment I heard the bad news filled me and I realized that my mind knew and that was the reason for my mood.

The only certain thing when we are coming to this world, is that one day all of us will die. When it comes to lose one of your loving persons though, you understand how much it hurts, you feel the loss from your everyday life and can comprehend oldest people who afraid to die and/or have lost their other half.

Grandparents are a second version of our parents – better or worse, it depends on the person, the point is that they exist in our lives as people who have almost the same love with our parents from us, and sometimes more because “no” is almost never an answer to us from their mouths, especially when we are very young. Grandparents are there to fight for us or to defend us from our parents when we’ve done something wrong, they are there to play with us, to read us books, to cook with them, to walk with them, go to the park with them and so many other things. Grandmother’s food is of course the best from the whole universe and only if she’s not around, mom’s is the best one!

When we grow up and remember all the times we spent with them, when we realize how much they’ve done for us, especially when they’re not around to say a “thank you”, even without words, then we understand the beauty of their souls, their wants that they buried when we were around them, from what are we going to eat, till “we won’t sleep at noon, you can play loud” or “although I can’t walk because my back/leg/both hurt, I’ll take my grandchild for a walk in the park” and so many other examples.

The stories we heard from them about our parents, is something unique! We tend to think my parents only as grownups, we can’t understand and realize that they used to be babies, children, teenagers and then older! We laugh at them in the stories we listen to, we see their pictures as younger and our grandparents’ pictures as in the age of our parents and we laugh again, because we find it amusing! These moments a better bond starts between us, they tend to feel younger, and we tend to see them differently from the old figures we know…

One of the things I miss most ever since I grew up, is having my parents that young again and my grandparents around. My parents because of their ability to do many things, to see them again as my “superheroes” and my grandparents for the sweetness in my heart they always managed to fill when I was with them. Now I see my parents in grandparents age, their position is different because I now am the “biggest”, the “strongest”, their “superhero”, my heart melts when they cannot do many things as they used and I “must” treat them like babies or small children, and I feel sorry for them for not having their parents around.

That’s life of course, thankfully I was always treated with love and I have good memories from them. People who never knew grandparents, cannot understand the feeling. People who had grandparents, but they weren’t there for them, probably won’t feel the same as I do. Either way, people when they lose their loving ones, no matter what their relationship with is, always remember them with love and only good memories come around.

Let’s pray for our loving ones who don’t live here anymore, let’s find some time to honor them and wish one day when we won’t be around, someone behind think like that for us…

Pictures from:

http://soulletters.org/a-grandparents-love-is-special/

https://tashalou81.files.wordpress.com/2014/09/image5.jpg

https://pixabay.com/el/vectors/%ce%b7%ce%bb%ce%b9%ce%ba%ce%b9%cf%89%ce%bc%ce%ad%ce%bd%ce%bf%cf%82-%ce%b6%ce%b5%cf%85%ce%b3%ce%ac%cf%81%ce%b9-5518002/

https://www.flickr.com/photos/53370644@N06/4975950637

https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.0/

3
$ 1.38
$ 1.18 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @ARTicLEE
$ 0.05 from @Bloghound
+ 1
Avatar for Pouki
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

I also grew up with her, we were living in the same house with my parents. I know the feeling, still that's life... On the other hand, when we remember our loving ones, they never really "die" in our hearts <3. Thank you for your sharing comment! Have a great and smily day!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I lost my maternal grandma from respiratory complications. She is my favorite for I grew up with them. They live in the neighboring town so we can always go there whenever we wanted. I always remember her silence and smile and laugh and kindness. Also, she would weave blankets for us and I love watching her doing that, fascinated by the skillful hands, mesmerized by the process of it all. If only I should have learned how to do that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hey there, Pouki!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thks for coming by <3

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hello Bloghound :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago