Simple Compound and Complex

1 26
Avatar for Polaroid
3 years ago

I. Simple sentences:-

I went to the market.

In this sentence there is only one subject and one predicate.

I read a book.

The dog barks.

The train moves.

The leaves fall from the tree.

    In all the sentences above we find one subject and one predicate in each sentence. A simple sentence is one in which there is one subject and one predicate.

II. Compound sentence:-

I went to the market.

I purchased fruits.

Both the sentence are simple sentences.

When I went to the market I purchased fruits.

    In the above sentence there are two subjects and two predicates. The underlined words from a main clause in the sentence whereas the first part of the sentence forms a subordinate clause.

    A sentence in which there is a main clause with one or more subordinate clauses is a complex sentence.

I went to the market.

I purchased fruits.

    These two simple sentences can be framed as a single sentence by adding 'and' as noted herebelow.

        I went to the market and I purchased fruits.

    In this sentence we notice there are two main clauses. As such this is called a compound sentence. A compound sentence is one in which there are more than one main clause with or without subordinate clauses.

        When I went to the bazaar I happened to meet my friend and we had dinner in the hotel.

    This is a compound sentence in which there are two main clauses and one subordinate clause.

Hi! English Grammar Learning Free Offline is one of the best app to learn and test your grammar ability. Click the link to download at:https://bit.ly/374UunL

4
$ 0.00

Comments

U have good grammar keep it up

$ 0.00
3 years ago