Make Your Noise A Little Quieter

16 94
Avatar for Porwest
2 years ago

There was a line from the Pakled alien race on an episode of Star Trek: The Next Generation wherein they explained, "We look for things. Things that make us go." It is a line that I can relate to in a sense, because I too look for things. Things that make me go.

Sponsors of Porwest
empty
empty
empty

And it doesn't matter much what I apply this to. "Things that make me go" simply implies that I am forward thinking. That I am observational. That I am analytical. I am always trying to figure out what it is that works best toward a desired result, that can put me one step further ahead than where I was before.

My life and my lifestyle, the pursuit of career goals, and of course money. These are all things I want to make better and to advance. These are all things that I want to get the most out of.

Image courtesy of Pixabay, user geralt. Clock Hands Space - Free image on Pixabay

I am applying this philosophy, if you will, in this instance to what I do on noise.cash, and how I do it. And it relates to things that I have observed there.

Granted, I have not been using noise long enough to know if my answer is correct, or if my observation has any value. But I do have experience on many other platforms I have used in the past, and I can use that as a guide to determine if the same rules or school of thought may apply to noise.cash that have applied to others.

When it comes to any social media platform there is a certain relational aspect to what we do in them. We get to meet new people, even if only virtually. And we do develop certain friendships. In some cases we have a closeness to certain people even if we have never met them in person, and likely never will.

But of course, certain social media platforms do also have a monetary aspect to them as well, and the money part cannot be denied. It is a part of what we do, and why we do it. I am not going to lie when I tell you that I was lured into noise.cash initially with the prospect of making a little bit of extra money. I am also not going to lie and tell you that at least a part of my motivation to participate on the site is not driven by my desire to earn tips.

And so, when I go and look for things within noise, things that make me go, a part of that is wanting to maximize my time and my enjoyment there, and of course maximizing the value I receive from my time participation there as well.

That does include the tips I get.

Image courtesy of Pixabay, user padrinan. Jar Currency Change - Free photo on Pixabay

The reality is that very few people on noise.cash will use the QR tip feature. For whatever reason there just happens to be a higher number of receivers than givers. So, for that reason, observing the site's algorithm is of more value than perhaps trying to figure out who is willing to share a little bit of their own rewards around the site.

On an average day I am able to make around $9 per day on noise. But, and this is important, I do not flood the site with numerous posts throughout the day. But I do observe that many people do. And I think this is problematic for some on the site if tips are a large part of their motivation to post often throughout the day.

These people, as I see it, are literally achieving the opposite of what they are trying to accomplish, and working much harder to achieve less than someone like me who tries less and earns more.

I look for things, and what I have found is that less is more. Less frequent posting is more. Now, I am not going to say that my content is "quality" content in the finer sense of the word. But what my content is is more selective in nature. My content also tends to be more complete.

In other words, rather than simply post something like, "Good morning noisers. It is a wonderful day," I will elaborate a bit more on why the day is wonderful to me. Rather than simply show you a picture of a meal that I cooked and tell you it's good food, I will tell you how I made it, or share something else about the meal.

Does it matter? I think it does. At least that is what I have observed.

Image by Porwest. Originally posted on noise.cash. https://noise.cash/post/r3x6nw3a5gg95

At the end of the day the site's algorithm knows what you are doing. It is in a constant state of monitoring. It is constantly making an evaluation as to the contribution you are making to the site. Both in terms of how you post, how often you post, the types of things you post, and how you interact around the site. It monitors what kind of comments you leave, and the average length of comments you make.

I also think it tracks how much you typically QR tip, or if you do it at all. And while it is off-topic for the purposes of this post, I think it matters to at least mention that I have observed that those who use the QR tip feature on the site also receive more heart tips from noise.cash itself.

What I have found is that if you space out your posts at least two hours apart—but ideally farther apart—you will receive more heart tips, and the value of each tip will be more.

But again, quality does matter. When you are posting farther apart, the more care you take with each post is important.

Looking at my pending tips in my wallet right now it says I have $1.41 from 35 tips. That means the average heart tip is 4 cents. I can only assume my "tip rate" is higher than some simply because of what I am doing, and how I am doing it. I can only surmise that the algorithm has recognized how I make noise and it is rewarding me for that.

The quieter my little corner of noise is, the more I get. And I think if others followed this same pattern of posting and interacting, they would likely also receive more heart tips.

Every noiser has to recognize that there is only so much money to go around from noise in a given day. And no one likes to just give their money away for nothing. So, the algorithm is specifically designed to reward the best content, and the best participants on the site, and that just makes sense.

Image courtesy of Pixabay, user QuinceCreative. Trophy World Cup - Free photo on Pixabay

Like the Pakled, I look for things. Things that make me go. And it seems that what I have found works best for me on noise is to not be too noisy. If I just focus on having fun, and sharing a thing or two here and there, and focus on spending more time with others, including sending a few QR tips here and there, I am rewarded more handsomely than if I were to focus on just working very hard to get more tips.

Lead image courtesy of Pixabay, user geralt. Clock Hands Space - Free image on Pixabay

16
$ 8.11
$ 7.61 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.15 from @Pantera
$ 0.05 from @Alther
+ 8
Avatar for Porwest
2 years ago

Comments

I'm only doing one or two posts a day, and I also see that it works better than doing many. I noted too, it's important to interact, make meaningful comments, and tip with QR codes. This is much more beneficial than making a lot of noise.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Not much people are tipping through QR in noise, I think most are just utilizing the free heart tips whether it has value or not, what matter is the interaction, I guess, as per observation. Anyway, my time is mostly here in readcash. I still like noise though.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Lately my time is about 2/3 read and 1/3 noise. But it really does depend on the day. I wish more people were into the QR tipping on noise. I think it would make the site better.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow, thanks very much for this sir. I have been all confused about noisecash which makes me not to be very active over there. Your article helped to make things clearer, it's exactly what I need.

It's about time I start making some noise

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I hope it works and is useful. It seems to be what works for me. It is only what I have observed so far. Down the road I may think differently. Who knows? :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

With the little time I have spent on noisecash, I think your observations are correct. I do read people's post on noisecash and I observed some of the things you talked about

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Many of them I see, it just very obvious why they don't get tips. At least from my observation.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are a great observant, I must say :) I haven't been able to analyze how it goes there but I believe that it goes just like you say - quality, the interval of posts, interaction, and probably how one tips another, although we don't have control over how much we tip unless we do it by QR code.

That whole chicken makes my stomach growl :D

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That was something I did mention in the post, about QR tipping. It is something I do often. I wish more people did. I think it would make the whole site better. Based on your badge, it seems you are not one who is afraid to give back to the community. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, I read that QR tipping above. I sometimes do it in noise but I do it with contents I really like. Here in read, yes, I always make sure to give back, not afraid at all :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I am selective too in tipping.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I limit my post to 5 highest noise post as well. Am earning good in there too and I don't flood post it's like if I've earned enough I'll leave the site and give way to others to let them earn as well.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I try to spend most of my time concentrating on interacting with others around the site, and where it merits it, QR tipping a select few. It is fun, I think, to give a little bit back and share the love.

But of course I want to be careful to share with people who deserve it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh my gosh, 9?! I think I get like a 2 on a good day :/

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I certainly don't try to get that. It just sort of happens, and I can only surmise it happens because of what I do and how I do it. I have no idea, honestly. I can only go on what I see and what I THINK is the case.

Not sure if noise.cash will chime in, but I'd be interested to hear his/her thoughts.

BTW, does anyone know is it IS a she or a he?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My sentiments precisely!

$ 0.01
2 years ago