Change Your Mindset But Not Your Goal

15 79
Avatar for Phantastic
1 year ago

Instead of worrying about what you cannot control, shift your energy to what you can create.” – Roy T. Bennett

unsplash.com

Once Upon a time in the city of Lancistium, They lived with a young orphan, her name was Rachael. She lost her parents at a very tender age, so was made to stay with her aunt.  Her aunt had two children who were both older than Rachael, everyone loved her.

She wasn't enrolled in school yet because she was underage, but was always keen on listening to gist about school from her cousins. They were nice people, so they told her everything, including the difficult part about studying. She got to know how nobody ever got an 'A' grade in Mathematics which made her dread the subject even before she was admitted. She developed hatred for mathematics without knowing what it was, to her it was the toughest subject and nobody ever made it.

Two years later she was enrolled in school, she still nursed the mindset of mathematics being a difficult subject to pass.  She performed well in other subjects but when it comes to mathematics she always had a bad result. 

She was called by her counsellor, who congratulated her for her incredible performance but questioned her about her poor mathematics grade. She was so open with the counsellor and told her about her fear of 5 years.

The counselor smiled and gave her words of encouragement, advising her to let go of her fears, and put in the same effort like she did in other subjects. She headed to the advice and her performance in mathematics improved. She graduated with the best grade ever recorded since the creation of her school. 

unsplash.com

She delivered the valedictory speech during her graduation, she spoke about many things, the struggles and challenges every student faces. Expressing gratitude to everyone and mostly to the school counselor. Her last statement was powerful, ' Have always wished to be the best in all my endeavors, making sure I dot my I's and cross my t's where necessary, before I began studies, I was told of how difficult passing mathematics was, And I went with the mindset. I had outstanding grades in other subjects except for mathematics. I had to change my mindset about the subject and not my goal as I have always wanted to be the best. Today, I am happy to tell everyone I made it through mathematics.

The story above explained the concept of failure beginning from our mindset. Our thoughts have a big influence on our goals and it is likely the failure encountered might not be as a result of you not putting in your best, but because of your approach to the matter at hand.

It is not possible for me to get this job, my qualifications are way too low and this tints our composure and self esteem, forgetting that an employee might access other qualities like composure, self esteem and how lovely you are. But here you are being robbed of a job due to your low qualification, which wasn't a necessity.

Sponsors of Phantastic
empty
empty
empty

In relationships, our mindset could also affect our choice of a partner. Thinking you are not good enough or has all it takes to be in a relationship. Most people allow their physical appearance to limit who they talk to. I have a friend who is physically ugly, but never ashamed to talk to any lady, and guess what! His girlfriend is the most beautiful amongst our girlfriends. How did he achieve that, he changed his mindset from looking outward to looking at his worth inwardly. What you can give to a relationship shouldn't be all based on material things and physical appearance. Think again, what other gift do you have, oh! I am a funny type, I can sing, I am a great dancer, I am a perfect story teller, I will intoxicate your mind with my poetry. These are all amazing features you could use to capture the mind of any lady and not just your physical appearance or how much money you've got.

As a teacher what mindset do you have about your students ? They are too stubborn and dull. None of them wants to learn even when I followed your first article about changing my tactics to achieve my desired goal. Oh no! It's possible you changed your tactics but not your mindset. Being free with them doesn't stop you from writing them off in your mind. It is only when you are able to change your mindset that the tactics used, could work, aside that you will still get the same result.

Whatever sphere of life we find ourselves in, we really need to change the way we see things especially when we see them in a negative way. Change your mindset and experience tremendous results in your goals. 

Do have a memorable day.. 

Lead image edited using canva

5
$ 0.68
$ 0.64 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @Kushyzee
$ 0.01 from @Freedom007
+ 1
Sponsors of Phantastic
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Phantastic
1 year ago

Comments

Yes, I am inspired with the quote, you dropped at the beginning of your article. It gave me strength, sort of. And, it encouraged me to look for my passion and my strength and focus on it.

Welcome to Read Cash!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you so much sister.. Am happy you stopped by

$ 0.00
1 year ago

My pleasure...are you on the whatsapp groups too?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nope.. Would have love to be added..can you do that for me ?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Drop your number...here...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

08065818617

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Aren't on whatsapp group with Olawale abi Olawalium

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I love to read motivational articles. I must say I'm inspired by read ur article. Yes we have to change our own mindset.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Am happy you are inspired

$ 0.00
1 year ago

People easily get influenced by the opinion of others. Just because everybody is saying something is difficult doesn't mean they are right, what matters is your opinion after you have approached that problem with an open mind. I usually test things for myself even when people swear with their life that it's impossible, I don't rely on hearsays and will rather attempt that task to see if I can be successful, and sometimes I will realize it isn't as difficult as people think

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I call such people exaggerators.. And am always ready to dare the challenge

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's really a lovely quote, before I saw the quote what I do think was that avoid anything you can't control but I wasn't aware of shifting the energy to what you can create... Lovely write up by the way

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you bro..I appreciate

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It was stated in the Bible book that a man becomes what he thinks. What feed your thought with is what you become. That's why we are always admonished to fight negative thoughts in us

$ 0.00
1 year ago

on point bro... But most times you know our minds do play pranks on us...

$ 0.00
1 year ago