The Read.Cash Revival

27 67
Avatar for Porwest
2 years ago

Ashes to ashes, dust to dust. If your writing gets older it all goes to...to...

Well, I couldn't come up with anything to rhyme this properly. So I guess I will just leave it at that. It doesn't matter anyway.

Sponsors of Porwest
empty
empty
empty

In all my years writing on various platforms there is one thing that almost always tends to happen. Only the stuff you wrote recently will get the eyes and the attention of readers.

The rest of it, or at least most of it, falls into the deep, deep dark recesses of neverland, never to be seen nor read again.

And I always find this to be a shame. Because some of it, or for some of us perhaps all of it, is probably worth reading. So how does one bring it back to life? It depends on the platform, or it depends on how you share it on other platforms.

But most of it just becomes obsolete unfortunately.

Image courtesy of Pixabay, user FForest Mist Nature - Free photo on Pixabayree-Photos.

For that reason I decided to start a new channel on noise.cash that is much like the current read.cash community there where people share what they have written today, or a few days ago.

I am calling it very simply, The Read.Cash Revival channel. And yes. It will be moderated unfortunately. Because like most channels there will be a rule or two to keep in mind. And so, someone simply needs to be there to sift through any posts and links and make sure they are up to snuff. Otherwise no one is going to want to pay any attention to the channel, and thus, they won't want to read your older posts either.

So, what will the rules be? We will keep them pretty simple. No one likes an overbearing hall monitor, right? So, let's make every effort to not be that guy.

1) Posts should be fairly evergreen

What does that mean? Simply that the post is not necessarily pertaining to something immediate when it was written. It is a post that is relevant as much now as it was when you wrote it.

And let's face it, a lot of posts can fall into this evergreen category. In fact, most probably will.

Image courtesy of Pixabay, user succo. Hammer Books Law - Free photo on Pixabay

2) Your submission should tell us something about what we are going to read

In other words, just posting a link to the article is not enough. Not everyone is going to be interested in every topic, and no one wants to waste their time clicking into articles they probably didn't want to read anyway.

So, tell us a little bit about the post and even perhaps why we should be interested in reading it. Little snippets of the post could be helpful too, perhaps. Make your post submission as interesting as the post we are about to read.

If you can't write an interesting post about your own post, it is probably not worth reading, right?

3) Don't flood the channel

This is a biggie. I do not want the channel to drown out other noise. And I don't want other read.cash writers to be drowned out either. So, if you are going to submit an article, try to space your submissions out. I'd say once a week is probably best. I also only have so much time as well, and so if anyone does flood the channel with submissions, it is only going to slow me down, and slow down how quickly posts are approved.

At this time I am not sure if there will be a limit to how many I approve in a day. That will be something for me to examine, as needed, as the channel grows. But do know that my aim in not drowning out other noise is to space approvals hours apart.

Nobody is going to want to see 14 Read.Cash Revival channel posts in a row, you know. I sure wouldn't.

Image courtesy of Pixabay, user 8moments. Waterfall Victoria Falls Spray - Free photo on Pixabay

4) Try to pick out the cream of the crop

Make the most out of the reintroduction of older posts. Pick the ones you really want people to have the opportunity to read. Only the best, so to speak. When we write, of course we are in love with everything we hit the publish button for. But even we can be honest with ourselves and pick out the best of the best.

This will help to keep the revival channel pure. Our readers want to be engaged. They don't want their time wasted. And if we waste their time, they aren't going to read us anyway.

5) Posts MUST be at LEAST 4 months old

For newbies, this might leave some people out in the short term. But in the end I think it will make the channel better. I also realize the site is currently still quitre young. But no matter. Every month the site grows a bit older and there will be plenty of material that can make it at some point.

Submissions that are not at least 4 months old will not see the light of day.

Image courtesy of Pixabay, user tigerlily713. Calendar Date Time - Free photo on Pixabay

But...

You do not need to submit only your own posts. If there was a post that you found was interesting and worth a read, feel free to submit that as well. But of course, the same rules apply to that submission as would apply to submission of your own posts.

The idea here is to have fun and share, and to promote good writing and good articles. It is a matter of adding fun to things already written that are not enjoying any life anymore as they cannot compete for the space taken up by the new stuff.

As with any channel, it may and probably will evolve. And as it does I will likely update this article to reflect that.

Let's just have some fun, enjoy some good reads, and make this a benefit not only to the writers and readers, but to read.cash as well.

Link to the channel: Read.Cash Revival (noise.cash)

Lead image courtesy of Pixabay, user Foundry. Car Classic Automobile - Free photo on Pixabay

13
$ 9.15
$ 8.49 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @Pantera
$ 0.10 from @JonicaBradley
+ 9
Avatar for Porwest
2 years ago

Comments

But our articles here don't expire after 7 days unlike in S & H so I think this would be just redundant? ๐Ÿค” Anyway if you feel the need for a new channel then I'm sure people with still post in it. ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The thing is, how many of those older articles will be found to be read? At some point people aren't necessarily scrolling down to find something you wrote a year ago. At least that's what I find. You can watch an article that is older and look at when the last comment was, and often times what you find is that after a couple of weeks no one will read it anymore.

So the channel is just another opportunity for people to find something they might not otherwise find.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I noticed that too. Most people even get surprised when I comment on an old article. I mean, come on. It's free to read all articles old and new. Haha. That's why I did the 10 top articles for the first time last month just to end their being surprised. Lol.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

This is a great Opportunity for old articles to resurface and gain views...nice to meet you btw

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hopefully it catches on. So far no submissions, but we will see. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It sounds fun and i love this already. Why not make it 3 months pleaseeee๐Ÿ˜‰

$ 0.00
2 years ago

3 months was actually my first thought. Then I made it 4. Hey, a month from now it might be that something is 4 months old. lol

If it is any consolation, none of my work is able to be submitted either. lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, i noticed๐Ÿ˜‚. No problem I'd wait.

I've joined the channel in anticipation of the amazing old wines that will be shared there.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh.. I should visit this channel. It sounds interesting

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So far there is nothing there. lol. But hopefully some people can find it and offer some submissions.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is really nice. Tho none of my posts are qualified but... I'll find some worth a read and share them.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

None of mine are either. lol. I set the 4 month rule in place only because I think any of the newer posts can still be posted in the read.cash community on noise easy enough. This channel is wanting to separate itself from what can already easily be done.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

great idea, your article can motivate me , i will try my best to improved my grammar to be used here, thank you

$ 0.00
User's avatar Amz
2 years ago

That's a really great concept. Though I'm still new to this site so I can't post there for the next three months, I'll be joining to see the progress of the channel. Good luck mate!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

None of mine will be eligible for a while either. lol. Although I intend to post few of mine there. I don't want it to be a "check out Porwest's stuff" channel. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice idea, but you forgot to include the link to your channel.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It's at the very bottom of the article right above the lead image credit.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh, sorry. I didn't notice it. Thanks.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's a great initiative! I will have to share other people's posts then. But it's really good because sometimes I also want my older posts to get noticed :D

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Plus, although there are no guarantees, if someone can find your older posts maybe the work you did then pays off a little more today. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's right :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

i have the tendency as well to just share on noise the latest posted blog article.. perhaps that mindset should be changed this time. I will apply your tips... thank you!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I know there is probably a lot of stuff out there that is older that I would probably want to read, that I would also have a hard time finding on my own. So, hopefully this channel can bring some of those to light.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I like this idea.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hopefully it catches on. I suspect there is a lot of good reading for people to share and find.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was really happy about this idea, that is until you mentioned that posts should be 4 months old ๐Ÿ˜ญ

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Just keep writing and eventually your posts will age to the point of submission. If it is any consolation, none of my posts currently qualify either. lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago