Last Saturday's Mulch Day

5 49
Avatar for Porwest
11 months ago
Topics: Life, Experience, Story, Personal, Family, ...

Last weekend was one that was work filled but rewarding nonetheless. Turned out the weather was not terribly warm, although that humidity is kicking in already in full force.

Not enough yet to make it unbearable, though.

We had to clean out the beds and put down some fresh mulch. We always like the red stuff as it just adds a nice bit of color to the yard and always looks nice and fresh once it is all done.

We had wanted to get it done on Saturday, and even went to Menard's on Saturday to get the mulch. 25 bags at 2 cubic yards each gets the job done and it was just enough to get the job done this time as well.

But Saturday turned out to be busier than we had planned and while we still got quite a lot done on Saturday, we decided it had gotten too late in the day to start the mulching process, and so we got an early start on Sunday.

Trimmed up the yard, cleaned out the beds and laid down the mulch.

It is actually nice that it's done as well since this weekend I am having a small gathering of family over to celebrate my 50th birthday a few weeks early due to everyone's schedules clashing, as they always do.

This weekend was the one everyone seemed available to get together. My actual birthday is on June 1st.

Happy birthday to me!

So, that way the yard will look nice and presentable when everyone is here. We plan to put out a couple of yard games—unfortunately we have not reopened the pool yet, but that's coming. Otherwise people could swim if they wanted to, and certainly the weather will be warm enough for it.

But maybe next time.

The plan is to keep is simple and just cook some hamburgers and brats on the grill. We will also have some sides, of course, like potato salad and maybe some macaroni and cheese if my sister got my message to bring her Instapot and cook it.

Of course, that means this morning will be busy as well since we still have a couple of last minute things to get for the party and naturally, we want to get the house a bit more tidied up.

Not that it matters. As these things go, the tidied house will be destroyed within a matter of minutes once guests arrive. That's just the nature of the beast.

But it should be a good time, as it always is. And hopefully I can get a little fire going in the firepit as well. That's always fun to sit around that with a few cold beers, or whatever the ladies will be drinking which usually isn't beer. They'll have what we affectionately call "girly drinks."

One caveat I thought I'd throw in for good measure, and perhaps filler, is that on Wednesday we mowed the lawn and unfortunately the belt on my mower deck broke, so I will have to make some time in the next week or so to replace it.

It's a bit of a chore but I think I should be able to get it done. After all, there's YouTube and the job looks simple enough, if not a wee bit complicated.

I am sure the job will likely take me twice as long as it would take anyone else to do it. But it will also save me some money—at least that's the idea. Plus, sometimes a little challenge is fun, and if I conquer it, it would have its own little reward I suppose.

Onward and upward and I will see you on the other side. Hopefully with something a bit more meaningful to post for you.

5
$ 0.64
$ 0.30 from @Coolmidwestguy
$ 0.27 from @Telesfor
$ 0.05 from @Unity
+ 1
Avatar for Porwest
11 months ago
Topics: Life, Experience, Story, Personal, Family, ...

Comments

I'm sure you feel good looking over the finished project. Well done your hard work shows amazing results. One thing done more to come right, lol?

Happy early Birthday, hopefully you will be all done with all exterior touches when this comes. I just mowed grass for the first time yesterday. I hope we don't have the heat and drought conditions we had last year.

$ 0.00
11 months ago

I want to greet you an advanced happy birthday, may your wish do come true 🥳. It is good to have plants around your house, it is more relaxing to see.

$ 0.00
11 months ago

The photographs show how meticulously you take care of your house.

$ 0.03
11 months ago

Thank you very much. We try to take pride in where we live and really enjoy when things look nice.

$ 0.00
11 months ago

Wow❗ every corner of your house is very relaxing and beautiful sir, a place where find at peace and a perfect location for family gatherings.happy birthday in advance🥰

$ 0.00
11 months ago