Life In Lagos City...(3)

6 24
Avatar for Phantastic
1 year ago

Few minutes later, the rough looking guy exclaimed 'mu owo re', I was just looking at the portable look alike.  I no dey understand you, I said. Oga gimme money, no dey look me like tolotolo" he said. I quickly dipped my hand inside my pocket.

unsplash.com

Wonderful! Merciful God!!! I exclaimed.  I wasn't with my transport fare and I wasn't ready to be embarrassed by this rude looking conductor.  I lowered my voice to ask him if they would accept the transfer. He nodded his head. When I removed my gadget to make the transfer, he quickly snatched the phone from my hand.  'Eh, God! What's your problem, make me do the transfer na,' I said with a mixed voice.  All this while, all other passengers had left except one beautiful lady. She just stood watching everything that happened. 

'se were, funmi ni owo, o fe fi han mi pe o ni fu ni..ti mo ba tunfun e ni foonu yii eh' he shouted.  Now everyone had gathered to watch the little drama between me & the conductor. He was still ranting, when someone tapped me from behind, I turned and it was the beautiful lady, we boarded the bus together. "She handed me five hundred naira To pay for my fare. At first, I didn't want to collect. How will a whole jagaban collect money from a lady eh. But the thought of this rough looking man going with my phone, made me accept the offer. I handed the money to him. 'You no dey shame, na woman pay money For you' he said while handing  my phone and balance to me. I collected, turned to tell her thank you but she was nowhere to be found, as everywhere was busy.

I thanked my stars and left, looking for a POS point since I didn't want to be embarrassed again. Lucky enough I saw one and moved to the attendant. I told him about my ordeal and he gladly helped. I was still wondering why he will be so nice to a stranger, and I waved it off with the notion he was just doing his business. Maybe I was wrong or maybe not. I began my tour around Ojuelegba. Funny enough, the road was crowded. So each picture I take, I will find one stranger looking at my camera or making a funny face in my picture. Wonderful! Merciful God, so if my wallet falls down now, I can't pick it up again o. I said to myself.  While trying to figure out my next destination, someone tapped from behind. 'Hi, am Ayomide,  sorry for what happened to you earlier today' she said while giving me that killer smile. I never knew smiles were contagious until I saw her smile. 

It's ooooooook, thanks for helping, I added, after a series of stammering. 'Seems you are new in this area' she added. Her voice crippled my cerebral hemispheres, how was I to lie before an angel. 'Yes, am new, I came to visit my Uncle that stays in Surulere. He has three children, two females and a male. He works with the United Bank of Africa as the Assistant Manager. His wife is a nurse at Lagos University Teaching hospital. I said all this while looking at her face. But Yoruba ladies, can be so beautiful. Don't argue with me, before Jagaban will lose himself describing what doesn't matter to a lady I just met, then I knew my ATM pin wasn't safe. She just smiled and told me, a little about herself, while we stroll to a sit out she said was down the other side of the road. 

I was still struggling to pass in the crowded road but she was already waving from the other side, maybe because she was slim or just used to it. As for me, I was taking my time, because the way the crowd was, someone might even pull your trouser and run with it without you noticing. Finally, I was at the other side of the road with Ayomide. She lead me to an eatery down the road. 

As a gentleman, I told her to place her order before I did, she ordered for fried rice and chicken with a bottle of yoghurt and I also made same order.  It was lovely watching her eat, I pleaded with her to take some shots, which she accepted.  Within 2 seconds, the pictures were already on my instagram, 'Meet Ayomide my new found lover' I had series of comments and reactions. I really felt like a celebrity. Finished eating, we stayed a little longer, she told me a lot about herself . She is from Ile Ife inOsun State, Studies Law at the University of Lagos. Loves swimming, dancing and singing. Her favorite color was gray just like mine. Seems we shared a lot of things in common because I also liked singing and my favorite color is gray. She smiled. Her phone rang and it was time to go, her mom needed her to run an errand for her. 

After settling the bill, we stood up and left. I brought out my phone to get her digits and the notification that popped up, sent an electric shock down my spine, as I couldn't believe my eyes. "Wonderful, merciful God, this boy has killed" I screamed. Everyone thought I was mad as i ran pushing people to get to the other side of the road, at that point I lost memory of Ayomide.

to be continued…..





3
$ 0.06
$ 0.03 from @Princessbusayo
$ 0.02 from @Kushyzee
$ 0.01 from @Kacy01
Sponsors of Phantastic
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Phantastic
1 year ago

Comments

🤣🤣🤣 I couldn't stop laughing at this your story about Lagos. Na who get mind fit stay Lagos oo. That city isn't for the fainted heart. I hope Ayomide didn't finish your money? 😅😅😅

Well, I would agree, we Yoruba ladies are just too beautiful 😋😋

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's an undisputed fact trust me, you are all too beautiful. It wasn't Ayomide that made me ran away😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I've visited Lagos only once and I can't forget the troubles and struggles I passed through. Imagine arriving at lagos at night when I don't know the location of where i was going to. Only God

$ 0.00
1 year ago

So how did you survive 😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This was a very funny article 😂 Lagos is no place for gentlemen, if you want to survive then you have to be crazy like its the people living there. Just two weeks of me living in Lagos and I turned to agbero, I learnt how to drag bus seat and hang on to a moving bus like spiderman 😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That one follow, really not a place for gentlemen

$ 0.00
1 year ago