Movie The Glass Castle- 2017 [EN} Review

3 17
Avatar for Plint
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Movie, Film, Movies, Review, Art, ...

As the summer weather has turned into Dutch summer (rain) again I now have more time to sit down and watch some movies. While I was flipping through the large pile of movies I came across The Glass Castle and man was I happy I did because it is great! A story that can be both sad, empowering and uplifting!

The Story: No Spoilers

The Glass Castle is a film made after the autobiographic book written by Jeannette Walls who tells the story of her childhood in a dysfunctional family who follows an anything but ordinary path. With her family with two more sisters and a brother they lead a nomad lifestyle: refusing to confirm to societal norms and bouncing from temporary house to house. Though you might now think of a glorious existence as nomads, nothing is less true as the family struggles with poverty and the father's alcoholism.

So why is this movie good?

You might think well that sounds very depressing: a movie about a poor family and a drunk dad. However, not all is as it seems with this movie. Jeannette Walls manages to tell a sad story but also filled with inspiration and hope. With trusting yourself and it being ok not to do what everyone else does. The movie beautifully shows that the father was also shaped by forces outside of him, and even though he makes some horrible parenting decisions the love for his children stands out.

Woody Harrelson plays and incredible role with the father as part hillbilly drunk and part smart engineer with amazing ideas. After watching the movie I was still torn between empathy and dislike for father Walls. I would really recommend to watch this movie!

2
$ 0.04
$ 0.02 from @George_Dee
$ 0.02 from @francescawrites
Sponsors of Plint
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Plint
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Movie, Film, Movies, Review, Art, ...

Comments

I haven't seen the movie, this is the first time I am hearing the title. I will definitely see the trailer to catch more review of the movie.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I think this movie would be really good. I think, more than how films portray nomadic people (in RVs) and such, we neglect the fact that there are underlying issues surrounding it. I remembered a film too which had the same side story like this one. I will try to watch it too!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Awesome, let me know when you figure out what that other movie is called!

$ 0.00
2 years ago