Do We Need Rusty?

16 92
Avatar for Porwest
1 year ago

Of course, I am referring to our little friend we also know as The Random Rewarder. Rusty is just his affectionate name as he is supposedly a robot. From the inception of the site we all came to know and love his frequent visits.

I mean, he came with cash in hand. Well, Bitcoin Cash. But cash nonetheless since we all think of BCH as just that.

Money.

But in this world we live in where cryptocurrency is a thing, a lot has changed. The price of coins has plummeted and the future of crypto has become a bit uncertain. We've had major fallouts from Luna to the recent FTX debacle.

And at the same time noise.cash has been revamped to noise.app and read.cash has seen a less frequent presence from Rusty. A thing that has caused a good many people here to jump ship.

No free money, what's the point? Well, that is sort of the point. Let me explain.

Sure, we enjoy Rusty coming around and doling out coins. It makes the experience fun, and it makes us feel better about spending our valuable time here. It makes our time spent worthwhile to an extent.

But, as I mentioned in a recent article, I Think We Have Missed an Opportunity on Read, I think relying too much on Rusty sort of sent us off in another direction that is less desirable. It sent us to where we are now. And I think we perhaps shortchanged ourselves considerably as a result.

In all honestly, I have touched on this thought quite a lot since even my own beginnings on read not so long ago. I suggested a while back that We Can All Be a Bit Like Marc DeMesel.

Image courtesy of Pixabay, user nattanan23. Money Profit Finance - Free photo on Pixabay

In other words, the site could have become much more had we all done a little bit more to help make it happen.

Do we need Rusty? Yes and no. But could we all have become a bit of a Rusty? Yes. Could we all have added to the monetary contribution of the site? Yes. Make money, give money. You can accomplish both if you do it right.

And if you think about it, ultimately which model would have offered the biggest gain for all of us? The one where Rusty does all the tipping or one in which we all do the tipping?

Let's say that the site would have attracted 1 million users and just 1% of them landed on your post and offered a nominal 3 cent tip. An article in that scenario might earn $300.

Suddenly Rusty is nice to have around, but not as necessary to make our time here even more worthwhile. At the same time, we'd all be making more than enough from each other to share in the results and keep our tipping coffers full enough to keep it all moving along, and still be individually profitable.

At the same time, imagine the response we might see from Simon or Marc DeMesel if they see a vibrant, active, successful and all-contributing community of users? A community all working toward the same goal of wealth building, BCH awareness and sharing of the ultimate prize?

BCH in full swing, being contributed to and directly sponsored by users. Both those happy to receive but also actively willing to give.

I think the important thing to consider as we look ahead to what we want read to be, we have to ask ourselves what we ourselves are willing to do in order to make it happen? Because it has to be a collective effort, I think. And I also think that was the original expectation of those who created and funded the site, and perhaps continues to be the hope that it can still be achieved.

If we get it. If we understand it. If we acknowledge it. And if we do something about it.

Image courtesy of Pixabay, user geralt. View Eyes Insight - Free photo on Pixabay

The ball isn't just in our court now. It always has been. Read is not dead. Not hardly. It's just in a hiatus as we grow to understand what we need to do that we forgot to do or did not acknowledge to do when we were given the opportunity to do it.

There has to be a reason that any of us have stuck around. Perhaps that's faith. Or maybe it is hope. But it can't be faith or hope that relies on Rusty doing all the work. It can't be faith or hope that suddenly BCH will rise, and a new pool of money will be offered to users willy nilly like it was before.

It has to be about us and what we do. It has to be about what we make it and what we want it to be.

What Rusty and the creators and funders of this site showed us is that generosity and sharing is fun and rewarding. I think we took that for granted, and to some extent, I think some of us (not all of us) took a little bit of advantage of some of that generosity as well.

For those of us who are still here, we have the power and the ability to make this thing still go. I think if we can continue to promote BCH, and promote this site, we can reach a wider audience of users and active participants, and from that point on the whole thing simply soars to the moon and beyond.

But we have to all be in it together. Working at it. Making things happen. Again, together. Collectively.

The path has been laid for us. All we have to do now is enjoy traveling on it and see what wonders we might find along the way—and what wonders we can add as we add forks and new roads of our own.

If we do that, maybe Rusty decides to be a bit of a stronger presence again even. After all, he's Rusty and we like him. We'd hate never to hear from him again.

Rusty has not entirely left us, mind you. He's simply giving us a little prod to get our act together and get the point that we have missed and to give us another chance to seize the opportunity we had that we somehow failed to fully grasp.

Lead image courtesy of Pixabay, user padrinan. Jar Currency Change - Free photo on Pixabay

Sponsors of Porwest
empty
empty
empty

13
$ 0.64
$ 0.53 from @Telesfor
$ 0.05 from @Codename_Chikakiku
$ 0.03 from @Fexonice1
+ 1
Avatar for Porwest
1 year ago

Comments

I remember so well that funding for the read. cash site was opened to everyone who wants to contribute in the beginning, it was later on that Simon decided to refund everyone who has contributed since their money was never used. Marc's money was more than enough for rusty to tip for years going by the BCH value at the time. I think that the refunds were a mistake by Simon, people would have been encouraged to keep donating to the pulse today.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I think the developers need to include an open wallet address here in order for users to donate BCH so that there are spare funds to used and bless it to users, in that idea users can gain and also give BCH.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Though.. The site has been great and it has not been the same without rusty.. If monetary appreciation is available, the site would be more lively.. Another thing is that the crypto market has been bad which has made things more difficult for rusty

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That is why I think WE need to become Rusties. If we all contribute, I think we all profit. We all have collectively a lot more money than Rusty does, which is sort of my point. Rusty's funds are limited. Ours are not.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Most of ours is limited ... I gave out half my earning thinking my asset will be back to the way it is wheb crypto get better

$ 0.00
1 year ago

At the same time we are only talking about a couple of pennies here and a couple of pennies there. But if everyone is doing it, those pennies quickly add up, and the more pennies moving around, the more we all get.

Most of us have jobs. Most of us can afford to put a couple of bucks to read and noise and collectively as a whole we have more money than anyone who funded the site combined.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Great thoughts. I like the Gedanken experiment.

Let's say that the site would have attracted 1 million users and just 1% of them landed on your post and offered a nominal 3 cent tip. An article in that scenario might earn $300.

I don't mind Rusty coming or vanishing. But it hurts a lot when I see the bot giving a banal (self-plagiarized) and empty article huge random rewards! And it hurts more when I see the same frequently rewarded robotic blogger not upvoting any tips on others' posts! That MUST stop :)

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I think that is just another example of why it is more important for us to be engaged with each other rather than rely on a heartless, random robot. lol.

We can truly reward good, thoughtful content and follow and show appreciation for those who provide it.

I do think Rusty does seem to sometimes land more often in the pockets of some who simply have higher numbers of subscribers or who post more often—I am not really sure HOW the algorithm actually works or what triggers it.

Perhaps I wish I did?

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes, it's unfair, but I personally don't mind that low value arricles get a reward. I'm more bothered by the idea that the recipient will probably immediately exchange the BCH for fiat and treat the website like a cash cow.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I suppose until one can actually use the BCH for something. Granted, certain places you can. But most of the time it's like standing in front of a gedunk machine with a $20 bill in your pocket and still not being able to get the bag of chips. lol

But I get your gist. :)

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I think the best motivation is appreciation. You can show appreciation with money or with a comment or a like. You can see that people keep using noise.app even though there is no automatic reward. They do it because they get the appreciation through the interaction. I'm also happy about every meaningful comment and satoshi I get from real people, but I'd be lying if I said I wasn't happy about Rusty's visits.

$ 0.03
1 year ago

I agree about Rusty, and don't get me wrong. I will never complain even if he happens to be the only one who ever leaves a little something for me to take home. But at the same time I do feel that it is important (and even necessary) for there to be a higher number of people funding the site in order for it to be sustainable.

As I mentioned in my previous post on the topic citing Margaret Thatcher, sometimes you run out of other people's money and then the whole thing collapses. If we all are making money and putting some of it to something like this in addition to receiving something...

The funding potential is endless.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You won't find people who altruistically fund a website. I suspect that Marc also funded the website because he wanted to promote Bitcoin Cash and he is heavily invested in BCH. Unfortunately, BCH has fallen further and further behind BTC and the website has not reversed the trend. SmartBCH also suffered a severe blow with the CoinFLEX disaster, and BCH has probably suffered from that as well.

The website has not found a business model, I'm afraid.

$ 0.03
1 year ago

I wonder if they ever did, or ever would consider putting ads on the site? I mean, one can look at it a couple of ways. Not only would it add revenue to the site to pay out if that's what it wants to do. But it also converts ad revenue paid in dollars into BCH which in turn is also paid out in BCH and, depending on how things go, perhaps spent as BCH? In any event, probably overthinking on many levels.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I discussed this with Simon. I don't remember exactly why he decided against advertising. I think the traffic wasn't high enough, but I can't remember exactly.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Interesting that it was considered at one time nonetheless.

$ 0.00
1 year ago