The Philippines Interests Me, But the Wife Won't Have It

22 62
Avatar for Porwest
2 years ago

I have long been considering the opportunity of retiring to the Philippines. But I can't get the wife to budge on the idea of it. It is an argument I am sure that I will never win. But I am doing my due diligence, nonetheless, and will continue to present my idea to her to see if maybe at some point I can get her to be onboard with at least the idea of it.

Which is step one, of course.

Part of it is that, of course, it's a foreign country. We like being Americans, and we are used to what America provides in terms of all things. Including amenities. And of course, we love our family too, and a trip to the Philippines from where we live now is at least 24 hours away.

A trip back home is also. So it's not like it's a hop, skip, and a jump to get back and forth.

Image courtesy of Pixabay, user dylangonzales2011. Manila City Philippines - Free photo on Pixabay

I will admit that even I am not totally onboard with the idea. Again, I like being an American too, and I like all that America has to offer. I mean, is there a Walmart there? I am sure I could get Burger King or McDonald's. How is Internet access, since Internet activities are a big part of my life?

I know my money would go much farther there. But to what end?

The place I have looked at is Angeles City, which seems to offer much in the way of more of what we are used to here. But of course it is still the Philippines.

I have traveled the streets on Google Maps, and a lot of the houses look rather nice, and are akin to houses I might find in places like Florida. Living seems like it would be comfortable at least.

I am guessing, based on some research, that my living expenses would be about $12,000-$15,000 a year, which is much less than what my living expenses are in the United States. If I wanted to live really comfortably $20,000 a year would probably be more than enough to even hire a maid, perhaps.

Would I be living like a king on $20,000 a year? Only someone who actually lives in the Philippines could tell me that. But considering the average median income there is just under $8,000 a year, it seems to suggest life would be very good on $20k.

Of course, I suppose the wife and I would also have to get used to typhoons and earthquakes. That is also, it would seem, a part of life in the Philippines. But is it worse than what we have here?

Tornadoes are a big thing, and in fact a town about 30 miles from where we live now saw the Amazon facility destroyed by one very recently.

If we moved to Florida, or somewhere else on the East Coast we'd have to deal with hurricanes. Same thing if we moved to Hawaii—although Hawaii is extremely expensive. And our luck a volcano might erupt as soon as we get there.

Image courtesy of Pixabay, user Tama66. Castle Room Window - Free photo on Pixabay

California also has earthquakes. But it's a liberal cesspool and I could never live there.

The one thing I have been told, and I am not sure if it is true or not, is that at least Filipinos like Americans, and that Filipino people are friendly. My dad, when he was in the navy, spent a lot of time there, and always told me that it was a beautiful country with good people.

And Angeles City seems to have a large population of Americans living there as well.

Like I said, just thoughts to ponder. But something that I will probably never convince my wife to do. One thing I do know is that I have never been there, and it is a place at least on my bucket list of places to one day visit.

Maybe a little vacation there might be enough to tell us both if the idea even has any merit.

Lead image courtesy of Pixabay, user Clker-Free-Vector-Images. Philippines Flag Filipino - Free vector graphic on Pixabay

13
$ 5.70
$ 5.23 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @JustMyRambles01
$ 0.10 from @annayks
+ 7
Avatar for Porwest
2 years ago

Comments

I lived my early life here at one of the remote areas of the Philippines and I am currently here on vacation. I can say there are a lot of interesting places here in our country including my hometown. You just have to convince your wife to try some vacation and see how you fare here. Again, you will experience a lot of interesting things here and you'll see why despite the many inconveniences, you'll still have a worthy stay. Just saying. Hehehe. You're very kind to consider our country.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Every country has its ups and downs so, there are many things to consider before making a huge decision like moving permanently to another country. Like others have already, maybe a long vacation might be suitable for you and your wife, and who knows, maybe she falls in love with the idea, or you both compromise in making the Philippines a permanent vacation spot, and for you, maybe a place to invest. The range of possibilities as far as I see it is big.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Definitely a good place to invest. Haha. Needs a manager if it's property investments though.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yeah, I know non-Filipinos can't own land. So, if it's real estate I'd be interested in, I'd need a partner.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I've also looked into it a little when trying to get out of South Africa. I've since realized that being over here is actually exactly where I'm meant to be. There is a lot wrong over here - yet at the same time there is a lot right. I am tired of the Western world and all it has to offer - it cannot offer me peace. Africa offers me peace. Wildlife. Nature. Farms. Freedom. By the middle of next year I'm hopefully going to have bought our farm.

We are fortunate that we don't have the weather like the Philippines. Our living costs are much higher, but at the end of the day my idea is to have zero living costs where we go to next. You are right with the people too - my experience of meeting people from the Philippines through work and through noise.cash and read.cash is that everyone is extremely friendly, helpful and kind.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I lived in Angeles City (which is in Northern Luzon) 2005-2009 when I was working in Aviation but I grew up by the beach in Sorsogon City. Of course I would say my home town is better for retirees. LOL! You and your love ones are welcome to occupy "my beach front property for free". But the problem is -- no big malls at my place. Since I live by the beach we eat seafoods mostly. 😁

Choose Makati City to live like in America with big malls etc.

Choose Baguio City for cooler climate.

Just similar to Big Cities, Angeles City is ideal for business and not for retirement. ;-)

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thanks for the valuable input. Things to digest for sure.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

One very important for me to consider when planning to move is the CRIME RATE. Google each city. ;-)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We have a lot of americans retiring in the country.. they prefer to live near the beach. I see a lot of them in Panglao, Cebu provinces, El Nido, Coron, Boracay even owning resorts and private properties which they turn into airbnb.. but perhaps they have Filipino partners as foreigners can't have personal properties in the country.. that's what I know but not sure if the law had changed.

plint's idea is also recommended...

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I have heard that as well that you can't own land if you are not Filipino. Even for an American to buy a condo, the condo would have to have 60% of the condos owned by Filipinos. Either way, I hear rents are not bad.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha perfect place to write this article since there are a lot of us here. Yes you could live like a king with a family here on $20,000. If you like convenience you better live in Metro Manila. We don't have Walmart but we have plenty of malls and supermarkets all over the Metro so you don't need to worry about the things you need. Also in provinces too. If you are going to live in Angeles City that's fine too as being in cities make life more convenient. And hey, online shopping is a thing here too.

For buying homes in Metro Manila/NCR you can check my 3 articles on where the best places to live are (if you haven't yet). But if you're set on Angeles City I don't know much about the area.

What you will find here in the Philippines is it can be easier to travel to places even without a car. No need to drive for hundreds of miles to get to the main town or major cities. But you being Americans and white people, you might not want to travel in tricycles (you might not fit inside if you're really tall), jeepneys or buses. Of course you will be getting the usual stares and perhaps some 'hey Joe!'s' along the way.

I have seen a few of Caucasians riding public transpo, especially missionaries. Planes are also available should you want to travel faster to and from major islands. Plenty of islands to visit here during your stay so if you get to convince your wife soon then great. If not then maybe just have a vacation here just to see if you and your family will like it here. Otherwise there are plenty of other countries around where the converted $ value is a lot too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I would definitely go on a long vacation there first, get a good feel for the place

$ 0.03
2 years ago

This is probably a VERY good idea. I would love to visit. Any recommendation on a good city? Angeles City and Manila seem like interesting places.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have never been, I do have an uncle that goes to Davos every year but I have never been to the Philippines

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hmm. Try to visit here to see if it all suit to all your plans :) It's hard to settle down when you haven't check the place 😉

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Very good suggestion. Any place in particular I should visit there? To get the best idea?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The place where you are planning to reside here in the Philippines is already rising. Pampanga is being developed already by businesses and might probably look like the Metro Manila in just a few years. As a Filipino, I suggest you to try to have a vacation here first before settling here. As you've mentioned, living in America has its own privileges. The Philippines may not provide the amenities that your current country provides. Think of it well. Anyways, this is a good read. :")

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thanks very much for the input and insight. Manila looks like a beautiful city too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

But it's kinda expensive to live in. It depends on what location you want and what type of home you prefer.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I am sure it would still be much cheaper than living in the United States.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think you'll be able to convince your wife to move after all. And I also think that it is impossible to get used to typhoons, hurricanes, earthquakes. Who knows whose life they will take next time.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You are probably right. Who could used to such things?

$ 0.00
2 years ago