A Weekend in the Indian Summer

8 54
Avatar for Plint
Written by
2 years ago

As Murphy's Law predicts: the summer always starts when you have to go back to work. After five weeks of vacation, of which four were wet and grim I am back at work and the sun has decided to come back as well. But then there is: the weekend!

So I decided to spend the majority of the weekend outside enjoying this glorious sunshine!

Time to Rock the Boat

We had a friend coming over to visit us in Alkmaar where we just moved to and she wanted to see the town. Since the weather was great we decided to take one of those canal boat tours, because sitting on a boat in the sun is about as good as it gets.

It's funny how you never really do touristic things in your own country, but since Covid I have changed that also because pretty much the only ones in the touristic places are the Dutch now so they just do the tours in Dutch. This canal boat tour was actually lots of fun, you get to see the city from a different perspective. We did have to go under 22 bridges, some of them were pretty narrow so we had to duck a lot.

But as you can see the sun was glorious and we were happy! After this great boat tour we decided it was time for some beers to soak up the last rays of sunshine before heading home to make our own pizza and drink some more beers...

A Slow Sunday

After a bit too many beers we had a slow Sunday, but since the weather was still holding up we had to go outside of course! We decided to check out a local forest (Heilooerbos) and walk around. It was a really pretty forest!

The Netherlands is one of the most densely populated countries in the world and finding a piece of nature can be a bit of a search and usually it gets pretty packed in the weekend. But we had the place to ourselves as everyone was watching Formula 1 (I find it too boring to watch, just people driving in circles...)

So we took our time and had a nice picnic in this grassy area that we found

I would say its a good way to start the new workweek! The good weather is still here for now, but it's supposed to end sometime this week... But at least I charged up on my sunshine before this week!

Hope you had a glorious weekend as well!

4
$ 1.80
$ 1.80 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Plint
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Plint
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

I would really like to try the boat tour! I love that kind of experience and everytime I visit a city with that I'll do it :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I had never really done it before but would for sure try this in different cities as well!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The best way to relieve stress is to leave yourself to nature and greenery. Have a nice weekend, have fun. You must have gathered a lot of energy for the study.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks a lot! I feel all recharged and ready!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You had a very good weekend there. I was busy because it was my birthday but I love my weekend just like yours.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ah hope you had a good birthday!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I did, thanks

$ 0.00
2 years ago