Six Excuses, That Often Said

12 49
Avatar for Peter-Molnar
3 years ago
Topics: Life, Blog, Thoughts, Excuses

I'm sure that you have heard a lot of excuses from people who didn't want to do something, or if you asked them for a favour, they came up with something, saying they couldn't do it for you. In the last year, in the pandemic, there has been a particular increase in the number of people objecting, saying that nothing can be done now, because there are all sorts of measures and lockdowns.

Yes, these are serious things, that cause a great deal of inconvenience, but despite all this, we have not been banned from sport or from walking. You could not make excuses for everything. I thought, that in this article today, I would talk about common excuses, that you may have come across.

I Do Not Know

This may not sound like an excuse for not doing something, but it can be an excuse or strategy for not wanting to do something. People are often able to make themselves look stupid and simply "I don't know" the answer to a simple question, like what do you like to do?

Anyway, if you think about it, this can develop in people from a very young age. Because of impatient parents, if it takes that little child a long time to do something, they often take it out of their hands and the parents do it for them. This is not good in any way.

On the one hand, the child will not develop, and on the other hand, they will realise, that there will always be someone to do it for them, so that by the time they grow up, that will be the answer "I don't know."

I Can't Help It

This statement, that "I can't help it" is nothing more, than a disclaimer. We hear this very often. "Why is it the way it is? It shouldn't be there like that." To this and similar questions, we can get the answer that "I can't help it. Someone else did it, not me."

There is a problem with that. It's not going to solve anything. The unresolved situation remains. It's easy to point the finger at someone else to deflect the blame from ourselves.

The one who caused the problem is no longer there, so they can't fix it at that moment. We still have to, even if we don't like it or think it is unfair. In some cases, the problem may need to be fixed immediately and there is no time to deal with who was at fault.

Image source: https://www.google.com/amp/s/jackfisherbooks.com/2017/04/10/reasons-vs-excuses-why-the-difference-matters/amp/

I Can't Do It

This is probably the most common. It's the easiest thing to say. "I can't do it." There are two possibilities. Either they really can't do it or they claim, that they haven't tried. We hear from children, that I don't like this food. They didn't even try it, but they looked at it and decided, that they didn't want it.

If they can't and don't do it, it's giving up. They may have tried twice and given up the third time. If, on the other hand, they didn't even try, it means they don't want to do it.

But it could also mean, that years ago someone told them not to do it, because they can't do it anyway, and it's not worth bothering with. If they believe, that and live with it, they won't do it. It's the mindset, that needs to change and believe, that they can do it. Then they can do it.

What Others Will Say

Many people are afraid of what others will say, that they might be criticised. I always say, that I don't care what anyone says or thinks about me. I don't care how I look in other people's eyes. I don't care what they say, if I wear my favorite clothes or have a style.

I don't care how anyone thinks or appears. That doesn't mean I don't get along with them, just simply, that why should we interfere in each other's business or habits.

If you're not pursuing your dreams, because you're afraid of what others will say, it doesn't make sense. They probably won't say anything, but if they do, it's just jealousy, that your dream has come true for you, which is not worth bothering with. I mean with the jealousy.

This Is My Karma

I'm not well versed in esoteric and spiritual things, but I do know, that people talk about karma even, when something never works out for them. Their karma won't let them, they say.

Speaking of karma, I can even mention the fortune tellers and constellations, that they too have told them and showed them, that it hasn't been given to them.

I don't think that's entirely true. It may indeed be harder for some people to achieve or do something, but I believe, that nothing is impossible and we shouldn't blame it on karma.

If you are knowledgeable about esotericism and spiritual things, feel free to correct me, if I have this wrong.

Image Source: https://www.dadabhagwan.org/path-to-happiness/spiritual-science/the-science-of-karma/what-is-karma/

I Am Too Afraid Of It

Fear is in every man. It is undeniable. Everyone is afraid of something or someone. Think about the consequences of not doing something, because of our fears. Then what we are afraid of now, will come out and we will realise, that it wasn't so scary, because what comes next is even worse, which is what we really need to be afraid of.

That's true for our health most of all. You know you should go to the doctor, but you're afraid of something. Like the pain you'll feel during the treatment. If you put it off and don't go, later it's bound to be too late and what might have been painless to treat, will now be painful for sure.

One thing to remember is, that the real brave person is the one, who is afraid, but does what needs to be done.

Lead Image Source: https://tinybuddha.com/blog/how-to-say-no-without-feeling-the-need-to-make-excuses/

13
$ 21.80
$ 21.08 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Crackers
$ 0.10 from @Glez
+ 9
Sponsors of Peter-Molnar
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Peter-Molnar
3 years ago
Topics: Life, Blog, Thoughts, Excuses

Comments

Oh, lol, i used to say the word, i don't know to my bf especially if he's asking me 'bout the things that i didn't know but i never thought that it's one form of excuses, thank u for this one, Sir Peter, lol, guess just going to say, dunno

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I think this is a difficult one. If you really don't know how to do something, that should be ok as long as you want to help, but don't know how. At least you show interest in any way you can. That's all you can do or you go ahead and find out how you can help and everybody will be happy.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, Sir, u r right 'bout that n will do what u said or reply here n yes, it's really kinda hard especially if u r really clueless or really don't know what is it as u really don't have any idea 'bout it

$ 0.00
3 years ago

First sorry i was busy from past two days and i missed your articles but i used all excuses except what peoples will say or what they will think I'm not a person like this i do what my heart says and mostly people's stop coz of what peoples will say or think i leaved this thing way behind and doesn't matter what they are thinking and almost used other excuses in life

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You don't have to say sorry. We are all busy. I am behind reading articles too. That's right you are doing the right thing. As long as you enjoy what you are doing why would you listen to other people.

$ 0.05
3 years ago

Haha yes exactly

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow, I unbelievably have used all the excuses you mentioned! You are really something! Anyway, these days, I don't give excuses, i just straight up say No.

I mean, every No doesn't need to be given explanation, right? This article is indeed helpful. I love the part where you emphasized that fear pf doing something is nothing, compared tp the regret of not doing it. Very true and relatable. Thank you so much for this. :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's what it should be. Saying no is very powerful and saves you a lot of time by not doing things that you shouln't do or you not supposed to do. Yes you don't need to give reason for that.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I can't help it and I can't do it is so common especially if the person doesn't want to help. Why I said if they doesn't want to help is because for someone who really want to give something will sacrifice or share no matter how small or inconvenient it maybe if they truly want to help.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Haha I agree, often times or literally covid becomes an excuse.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh yes, now covid can be an excuse for a lot of things. That could be another article about it. :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hehehe yessss :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago