The Importance Of Having Friends In Our Lives

16 34
Avatar for Peter-Molnar
2 years ago

When I talk about friendship, I talk about true friendship. You may know many people, you wish were friends, but there comes a time when you have to realise, who your true friends are. Friendship is a very important and precious thing to have in our lives. Good and true friends should always be cherished, because besides being happy and cheerful, they can also provide selfless help anywhere and anytime. We need them even when we are on our own paths and have families of our own. A true friend remains a true friend for a lifetime.

Image Source: Unsplash via Chang Duong

What I Have Realised Recently

I have been trying to organise my old photos, both physical and digital, to make them tidy. They shouldn't be a mess. Just as I don't like clutter around me, I don't like clutter on my computer either. So the point is, I got hold of some photos of an old group of friends. Those memories were captured more than 20 years ago. We spent a lot of time together. I have very good memories and experiences of that time. Parties, holidays together, going to the beach, fooling around and all that kind of things.

As I looked at the pictures, I wondered where they had gone and why we were not in touch. So it wasn't a real, lifelong friendship. At least it seemed like it to me at the time. I left my homeland. I moved not only from home, but also from the country, but that is no reason for a friendship or any other kind of relationship to cease to exist. After all, even though I don't live at home, I still have friends from my childhood. I tried to find the answer to all of this, because there was no conflict between us at all.

Possible Inherent Causes

I think the answer to the problem can be found by starting with the following question, as it is difficult to judge correctly which direction a relationship will take from the beginning.

Image Source: Unsplash via Melissa Askew

Are They Showing Their True Face To Us?

If they are not showing their true face, then it is difficult to determine if they are selfless and disinterested in wanting to be friends. What we can see and experience is their selflessness in helping us when we are in trouble. A friendship is not only a friendship in good times, but also in times of trouble.

In addition to this one thing, it is also worth considering the following questions to help you judge the nature of the friendship that is forming.

  • What Are Your Friends Like?

What do you notice about your current friends around you? If you think about it more deeply and you are more circumspect about them, you may find, that many of them are just being nice. They may just be spending time with you out of boredom.

  • Do You Have True Friends?

Are there any of your friends, who are always there for you when you're in trouble? Say your car breaks down in the middle of the night 100 kilometres away from home and you call them to help you. Would they go without a second thought?

  • Who do you miss? Do they miss you?

If you miss any of your friends, that is already a good sign, because it means, that you would gladly spend your precious time with them and you know, it would not be wasted. If the same person or peope feel the same as you, then it definitely worth to go out and have good times together.

  • What Is It That Binds You Together?

If you have a bond with your friend in your personal life, it could be anything. Your first memory or experience together, that you talk about a lot or you can thank a lot to them and you know each other's family too, then it could mean, that your friendship is not superficial and it could be a long lasting one if not a lifelong one.

  • Do You Have Disinterested Conversations?

Disinterested conversations could also mean a lot, because you know that any time you talk on the phone or meet them, there will be no reason for the conversation or meeting that is in their best interest. The most common reason for this is none other than to borrow money.

  • Do They Care About You And Do You Care What Happens To Them?

If your friends got aware of that something happened to you either bad or good news and they call you up to ask what happened exactly to find out more in order to help you out or get excited with you. You can be sure, that they actually care about you. Also if they know and never forget anniversaries like your birthday for example.

Who Are Your True Fiends

Image Surce: Unsplash via ๐Ÿ‡ธ๐Ÿ‡ฎ Janko Ferliฤ

Knowing who your true friends are and who your superficial friends are, think again about these questions mentioned above and you will find out. Unfortunately, sometimes human relationships need to be cleaned up and tidied up so that everything is in order and you don't have people in your circle of friends who might take advantage of you.

Unfortunately, for many of us this can cause psychological problems, especially if it turns out, that a friend you trusted and helped a lot without reciprocation has turned against you.

I think most true friendships are made in childhood and last the longest, even a lifetime. I've been lucky enough to have friends like that for over 30 years. Even if we don't talk for a long time, there's nothing wrong with that and we are not questioning each other's whereabouts.

I hope you too have at least one true friend, who you can trust blindly.

If so where, when and how did you meet? What memories do you have? I am looking forward to see, if there is any true friendships out there.

11
$ 18.35
$ 17.38 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.50 from @wrabbiter
$ 0.10 from @Ruffa
+ 7
Sponsors of Peter-Molnar
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Peter-Molnar
2 years ago

Comments

I still have friends from my adolescence when I started to have friends, at least I have one. Then in my senior years I met others and I have two more and then in college I made others. We maintain communication although it is not constant when we do it, we tell each other about the many things that have happened. You don't need to be in communication all the time if when you do you spend quality time together. Friends exist, they are few, but they exist.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That is true. It is the case with my friends. When we meet we have a lot to talk and a lot to do.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't consider myself having that someone who'll be a real friend to me. Though I have really close ones, I know I am the least favorite. ;)

At least i have Jesus Christ <3

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, Jesus loves everyone of us.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No one is an island. We always need a friend, in bad times or good times :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's true. Imagine you have a friend and after some decades you both look back on some photos. Good memories.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have different set of friends in High School and in College but, we don't really get in touch with each other. The time that we finish our school that's also the time our closeness ends. It's sad because I also miss them but I am too shy to ask for them or even chat with them. I feel like we are a thousand miles away ๐Ÿ˜•

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It happened to me too. I made lots of friends, but it seems like they are friends until we work or study together, then everybody goes their own way. Contacting with people today is easier than ever. There are so many different ways to do that for free. So there is no excuse why not, but they don't.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's just sad that we had lot of friends before but now, we have no one ๐Ÿ˜•

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes it is sad. A big change happened in the world in the past decades. People started to meet less and less and they started to maintain their connection online, which is so sad. Also many of them made new friends and started to forget about the old ones.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When I was younger, I always value this sense of belongingness which makes me validate myself as a person. However, as I matured, I learned to value myself more and having a lot of "friends" doesn't really matter. Just one true friend and I'm all good โค

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is like having quality rather than quantity. I can count on one hand how many friends I have. The rest are gone. I don't really mind. I am happy with my very few good friends too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exactly what I meant. ๐Ÿ˜ That's so heartwarming.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I did have a lot of friends but only a few can be called 'true friends'. Not everybody of them will show up to you when you're down. So as I mature, I slowly go away from those whom I called good-for-nothing friends.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That is exactly what I am talking about here. You see you will have a more enjoyable life without those who could bother you in any way. Thank you reading and commenting.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's worth the read anyway ๐Ÿ˜Š

$ 0.00
2 years ago