Introvert

8 26
Avatar for Phamous21
3 years ago

It was a beautiful morning on the 14th day of March of the year 2002. I woke up to the reality of finally starting my secondary education. My body was overrun with emotions. The prospect of meeting new friends got me motivated as I had learnt from my older ones that secondary school was the beginning of reasonable education. I was to start school the next day.

As the Lord would have it , Monday the 15th of March came as I hurriedly prepared for school. I boarded the school bus, only one little issue bothered me, I was an introvert. The reality of having to mix up with a crowd of people, answer questions in large halls dawned on me, all my excitement gradually turned to worry.

The school bus finally arrived at school I alighted and was shown to my classroom. Everything was finally happening as the class teacher got everyone to introduce themselves, it seemed an easy task for all the other students as they quickly identified themselves one after the other, when it got to my turn I was so stiff as I struggled to spell out my name 'frank'. It was break time as all the other students looked for playmates, I sat all by myself not wanting to associate but it was a large school and many students came around and left but one stayed behind , his name was Steve, a tall and handsome boy who tried and succeeded in starting a conversation with me. We clicked and instantly became friends.

My friendship with Steve continued to strive as I worked on my communication skills, albeit in failure. Each day I came back from school, I would do my chores and head for my room and lock myself up. A part of me just didn't crave relationship with others. That became my routine that I hoped to change but didn't succeed.

This continued for years as I graduated from secondary school with only a solitary friend. Steve became a brother, he was the only person I communicate with effectively apart from my family. I sought help from many therapists my family where able to get for me but to no avail. It seemed this problem was born with me and was equally going to die with me. It was frustrating.

University time came and I wrote the entry exam and passed. It was now time to play in the big boys league, this represented a new life for me, a life of freedom, respect, and the rare opportunity of having a romantic relationship with the opposite sex. One thing was certain, I was going to miss my friend Steve as he also got admission into a different university.

In my first day in the university, I realized I must mix up if I am to come out of this race victorious. While in the university, my communication and association surprisingly improved thanks to the various group assignments and endless seminars on boosting confidence. My education at this point wasn't rosy but I felt fulfilled as I had exceeded my expectations. My first year results where impressive.

Presently it's the year 2010 , I'm in my second year in the university, I'm still reserved but happy.

Sometimes I look up in the sky and wounder if there are other people in different parts of the world who have had similar experiences. I'm at peace with who I am. I'm an 'introvert'.

4
$ 0.69
$ 0.69 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for Phamous21
3 years ago

Comments

Nice post

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I know a lot of people who were detained during school, closed vases, not able to communicate. However, as with you, communication with other people has improved over the years.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I listened to a smart man on a show a long time ago. In the conversation with him, the presenter also touched on the issues of extroversion and introversion, to which he replied that a person, by nature, spends the first half of his life as an extrovert, the second as an introvert, or vice versa.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

On March 11, 2002, I gave birth to a son. Very close date. Good article 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice post

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you

$ 0.00
3 years ago