Channel Surfing : Passive Listening

10 37
Avatar for Pichi28
2 years ago

I did not have Netflix for three days. Technically four. But I did have a tv in my room which I turn on just to have some added noise while I work. There is something about televisions. If they are in front of me and not turned on, I turn them on even though I am not paying attention to what it's showing.

In our place in Manila, we have a television but we do not have cable channels nor do we have local channels. Since most of us are busy and about, getting a box or a cable subscription will not be maximized. My dad got himself acquainted with YouTube during the pandemic and he likes only clips rather than full movies. So if you try to eavesdrop to whatever he is watching to know the story, you will get confused. Or you will only hear endless grunts, shouting, gunshots, etcetera. I told him the TV has a bigger screen and he can watch those in the TVs Youtube. Yet he prefers the screen of his cellphone. Why? Easier navigation. He watches Netflix in the tube but not as much as he YouTubes in his phone.

My mom seldom sits in front of the telly. She'd be in zoom most likely or facebook. She'd join dad if she gets hooked. She doesn't like getting hooked though. She says it eats up a lot of time.

Sponsors of Pichi28
empty
empty
empty

And me? I am satisfied with whatever im watching on Netflix lols. I get out of my room to pull myself away from work. So as much as possible I watch Netflix on the TV and not on my personal laptop which is also in my room.

Anyway, as I was saying about the TV in the room in this place I'm staying in for three days now. I suddenly have a variety of channels to choose from. Pressing that "+" on the remote had that satisfying feeling. The only "+" and "-" I press in Manila was for volume. Hehe.

I noticed, however, I stop pressing the plus button when I pass by the channels with sermons. Then I just let them talk in the background. Which is also cool. The reason I came to the province early, anyway, was to have time for myself, time with God and also not have that travel stress during the grand yearly exodus. In less than a month, I would be electing a president (or not) who will be leading us for the next six years so I need this time also to pray for that day.

So I leave it be where it is and carry on with work. Twice though, the speaker would catch my attention and make me look up. Their statements seem to speak to me. Oh make that three times...

One was that of Steven Furtick's Be Brave sermon or something. I cannot find the clip. So let's skip that part of putting in clips. Anyhow, he goes, there is a reason why God tells you to put on the armour of God because everyday there is a battle you need to prepare for.

Another one was from Joyce Meyer when she was asking how is your relationship with Jesus. She asked, are you attached or committed?

Then there's one from Joseph Prince regarding bearing fruit. I think maybe he started with excellence. He took John 15 and emphasized the words

ABIDE (stick close?) .. FRUIT.. MORE FRUIT AND MUCH FRUIT

And he says this applies even in your secular work.

Bits and pieces of passive listening proves to be ... Uhm... Fruitful.

Has it ever happened to you? Like while doing something suddenly any media starts to catch your attention. It is like it starts to speak to you and it knows, somehow, what is in your head?

Or has a radio station or a television program suddenly felt like it is talking to you?


What is your story?

© Pichi28 | #ClubBrokeBCH

All Original Content

Unless specified otherwise...

11
$ 6.47
$ 6.16 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @mommykim
$ 0.05 from @Idksamad7869
+ 6
Sponsors of Pichi28
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Pichi28
2 years ago

Comments

Our family also prefer to see YouTube on their cell phones because everyone of us have their different choice of watching movie and clips

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wala na time manood kahit nga news minsan di na makapagfocus. Pag nagpplay ako ng music, di ko din talaga napapakinggan na un ang focus ko. Background lang talaga siya. May mga times na un song bigla na lang may mas effect that time siguro dala na rin ng sitwasyon or state ng emotion that time kaya mas affected.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Biglang nag coconnect no? Husay din pumickup ng brain natin ng soundtrack of the day eh ... Haha

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oo din. Kahit wala naman sa mood mag drama e haha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also did a lot of plans on what to watch and read during this break but I can't seem to get to watch even one because I was busy tending with the kids and with some church activities... good thing also about being at home is we get to bond and reflect also

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Uu sulitin mommy k!!! Daming ngiti ka nyan tiyak!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I get distracted when i do something on my laptop and watch the tv .. we don't have tv at home, i mean in our condo unit in the city but in our parent's house there's one

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ako keri i drown out.. tapos bet ko din yung comforting silence after patayin. Yung biglang tahimik paligid hahaha...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That is awesome sis. During the early months of pandemic, I usually listen to Michael Todd, then came my work, I unconciously moved astray from Him. I rarely understand the sermon of the pastor on a Sunday even when I am just facing him and doing nothing else.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Aww mura. I gotta look him up Michael Todd.. Di bale at least na trace mo kung san yun start ng pag "stray" ... Praying you have sweet time with Jesus again sis !!

$ 0.00
2 years ago