Thumbs Down for This One

9 30
Avatar for Pichi28
1 year ago

Was a drone used in shooting the majority of its scenes?

That was my question the moment I played the first ten minutes of the movie. I was running out of interest in continuing with the series I started. Yes, yes, that attorney was amazing and amusing plus a killer for whale trivia but like I said most korean novelas really wow me with how long one episode plays. So I decided to give that one a rest and turn in to a movie instead. Somehow I landed on picking, Carter.

Another virus turning people to behave deadly. Not exactly zombie but just violent. "Animal-like behavior" as they say. I was not counting on an awesome story really I just pressed play for the sake of entertainment. And veering away from drama and hoping for some suspense and action.

There was a lot of action, alright. Also a bit political tease of some global dilemma like citing who created the commotion anyway? Was it North Korea? Was it South Korea? Or is it the United States, after all? The writer must have some awareness he or she would like to raise.

Anyway, the film started calm until the camera starts moving around faster than normal movies really go. Haha.

It was dizzying for me. It reminded me of one controversial and famous movie from way, way back - The Blair Witch Project. The film majors who were documenting a local murderer. I remember the film containing mostly faces, nose, drool and a lot of movement. Back then there were no drones so most of the movements were shaky, hand-held footages.

This Carter film, though, loves following the movement of the subjects - zooming and zooming out too fast. Also, with some shake. It shakes specially when it is filming close to fight scenes. If my chair would also be in sync with every shake and blow, I'd think I am in for some Rialto-like experience.

I kept the movie going while doing something else. Good thing, the audio is in English, I do not need to catch up reading subtitles while trying to keep myself from getting dizzy.

The amusing thing in the movie is that Carter is getting instructions from a woman talking through his ears. I kept trying to look into his ears but I can't see an earpiece. So probably implanted. The movie kinda liked that idea, too. Implants. There was a bomb implanted inside his mouth through the back molar.

Entertaining? Yes.

Highly recommend? It is not a super yay for me but I'd say "Yes" to go and watch it for yourself.

It is weirdly action-packed one man against a lot of other bad guys stuff. But if you are watching and not analyzing too much (and you have admired the movie Taken where the hero rarely gets hit) one would not really pay too much care about that.

It is thumbs down for me just because it is dizzying. Other than that, I guess it is fine. Some time in the movie I also thought it is similar to Bourne Identity, too.

It is peppered with fight scenes which you can skip. Up till the ending, endless blasts.


What have you been up to lately?

© Pichi28 | #ClubBrokeBCH

All Original Content

Unless specified otherwise...

4
$ 0.11
$ 0.03 from @Ruffa
$ 0.03 from @mommykim
$ 0.03 from @LykeLyca
+ 1
Sponsors of Pichi28
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Pichi28
1 year ago

Comments

Oh I haven't really seen that movie, I used to watch a lot of Korean novels before, but now I just watch anything I download or someone recommends that I find interesting. Recently, despite the little free time I have I saw a movie that I can recommend to you, although I don't know if you like it or if you have seen it it's called Otherlife, it's not Korean but I think it's pretty good, if you don't like it that's ok, we all have different tastes, I don't know why but that movie came to my mind when I started reading your article. It's not a great movie, but I think it's ok, although there are better ones of course haha Cheers!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That is something to check out. No worries I am curious with mostly any movies people recommend so I appreciate your recommendation and will look for it. Thanks ArteFM!!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ayy totoo na notice ko rin ung shake, cguro manginginom ng kape cameraman hahah! joke! Masyadong ma action dba? Parang acrobatics na nga ung iba eh heheh!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I look for it frenny ngayon ngayon lang. Ang shaky nga nya. Pero I like it kasi action. Buti nakakita ako sa fb. Ma download nga para naman di nalang puro romance napapanood akoy umay na talaga re hahaha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Pichi huhu pinanood ko talaga yung Carter kanina pichi kaso di ko tinuloy dahil ang likot. Nahihilo ako. Sobrang likot kaya di ko nalang tinapos. Baka bukas panoorin ko ulit pichi.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahaha dibaaaa??? Kaloka yun.... Ni quick review ko na lang din ulit.. skipping the dizzying parts.. hahaa. Apir

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oo pichi nahilo ako. 😅 Cge skip ko na lang yung part dun. Nag reklamo talaga ako kanina pichi, talagang binanggit ko sa partner ko. Ang likot. 😅

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kala ko nga tumanda lang ako at di ko lang bet na ng movie hahahaha. Pero ang likot nga talaga. As in na weirdan na ako sa sobrang bilis ng ikot nung camaera nila hahahhaha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hehe. Kahit ako pichi hindi maganda panoorin kasi ang likot. I'm sure yan din napansin ng ibang nanood pichi.

$ 0.00
1 year ago