Is it Wrong of Me on Read.Cash?

19 420
Avatar for Porwest
2 years ago

Let's just be real here, shall we? This is a great site, hands down. No questions asked and no doubt about it. And it is also a great community. Also no questions asked and no doubt about it.

I enjoy all of my interactions here and enjoy reading about just about whatever comes to anyone's mind.

Really, when it comes to writing and sharing here, one of the things that makes it so nice is that it really is a bit of an anything goes kind of a place. Sure, a good many here have niches. Others have a variety of topics they write about.

All of it is worthy of our time and attention...and yes, our tips if we feel that what we have read is also worthy of saying something about it in the comments section.

There was a time when I did not pay as much attention to the tips. I mean, Rusty notwithstanding. He is always quite generous and I don't think I have heard anyone complain when he comes around and leaves us a little something for our efforts.

Sponsors of Porwest
empty
empty
empty

He never comments of course. But that's okay with me. He's a robot. So even if he did comment I would not be able to understand what he is saying anyway. It would probably be akin to trying to have a conversation with R2D2. Unless you happen to be C-3PO.

It used to be, when it came to my own posts, that I would almost automatically tip 1-3 cents for comments. I still tend to follow at least the amount I choose to tip and sometimes tip much more for a really good comment.

I do not mind tipping at all. And in fact, I actually keep a fund together just for the purpose of tipping in general—tipping on other people's posts and tipping comments on my own posts, and sometimes tipping responses to my own comments on other people's posts.

I have always felt that while tipping is certainly not required, it does make our time spent here a bit more worthwhile. Plus, we all get a little something out of our entire presence here, and so giving a little bit back just seems fitting.

Recently I decided to change my tipping habits a bit as I noticed that among those who tend to leave a comment, they also tend to not tip the post. I am not exactly sure why that is, especially when I come at with my own perspective that any post I read will likely get a tip of some kind, and this is especially true if I decide to leave a comment.

If a post has lead me to comment, to my mind it certainly has earned my tip.

So, I changed my rules a bit when it comes to tipping comments. If a person leaves a comment but did not tip the post, it seems counterproductive to me to tip the comment. Even if it is a particularly good one.

Image courtesy of Pixabay, user QuinceCreative. Trophy World Cup - Free photo on Pixabay

And as I have made this decision I wonder if it is a good one? Is it the right one? Is it wrong of me on read.cash to say, "Hey, if you didn't tip my post why should I tip your comment?"

At the end of the day, as I said before, I do really enjoy all of the comments left on my posts, and I am happy to have written something that caused someone to want to comment on it. I am not here just for the tips. I must write. It's just part of who I am. So I am going to do that regardless of the outcome.

But considering how I go about my own tipping throughout the site, I of course apply some of that 'philosophy' to how I feel about those who do not share my own thoughts about tipping.

In a small way it makes me wonder that if I simply tip comments without considering whether or not the commenter bothered to tip my post, will this lead to a throng of others coming into my posts who will be there just to drop a comment and expect a reward?

Is it wrong of me to think this way? What are your thoughts on tipping on read.cash?

Lead image courtesy of Pixabay, user padrinan. Jar Currency Change - Free photo on Pixabay

23
$ 9.31
$ 8.54 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @emily2u
$ 0.10 from @Pichi28
+ 16
Avatar for Porwest
2 years ago

Comments

Personally, I don't really mind tipping comments even if other users would comment on my article without tipping it as long as they got to leave a good comment about what I've written. It's my way of appreciating them for taking some time to read my works. I seldom read others' works but if I do, I make sure to tip it as well. Tipping is not really necessary here. If you like to tip, then tip. But if your philosophy is you give what you receive, then it's also accepted. 😹

$ 0.06
2 years ago

Haha, great read to start my day.

I can understand your position, it is very acceptable specially in a platform based on a specific rewards system, so it's understandable to assume that statement where You tip me I tip you back should be the main rule, so to speak.

For me it isn't about the content of the post, is the balance on my wallet that will determine if I tip it or not, I figure some others have the same standard as me, because, if I read a really good post (like this one) I would like to leave a big tip, but if I don't have the balance to do that, it seems a little off to just leave a 0.01 tip on a post that to me is worth much more than that. So, I leave a comment, I try to write a very good comment, about my thoughts and impressions on the post, so the writer gets to see that I did read it, I did liked it and appreciate it as good quality content.

Again, this is just me haha 💖

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I think people who are newbie and still can't earn comment without tips. You can easily check it on their profile page. If they earn well and and they don't tip just comment... Hm.. I don't know. 😅 I never comment (I think 🤔) without tip, but often tip without comment. Anyway you are lucky if you get a lot of comments, I rarely get any. 😒

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Some people just does comments after reading, because they can not give tips to everyone as their earning is little. Is not it better to comment when this type of situation comes? I also agree with you my friend as you can see there is only 3 sposorsips but I gave 30+ sponsorships. No return from huge numbers. But we have to do what fits for us. Best of luck dude.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Seriously the questions looks fascinating to say " Hey, if you didn't tip my post why should I tip your comment?" " . Surely on my own suggestions i don't mean to go against any one here i don't think it by force to tip , cause the way we tip is use to show that we support each other content and the site even shows at the end of the upvote section " Encourage the writer to do more " the tipping is meant to be general cause it a way we show support to each other.
" I DON'T MEAN TI GO AGAINST ANY RULES OR INDICT ANYONE THAT IS JUST MY SUGGESTIONS ON ANSWERING YOUR QUESTIONS " . IF YOU AGAINST MY OPINIONS DROP IT DOWN SO I CAN GET TO CORRECT MU SELF IN THE NEAREST FUTURE . THANK YOU AND NICE YOU SIR PORWEST

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Giving less to others and getting more for self - Is normal in human society. I get surprised when someone I haven't engaged with tips and upvotes. Comments are gold. I am with you in my actions - I comment on someone's post means I will also tip some upvotes.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I have often wondered about this too but it doesn't really matter much to me. I am more for the comments and likes than for the tips, also when you tip other people's post they are more likely to tip yours because I have come to see that that's what this site is gradually turning into, "scratch my back and I scratch yours". You might also consider that some commenters might be new and have nothing yet in their wallet and are just trying to get some followership by commenting.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Maybe because some doesn't have enough funds to tip that's why they just leave some comments. I understand and appreciate them still by giving some goodies. They took some time to read what I've written and that's enough for me. Well, we have our own pov about this. It's really up to us.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Whenever someone says that to me I often wonder, how is it that they don't have any funds to tip? The reason I ask that question is because out of every penny I make here and on noise I only keep a certain amount for myself, while setting some of it aside for others. Generally what I "give back" to the community is about 20%. So long as I am active and earning, I am never short of something to tip anyone.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

This is pretty much myself as well with the 20%. I try and do sponsorships as well to give back to those who I am continually engaged with their articles. Some I've sadly not gotten around to yet. However I also feel as though sometimes people are going through something and they need to save every last cent. But if it's a routine non-giver-back I will still upvote a comment if it's extremely valid. If not, then not. As always, love your posts 🌻

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I wonder the same but I chose to shrug it off and think it this way - probably they badly need those cents for whatever reason and somehow I feel relieved, thinking I helped someone that way. I really respect those, like us, who keep some percentage to give back. I know we need those cents as well but we chose to give it away. I just always keep in mind that there's more joy in giving.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Maybe that is part of it, and you bring up a good point. I personally do NOT need the money. It's all extra for me. That may not be the case for some, especially some here that are operating in countries where earnings are very low and where the money they make here and on noise is much more important to them than it is to someone like me who has plenty of money.

Might make me rethink my idea here. Thanks.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm not getting into whether or not to tip as long as the comments are reasonable and acceptable. I think everyone has their own reason.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I can certainly agree with that. Everyone has their own thing they do, and I certainly do not hold it against anyone. But I of course will do what I do too. I always appreciate comments and like I said, have no expectation of getting tips. I just find it curious. We are all here and on noise earning. So, if we are simply keeping all of what we earn, what does that actually contribute back to the sites that are being so generous to us?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This may be a broader topic I guess, but I don't think the winners at read.cash keep all the winnings. I can only speak for myself. I divide the number of articles I read daily by 3. I dedicate one part to new users, one part to my subscribers, and the last part to the top ones. Thus, I do not always read the articles of the same people and give them tips. I also provide opportunities for beginners and I think that many people continue with similar strategies.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I generally am able to set aside quite a bit of money for tipping. Maybe I just earn a lot between read and noise? Not sure. I probably have $10 or more in my fund at all times. I even do a bit of "random rewarding" of my own a lot of the time. I generally tip 5 cents on posts and 1-3 cents on comments.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I used to get annoyed at such people, but that was when I had plenty of time to analyze this and that on read.cash but no longer. I have trouble writing and replying to comments on my articles. LOL

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Keeping up with comments on this site is extremely difficult for me. I wish there was better way, but it is what it is I guess. lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It has that tug, yeah? to change your tipping habit. But i guess it is ok and up to you. I did change mine, too when I realized what you realized. And if at times i feel generous, then I go the old ways with comment or none you get a goodie. But, really, i think it is up to us.

No black and white rule, right?

$ 0.00
2 years ago