The Invention To End My Biggest Annoyance

6 45
Avatar for Plint
Written by
1 year ago

I have a big annoyance in this world, you will probably find it silly, but ey, isn't life just silly?

I will give you an example of my annoyance: last weekend in was the Eurovision Song contest. I was at a friends place to watch the contest and drink some beers. While she was struggling to get a banana bread out of the oven and slice it, I decided I might as well make myself useful and turn the TV on so we wouldn't have to miss anything.

Turns out, there were 4 remotes to choose from. Some controlled the sound, some the screen, some the box to receive the signal and they all had very specific buttons to press in a very specific order or the TV wouldn't work.
After testing some things out and failing I asked my friend, who then had to admit she also had difficulty with finding the right sequence and had in fact written it down....

How is it possible that we live in the year 2022, where there are self tying shoelaces (I kid you not, it's a thing!) and, as I recently found out we even have floating wind turbines. Here you can see how cool they are
But we are not capable of just having a simple remote that works for all the devices in our home entertainment sets. This baffles me, and it annoys me too!

So see here: my greatest invention:

The Remote That Does It All!

Just press the on button to turn everything on, press the volume to turn up the speakers, use your smart TV with on press of a button and turn on the radio in a heartbeat! No more struggling with different remotes. Welcome to the 21st century, we have finally made it!

And don't worry, it won't have 300 buttons, because half the buttons on a remote are useless and nobody uses them anyway. I propose a sleek model that will do all the actions in a jiffy!

6
$ 2.37
$ 2.33 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @esmeesmith
$ 0.02 from @mypathtofire
Sponsors of Plint
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Plint
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

These days mobile also have the universal remote system which works with most TVs. I think w are getting there it just may take some time.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It just seems crazy that it takes so long, considering the average person spends multiple hours a day using the TV, sound system and things around it!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Having one remote that does it all doesn't sound like a bad thing, actually it reduces the stress.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I mean universal remote controls have existed for over 10 years or more, and the latest ones are also quite okay, but you have to pay attention to the compatibility of the devices and then program them individually. However, there are already many smart home solutions that do just that more conveniently, but are of course still very expensive and must also be coordinated with each other. And even then, it's a kind of dependency, since you can no longer buy any random device and connect it to the system.

$ 0.01
User's avatar mvl
1 year ago

My point being, I have tried many a universal remote and never had one that really worked flawless or didn't require a heap of programming!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yea I can understand that point very well, at some point I didn't feel like it anymore, but fortunately I hardly ever need remote controls. But I have at least heard of a few good ones :D But you are right, there is still much room for development

$ 0.01
User's avatar mvl
1 year ago