A Bit Late But Lesson Learned

7 99
Avatar for Plint
Written by
1 year ago

I was one of those people who though oh damn yesterday when I realized Celsius had blocked all outgoing transactions. Now before you think I have put my life savings on there and now realized I can never retire: I didn't put any of my own money into Celsius, just profits I made and it was only €500 so not the end of the world, but still pretty annoying.


Source

Until, well yesterday, I enjoyed using Celsius, it was a handy place to store coins and watch them slowly accumulate interest, something I wasn't used to anymore as my bank account has a 0% interest rate for years now. I think the convenience and the smooth interface kind of nudged me to sleep about the main thing: not your keys, not your money...

Well, consider the lesson learned! I just ordered a Ledger hardware wallet and will be moving all my funds that I- unwisely so- keep at various exchanges into it.


Source

I think like many people I didn't do this sooner because firstly I enjoyed the ease that the platforms gave me, secondly because I didn't know about hardware wallets when I started out in crypto, moving things to it will cost money and lastly, I guess human stupidity means we always think these things will happen to other people, but not to us...

For anyone out there still hesitating: just do it, it will cost you a bit of money, but then you can at least keep your money! Oh and can we stop shaming people please who have money on various exchanges? Millions of crypto users do this and they are not all idiots, just creatures of comfort and habit!

8
$ 1.13
$ 1.06 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @George_Dee
$ 0.02 from @foryoubtc09
+ 1
Sponsors of Plint
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Plint
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

I am considering buying a ledger but I do not have funds for it yet. How much money should you have before buying one?

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It is about $60 to buy the cheapest one

$ 0.00
1 year ago

An important lesson that further illustrates that one should never trust third parties. That's one of the cornerstones of crypto.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

You should be happy and glad that it wasn't your savings or important money. I'm glad you've remedied the situation.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yeah my savings are not in crypto haha, luckily!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Getting a hardware wallet is safe, it is really annoying to fall victim of this crypto issues. You misunderstood my question yesterday on noise, I was actually about Covid recovery.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yeah don't want to lose any more money to corrupt crypto websites! Yeah I saw your comment, must have still been groggy from the covid and misunderstood what your comment was about!

$ 0.00
1 year ago