The Haunted Ones (Chapter One)

23 34
Avatar for Peter-Molnar
2 years ago


The Invisible Man

I was driving towards Hazelburgh, when my car unexpectedly broke down. It seems like I am stuck in the middle of the nowhere as I cannot see anyone around, who could help me to get out of my trouble. Suddenly a bright light appears in front of me and I hear someone shouting at me:

-Are you okay? Are you okay?

- Yes!

I immediately run towards the bright light and start approaching it with all my strength. I hoped there is somebody to help me out. Suddenly I feel an invisible hand grabs me from behind and throws me to the ground. I crawl back to my car and lock myself in it immediately. I cannot see who could be attacking me, but I feel very uneasy and scared inside the car.

"Somebody help me out of here!" I shouted. I use my phone to call the nearest gasoline station and ask for help. I tell them, that my car has broken down and ask them to send a tow truck to pick me up. I also tell them about the bright light and the invisible attacker.

"Please be careful when you come, there is an invisible attacker following me."

We don't think, there is such invisible attacker there. They replied and hang up. I start the engine again, but it does not respond and I feel a horrible smell coming from the engine. "Oh my God." I pull out my phone and call the station again.

"I need help immediately!" I told them in fear.

Sorry, but I already told you we don't think we can help you, goodbye. I lose my temper and scream at them: "My life is in danger!" The operator hangs up! It seems like the operator has not even heard me. I can't take it anymore and start banging the phone against my head. I want to die. Why me? "No I am not going to die!" I start hitting the phone again and again until my fists are bleeding.

I can hear laughter outside, but there is nothing funny about it. I look at myself and realize, that I am laughing at the situation too. I don't know what is funny at this point. Why did I even make myself bleeding? What is happening to me? I start hitting and punching the phone again, and at the same time I am hearing a deep voice saying: "I am coming to help you."

Is a person really here? I can hear footsteps outside, and the smell of gasoline is getting stronger. I start banging the door as hard as I can and screaming at the top of my lungs. Is there anyone who can help me? Suddenly the door opens, and there stands a guy wearing a black hoodie. He does not look very tall, but he is wide as hell. He gets into my car and says: "Here, I found this on my way here." He hands me a map.

-What is this map all about?

-I tell you later.

It seems like the gas cap was opened recently. You could have set yourself on fire, you know. I want to get out of here. Alright, alright, I am here to help you. I think I saw a flashing light a couple of miles ahead. The man says. Is there a police station around there? I asked. No, but you should pull over and let the cops handle it. My car will not move. We should let the cops know about this situation. The police car approaching. Stop the car! Shouted the man. OK, but I am not sure if they will believe me. Who won't? The man shuts me up as he stops the police car.

What's going on here? asks the cop. Listen, the car is haunted. The cop laughs at me. Yeah, right. He is serious, I just saved this man's life. He was so in need. Said the man. There was an invisible attacker. The cop starts laughing even harder. Ok, I will help you out, but only because, you are so sure, that your attacker was invisible. I was sure. The cop wasn't. Do you think I am crazy? No, but I am not sure, why you would think, that a ghost would try to hurt you. I am telling the truth. Alright, but I still don't see what this ghost has to do with the car. Nothing, it has to do something with me. I just escaped back to my car after it took me down from out of nowhere. It was a bright light in front of me. That's how it all started. Are we getting out of here?

Yeah, let's get out of here. You both get out of the car and get into the police car. It seems as if the gasoline has evaporated, but the smell of it lingers in the air. Says the cop. Look my car is moving! I am sure it is the invisible man. Let's follow it for a while and see where it goes, then. Your car stands still. It is not moving anywhere. It is not only broken down, but there is no gasoline in there. Says the cop. I must be crazy. Nah, you are not crazy. You just have a strong imagination. How do we repair my car now? The cop shakes his head and bursts into laughter. I don't know, but you are in good hands. Do you know this guy with the black hoody? No answer from the police man.

I am going back to the police station right away. OK, but what are you going to do? What am I going to do? Nothing, but you can fill out a self-reporting incident form. Why? I am not dealing with this. Anyways have fun with your car. You might need it again in the future. Thanks. I think I will. Have a nice night officer. You too. As I get into my car and tried to start my engine once more a miracle happened. It started. As I drive off, I notice that the gas tank indicator is on a very low level. Oh well, there are stations to fill up somewhere along the way.

So what is this map about? I asked the man. The map is about a terror, that happened here almost twenty years ago. It shows all the places the killers were caught and killed. I knew, that I am not crazy. I said. I knew it too. I know much about this terror. The killers come back as ghosts along certain areas and try to get revenge on innocent people. So this map shows you where not to go. Explained the man. And how come my car started? The ghost made your car stopped. It was not broken down just stopped. They disappear immediately, when other people turn up. Once they are gone everything goes back to normal. Once we filled the tank, we can head northward to a town called Kenosha. It is not that big of a place, but there are more than a few buildings left from the 'Historic Core', as it's being called.

End of chapter one.

Lead Image source: Unsplash


9
$ 11.36
$ 10.79 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @gertu13
$ 0.10 from @eommaZel
+ 8
Sponsors of Peter-Molnar
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Peter-Molnar
2 years ago

Comments

Having an imaginary scene of all the moments in my head haha, I would freeze to death if some unseen hands grabs me.

Heading straight to the next chapter 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's great. Me too. Thank you. I hope you will enjoy it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

How scary. But I don't understand why the cops are hesitant if there is already a history of these ghosts coming out there.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hmm good question. Meybe they don't want to involve in such cases.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well it's a scary one

And this remind me i also promised for horror series which i only wrote first episode of it and i forgot so thanks for reminding me and waiting for more horror stories from your side

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Go for it. It is fun to write stories. Imagination has no limit. Thanks for taking your time. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hmmm, what if the the black hooded man is actually the one who's you know 🤔. I'm excited for what's gonna happen next 🤩

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That would be a good twist in the story line. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So scary man but thank God the black hoodie man came to your rescue. If not, who knows what could have happened to you. Even the cops do not believe you 🤔

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe happends what I want to happen. Lol. That's the beauty of writing. No limit.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is a scary one. This could be a thrill moments. I can't wait for the next....

God bless you sir...🙏

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks. I am working on part 2 now. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can't wait to read the part 2 sir....❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am glad you liked it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes.. thank you sir. .

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I wouldn't want to be in that situation. That's scary.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe don't go to a ghost town.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Good thing we don't have ghost towns her. There are lots of haunted houses though :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh my... how do you know? Experienced something?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Gosh, my anxiety while reading this one.. Thankfully it's daytime here right now. Gosh.. Waiting for part 2..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I wrote it in night time. Lol. I enjoyed it. Thanks more parts coming soon.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh, you did not get scared? Ypu're strong! I am a weak-hearted when it comes to horror stuff. I still read them though. LOL

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I did not get scared no. I am ok with horror, but not a huge fun of it though.

$ 0.00
2 years ago