The Best Excuse I Ever Made

9 37
Avatar for Plint
Written by
2 years ago

You may be familiar with this situation. You are about to have to do something you really don't want to do... And you're looking for a way out... You need an excuse!

We have all been in that situation and this is the one that stuck with me the most: how I came up with the best excuse I ever made....

Setting the scene

So we have to start from the beginning. We decided to take a long weekend trip to Fontainebleau (France) to go bouldering there. Most of use already knew each other for quite some time and we were super excited to go!

This was the group we went with. Since I was one of the people that had a car it was agreed that I would drive my car and bring three more people with me. It was quite a drive, about 700 km, but I like driving so fine. I didn't really bother with who would be in my car since I would be driving anyways so who cares right? WRONG!!!

I ended up with two people in my car who were a couple, we thought.... turns out they had broken up the week before. Let me tell you, that was the most awkward drive of my life... They were constantly bickering and one of them was obviously very sad while the other was not... We got to the campsite, but it was honestly the worst ride ever.

Here we are chilling at the campsite (before 'Rona hit so look at us all chilling close together). To make matters worse, during this weekend at the campsite they had a huge fight when the girl ended up flirting with one of the other guys and the ex had a meltdown....

The Excuse

You may understand that the last thing I wanted to do was drive another 700km with them two in the back of my car. But every other driver was pretty happy with their passengers and did not want to switch... So I would need to be smart about it.

I approached on of the other girls and asked her wouldn't she like to be in my car on the way back? And she was in! I then made up the excuse that she was horribly carsick and because my car was not only the most spacious and comfortable, it also had a lot more windows (it was a Citroen Berlingo) so she would surely feel better in my car....

And it worked! We switched the two girl around and the atmosphere improved by like 10000000 times in my car. Only months later did someone in the group figure out that I made it all up and got away with my excuse. I told him to keep his mouth shut haha. I have no regrets!

What was your best excuse ever? I would love to hear!

6
$ 1.90
$ 1.79 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @HappyBoy
$ 0.05 from @rebeysa85
+ 1
Sponsors of Plint
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Plint
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

I can't imagine how awkward that has been..., but might take that opportunity to fix their relationship or just have simple closure ๐Ÿ˜…

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I don't think they ever spoke again since that trip....

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Maybe they can't just stand each others presence anymore...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah I think you're right on that one!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

HAHAHA nice one, that ninja move of yours was PERFECT!!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Haha thanks!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That was really smart๐Ÿ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow, that's a good one. I can't recall one of mine, but can't say that I don't have one either hahaha we all have at some point.

$ 0.01
2 years ago