The 7 Most Common Empty Promises We All Hear

10 37
Avatar for Peter-Molnar
2 years ago
Topics: Blogging, Blog, Promises

We hear empty promises all the time. The most common empty promises you hear all the time seem harmless and might even be said to sound like they'd be helpful in some way. But when someone makes you a promise that is likely not going to happen, or at least is highly unlikely, it can lead to disappointment and if this happens repeatedly, it can damage your relationship with that person.

Nearly everyone has at least one go-to line in their repertoire, that they employ when it's convenient. For example, "I'll get right on that" or "You'll be the first to know." The problem is there comes a time when you actually need to deliver on your empty promises. As hard as it may seem, you have to say no to some things and yes to others.

You've probably heard them all and you've probably even used a few of them yourself! But what are the most common empty promises you all hear and how can you better avoid using them? Here's a quick guide to those seven commonly-used empty promises many of you are guilty of overusing.

Before I start with this list I want to just quickly explain why most people fail to deliver their promises.

Image source: https://www.pinterest.co.uk/pin/99219998013400639/?d=t&mt=login

Reasons Why People Fail To Follow Through

A lot of people make promises, that they never intend to keep. Often times these are made to avoid conflict or avoid a confrontation that might end up being harmful. But when that promise needs to be fulfilled, they end up resenting the other person for putting them in that situation in the first place.

They'll say things like "I'll do it" or "I'll get right on that." And of course, they never do. They might start out doing it, but then they change their mind. Maybe it doesn't sound that important to them and so on.

Then there are people for whom promises are a means of manipulating others. This can be someone who is seeking your help for a specific purpose, or just wanting you to do something on their behalf without really caring about you. They're a lot like the people who don't keep their promises. It's just the nature of the beast.

With that out of the way, let's get to the seven empty promises that you are all too familiar with:

Image source: https://www.pinterest.co.uk/pin/142918988147255662/

1. "I'll Get Back To You"

You've probably already heard them all before. A common opener for any promise that isn't going to happen is the phrase "I'll get back to you." The person saying it is using it as an opener for their own convenience. Most likely they have no intention of following through with the promise.

Examples:

"I'll email you about it."

"I'll have a response for you by the end of the week."

"I'll call you when I'm done."

The reason why they use this opener is because, for whatever reason they feel like imparting, they want your help. They don't really care if you help them or not. It's just a way for them to seek your attention without seeming like they're being needy.

2. "I'll Do It Right Now"

This is a very common promise to hear. A lot of times it'll follow things like "I'll get right on that." The person saying it doesn't intend to follow through with the promise at all. They're just using it as a way to gain your attention and to end the conversation.

Examples:

"Let me just go ahead and get that out of the way."

"I'll be looking into it right away."

These are very common in sales conversations and it's no different in the context of keeping your promises. If you need something done and someone says it can be done now then you're better off saying no.

3. "Let's Keep In Touch"

This is a very polite way of saying "I have no intention of doing this." The most common response to this is "Okay, well. I'll just be seeing you then." The other person would be very surprised if they responded in any other way.

Examples:

"I'll stop by to see how you're doing."

"I'll send you an email every couple of weeks."

It's very difficult to take this kind of conversation seriously. It serves only to let the other person know where you stand.

4. "We Can Talk About This Later"

This is the typical response to most conversations, that turn into an argument. The person saying it has no intention of keeping the conversation going if they can avoid it.

Examples:

"I really need to get going."

"Please, just forget that I even mentioned it."

This is another one of those typical responses that can be used in many other situations. Most likely this person has no intention of following through with the conversation and if they do, it'll be only to make the other person forget that they even brought up the subject.

5. "I Need A Little More Time"

This is a very common response, that is given to just about anything that a person wants to do and everything that is asked of them, that they do not want to do or is not something they feel like doing. Most likely, they are not going to do it. It's not worth arguing about.

Examples:

"Just give me a few more days."

"Can't it wait a week?"

Obviously this response is not going to help you at all. It's only intended to put you off without offending the other person. The best thing to do is to change the subject, because it would be a waste of your time to respond to that same old tune over and over.

6. "I'll Pay You"

This is a very strange way of saying "I won't do it." It might be an attempt at negotiating. If so, it's certainly going to fail. The person saying it is not going to change the subject and is probably only going to make things worse.

Examples:

"I'll pay you for your time."

"I'll do it for free."

"I'll do it for the company's good."

These are all attempts at making a deal. The trouble is, the other person doesn't really care about any of those things and so they decline. They may be willing to negotiate other things, but not for money and definitely not for your company's good.

7. "I See You Again Soon"

This is another very common way of saying "I don't need to hear from you ever again." It might be an attempt at ending the conversation. The person saying it doesn't want to talk to you anymore.

Examples:

"I'll be seeing you."

"Okay, then let's keep in touch."

These are all very common ways of ending a conversation and it's no different in the context of keeping your promises. If someone says goodbye, then you'd better believe that they mean it. They may say it in a joking manner, or with a little frown on their face, but if they mean it, then it's only because they don't have a choice.

Have you heard any of them? Is there any other promises, that you have heard?

Thank you for reading.

Created with Canva

6
$ 3.44
$ 3.24 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.07 from @Ruffa
$ 0.05 from @BreadChamp
+ 2
Sponsors of Peter-Molnar
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Peter-Molnar
2 years ago
Topics: Blogging, Blog, Promises

Comments

Okay, then let's keep in touch :(

$ 0.00
2 years ago

haha yes let's do that. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

These are so true....

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I experienced them unfortunately.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

These are the most common promises which we hear almost everyday...Lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes I heard them so many times.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

"I'll do it right now". This is so 'me', promising myself to finish what's needed to be done but ended up doing nothing. Huhu

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh dear sometimes it is hard to do what we have to do. I tend to leave things for the last minute. That is the thing I have to work on more.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

"I'll pay you" is the worse promise I heard. When you badly need the money that you let her borrow but keep on saying that and until now no payback at all.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have seen that too unfortunately. I promised myself, that when it comes to landing money. I just won't. I never see that money back.

$ 0.00
2 years ago