Terrible Twos | Dealing With Tantrums

11 38
Avatar for Peter-Molnar
2 years ago

Being a full time stay at home daddy, looking after my 2 year old daughter, I know exactly how hard it is to manage certain types of tantrums. During this period I have seen and dealt with countless amounts of tantrums. If you have a toddler my tips in this article might help you dealing with tantrums easier.

We think, that being a child is easy and pure bliss. They have nothing to do, no responsibilities, they eat, drink, play and sleep. The life of a child is not easy, in fact it is very difficult. The adults around them, put restrictions on everything and they don't give the child a free hand.

Parents know everything better. They know, what a child should and should not do, they know how a child should and should not behave. The child hears a lot of things like don't do this, don't touch that, don't jump on the bed, don't pick things up off the floor and so on, but the child contradicts everything and if you don't let them do it, they throws a tantrum.

If your beloved child has turned two, get ready for a difficult time. Hence the term "terrible twos". There will often be tantrums. This is because from this age onwards, the child starts to become independent in their own way and they want to solve and achieve everything themselves, which of course they don't manage to do. Their language skills are not yet ready to express what they want, so they can't let us know, and this gives rise to huge tantrums.

What we call tantrum anyway? Different parents call a tantrum on different behaviours. Some call a tantrum when a child is just giving out on something an crying, some call a tantrum, when a child is throwing themselves on the floor with a loud shouting.

Image Source: http://edition.cnn.com/2011/HEALTH/02/21/toddlers.temper.tantrums.parenting/

What Not To Do When A Child Is Having a Tantrum

The most common case is when a tantrum develops, when the child fails to do something after repeated attempts. This is when they become frustrated. It is not their fault, for example, that they fail to put a cube on the top of a triangular toy with the intention, that it will stay on. Of course, it falls off every time and they get frustrated, because they are trying to do the impossible.

The other case is when they try to do something in their exploration, that you really shouldn't let them do, because they could easily get hurt. There are more cases of course, but these are the most common ones. So what we should not do, when a child is having a tantrum.

This Is Not The Time To Educate.

  • During a tantrum, a child gets into a bad emotional state. Trying to explain to them, that they were naughty or wrong about something, will not work, and may even make things worse. But a change of environment can help us. We can take them to another room or even away from home. Distraction takes a big impact on their behaviour. Surprisingly, they fall silent immediately.

Do Not Shout

  • Accept the hysteria in all cases. There is no child, who does not have tantrums. It comes with their age. Don't be tense, nervous, irritable and most importantly don't raise your voice and let them know, that you've had enough of tantrums and that they should stop. Remember, the child is constantly learning from us involuntarily. If we react by shouting angrily, they will learn,that this is the way it is supposed to be in conflict situations.

Do Not Punish

  • Punishment does not help at all. The child often does not know what they want. They can't explain their problems to us, and that can cause tantrums. It is not intentional. Don't leave them alone and don't forbid them to play their favourite game or to watch their favourite story. Tantrums are very difficult to deal with, if we don't know its background. We feel helpless and don't really know what to do. The best thing to do is to give both of you time. Stay in the background, but don't disappear from the child's sight. Tell them, in a calm tone of voice, how much this bothers you. Include a joke. Wait until you both calm down and then you can move closer for a hug.

Do Not Spoil

  • If we know, that the child is being defiant, because they didn't get what they saw in the shop or we didn't take them to their favourite playground this time, don't buy them that particular toy, ice cream or candy just to stop them throwing a tantrum. Yes it will shut the child up, but it's easy for them to take control and get the better of their parents. This is also a danger of spoiling them.

The "No" Era

This period also includes the so called "no" era. The answer to everything is no. Even if it makes no sense. At the age of 2-3 years, the child develops a sense of independence and realises, that they have a will of their own.

Image Source: The Irish Times

What I've noticed and apply is that I don't give my daughter questions to answer with yes or no, because the answer will always be no. Instead, I give her alternatives in which she can make choices, making her even more aware, that I am curious about her opinion.

Some examples of these are:

  • Which top would you like to wear today, red or blue?

  • When do you want to go home from the playground, now or in 10 minutes?

  • Do you want to help daddy with loading the washing machine or would you rather help with hoovering?

These are just my personal experiences and opinions. Each parent decides for themselves what they do and how they raise their child. Of course I cannot and do not want to interfere in this. If I can be of any help, I am happy to do so.

7
$ 23.40
$ 22.97 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @bmjc98
$ 0.10 from @Idksamad7869
+ 5
Sponsors of Peter-Molnar
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Peter-Molnar
2 years ago

Comments

I can relate to this. I have a 1 year old nephew and when he's having his tantrums, he's all out of it. Good thing he's super cute. Lol.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh yes. We cannot avoid their tantrums, but all the cuteness and love they give us make us forget their hard times.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I congratulate you because you make very good decisions. I will try to be a better grandmother than I was as a tolerant mother with my son. There were many punishments on my part for being ignorant of many things and having to be at work all day and then wanting to have peace and quiet at home was really very difficult with my young son.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I understand, that after a long hard day you need nothing else, than a relaxed evening. Unforunately it is not possible if you have children, but you know that. Oh yes children love their grandparents so there you go and I assume, that you have more time now.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am not a grandmother yet and I still work long hours. I hope that when my son finishes his studies I will be able to take a break and then he will give me grandchildren and I will help him with raising them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I guess I am not really good at handling kids, seeing this. I have never experienced baby sitting, though. But my patience with children having tantrums is so limited. I have to practice more. Haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That is right. You need lots of patience with toddlers. I was concidering working in a nursery. Well I have to think twice.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha! Yeah I've been a kid too and I am truly hard to tame! Lmao. Haha. I am sure of it. Haha. But yah, it depends on how parents decisions on how they would they want to grow they're child. Haha. In my case, whenever I wanted something before, I would cry if I did not get it, and my mother would teach me up by getting the hanger and teach me a lesson. Haha. Only in the ph. 😆😆

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh yes. My parents had a hard time with us too. I have a brother so we were double trouble. Some decades ago raising a child was so different, than today. We knew how to behave after a while. Our parents did not have to call the super nanny. Lol. My father was strict, but we learned to behave.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehehe yeah, I've noticed too that my mood gets picked up real quick by my kids.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes it would very easily. It is very hard to stay calm and deal with the situation, but we have to.

$ 0.01
2 years ago