October: A month to be remembered

2 12
Avatar for Philipmax
2 years ago

Getting into the month of September was a really wonderful month in its own right, I mean if we are not too ungrateful ( for those in one faith or the other), we can always tell that it's not by our own personal care of thought or dealings that we make it to a new day. The month of October was kind of a roller-coaster (with a lot of down-drive). There was a lot of good days, and a lot more not so good days. It was really hard to stay strong through it many turmoils.

One thing about September that got me though is the sudden awareness and sense of danger a lot of people in my country seem to suddenly have. It's not like this is the first time I have noticed this, it just gets me all the time, how people honestly believe that the 'ember' months ( September, October, November and December ). Like a lot of developing countries, there's is a good amount of superstition in Nigeria. A lot of Nigerians ( at least those that have thought of things beyond the physical ) honestly believe the chances of someone been harmed or dying is higher by far in the 'ember' month ( nonsense, yes? ).

I don't know. From a business point of view, it makes sense. If truly there's God and devil, good and evil, I expect that the same way businesses try to shore up sales during the last months of the year, the spiritual being been in competition might be doing same.. Well, I'm grateful for September, more so for making it to October ( did I mention October is a special month for Nigerians? Yea it is, it's Nigeria's independence day. The government declares a public holiday, rolling out of drums, the whole musical set, cliche speeches from every public figure and so on).

As usual, folks are already drawing up all sort of plans for the month of October, devising mean to get them fulfilled, but personally I'm getting quite adverse to the whole idea of a solid plan, because in the event one doesn't fulfill those plans, especially if they already were reasonably modest, it can be quite depressing. The idea of living on the go or might I say going with the flow, is beginning to seem more appealing. There are those who are of the school of thought that living that way is a recipe for failure, or a lack of belief in one's self to pursue and fulfill one's goal.

There are those who would argue otherwise. It can easily be seen as a 100% belief in one's ability to navigate life fully, no matter the twist and turn. Well, I don't know about you, I think I do a little of both this month( have a number of modest and achievable goals, so I can go with the flow without fear of not meeting up, get the idea?). This month is a month I will remember because it is going to set the standard for how the remainder of the year is going to be like for me.

My goals for the month are quite, let's say essential. It all centers around three things;

1. Raise enough funds to cover my (mostly academic) financial obligation.

2. Actively develop my writing skills by writing regularly on read.cash (maybe say, at least 20 articles this month)

3. Develop my spiritual and mental health( God knows I need it. All thanks @princessbusayo for reminding me through one of her articles)

That's really it. I have a good feeling about this month. I'm sure people are usually more specific for it to be a plan, but I'm just going to work with this, see how it goes. It sure is going to be one very short month.

3
$ 0.02
$ 0.02 from @Kushyzee
Avatar for Philipmax
2 years ago

Comments

Despite those superstitions, but I still think one should have a blast in this month cos life is too short to procrastinate. As for those goals they sound pretty achievable to me so I think you can do it!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The legendary ember months, the period when different entities require large amount of blood so they can end the year with a bang 😆 some of those superstitions can be really crazy sometimes.

$ 0.00
2 years ago