The Saga Continues And Decisions Still Must Be Made

9 60
Avatar for Porwest
2 years ago
Topics: Work, Jobs, Strategy, True Story, Reality, ...

I have been going on and on about A Major Decision in the Next Couple of Weeks (read.cash), and have followed up on new developments along the way in other posts. Unfortunately the decision has not yet been made. So, the saga continues.

Our warehouse worker will have his last day on the 15th of October as it stands right now as he is leaving for a better job. No complaints there. Everyone has to look out for their best interests in this life.

Sponsors of Porwest
empty
empty
empty

We did have a kid come in last week for an interview, and it seemed when he walked out he was going to take the job.

Problem solved. Or is it? I thought maybe this was my answer to the question I had posed, Is This The Start of Semi-Retirement? (read.cash)

The thing is, and I have mentioned this in previous posts on the matter, I do make good money. Very good money. And for the most part I do like my job. I mean, retirement would always be better. But I don't mind what I do, honestly. And it is difficult to walk away from the money I make.

In a past life I probably would not have worried about whether or not we had a warehouse guy. I was always a guy willing to do whatever is necessary and take one for the team. If I have to cart my butt out there and pack boxes, so be it.

Image courtesy of Pixabay, user PaliGraficas. Boxes Packaging Paperboard Cash - Free vector graphic on Pixabay

But, that was a past life. A life when two things were different about me. One, I was a younger guy and more able, and did not have certain back issues that plague me now that working in the warehouse would only aggravate. And two, I have money. I don't have to work like I used to, and I have more choice in what I do and how I make my money—and incidentally, I don't need as much money upfront like I used to.

What happened is that a couple of days after the kid essentially took the job and would start a couple of weeks shy of our current warehouse worker's departure, he decided to go back to school instead.

And so, that leaves is back to square one. We have a guy working in the warehouse now who will have his last day on the 15th of October, and no one to replace him.

That means I still have a decision to make as to whether or not I will stay on with the company or quit. Luckily, loss of a job is always something I think ahead about. I never want to be caught with my pants down—regardless of whether or not my job loss is of my own design, or the design of the company I am working for. Quitting or getting fired, there is always a plan.

And when it comes to quitting, if that is the decision I ultimately am forced to make, of course You Can't Just Quit Without a Plan (read.cash).

Image courtesy of Pixabay, user geralt. Future Letters Construction Site - Free photo on Pixabay

I am still willing to take one for the team in the short term. But that depends on what my company's plan happens to be, and how that all gets sorted out. You see, I have a bit of another thing weighing on my decision.

My boss has been dragging his feet a bit, despite his best effort to remedy the situation—which I am giving him at least some credit for.

The reality is that a couple of months prior to learning of the current warehouse worker's departure his boss encouraged him to make a decision much earlier to get a second warehouse worker in place. In part because we kind of knew that the current guy was temporary from day one.

There's that word again. Plan. It is always best to have one. It helps one to be prepared in life for whatever comes next. It helps one to not be caught with their pants down, only to find themselves scrambling at their ankles trying to get them back around their waist.

I need to see an ad going up very soon in order for me to better make a decision as to what comes next for me. No more dragging our feet. No more clutching at straws. No more game playing. No more hoping we get lucky. We either are going to get serious about getting a new warehouse worker or we are not.

And if I do not see that, I do have a plan and a remedy, and I will go with that over deciding to stick around to wait and see what happens.

As I have mentioned in all of my previous posts about the subject, my boss knows very well what my intentions are. I have been clear to communicate that. I am not exactly certain if he quite believes I will actually do it. It matters little, I suppose. It's on his mind, and I know this because he has kept me well in the loop about what we are doing in this regard.

The next play is yours, sir. Be careful about what that play is. It matters.

Lead image courtesy of Pixabay, user geralt. Curtain Movie Theater Theatre - Free image on Pixabay

7
$ 5.08
$ 4.77 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Pantera
$ 0.05 from @Judith1969
+ 4
Avatar for Porwest
2 years ago
Topics: Work, Jobs, Strategy, True Story, Reality, ...

Comments

Maybe your boss is testing you, and he doesn't believe in your intention to retire if they don't hire someone. But surely you will have the answer in the next few days. October 15 is around the corner.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

The date already changed to October 1st. lol. Ugh. I started cleaning out my desk.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ugh. I guess we will soon read an update from you on this.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Rest assured. lol

$ 0.01
2 years ago

At least you still have the decision to hire whereas our company explicitly told us that we are on freeze hiring. And after announcing that, one of my staff resigns. My decision was about how to distribute her tasks to my already fully loaded staff. 😥

$ 0.01
2 years ago

At the end of the day it IS of course the prerogative of any company to make any business decision it wants to. But they also must be prepared for whatever that means for the function of their business if certain employees are not willing to be onboard for it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Seems you're having a hard time reaching a decision on this :) Retirement is waving, lol! Kidding aside, it's not a matter that can be taken lightly as you said you like your job and the pay is good. It would have been easier to decide when you don't like it :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes. It is still a very difficult decision, and one that it now appears I will have to make much sooner as the 15th has changed to the 1st. With only a week and a half to get someone in here, that does not seem like enough time, AND I don't think we have an ad out there looking for someone.

So, this morning I did start cleaning out my desk. Hopefully it is just a little bit of "fall cleaning," but we shall see.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Maybe that's a sign of change that you probably need :) Hope everything turns out well :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago