Become A Better Morning Person

30 51
Avatar for Peter-Molnar
2 years ago

There are people, who love getting up early and ready for some exercise, before they start their every day routine. However on the other hand there are people, who hate getting up early in the morning and everything seems to be a hassle. They are slow, grumpy and better not talk to them, until they are fully awake and ready for the day.

If you are a good sleeper getting up is hard. Most people try to sleep in and put off getting up. Many start their day late and not well rested. Being a morning person is more difficult, than it seems. You have to be diligent about your sleep schedule and have a morning routine. Joining a morning exercise program will help you wake up more easily. In this article I am going talk about how to become a better morning person.

Click the image for source

Why Being A Morning Person Is Hard

In addition to all of the ways you can get yourself up and moving, there are some surface level reasons, that get in the way of being a morning person. These are things, that everyone is susceptible to, no matter how much they want to be different.

  • Lack Of Sleep: There is no doubt, that you need to get a good nights sleep before you can fully function. If you don't sleep enough, you're going to feel tired and not be able to jump straight into another day. If you are waking up and not going back to sleep, then you might be a night owl.

  • Aggravating Factors: These might not always be surface level, but they are factors, that can slowly throw you off your routines. Things like having an aggressive boss, that you need to meet, an annoying sibling or an annoying significant other (whether they are aware of it or not). When you have something, that you need to get done in a set amount of time, then it is very difficult to stay focused. These types of things are harder to deal with, when you're tired, so make sure to avoid these types of situations when you can.

  • Constant Routine: Nobody likes a routine. They can be boring and they can sometimes feel like you are doing something, that you don't want to do. This can be true, but if you try to change it up, then your body can start to rebel. Your body is going to expect a routine, so if you want to stick with the changes, then you are going to have to stick with them for the long term.

How To Wake Up Early

Click the image for source

The first thing you need to do is get yourself into a routine. A regular routine that works for you. The best way to do this is by joining an exercise class or workout program. These programs usually include a morning session, where you work out with weights, jump rope, etc. To do this you have to get up earlier so you can hit the gym as soon as possible.

Another great way to wake up early is to listen to music. Music has been scientifically proven to wake you up. Whether it's the steady beat of the music, the lyrical intensity of the song or the full bass sound. All of these things can help you wake up.

Determining When It Is Time To Wake Up

There is a fine line between being productive and just wasting your time, so you need to figure out when it is time to get up. This is different for every person, but there are some general rules of thumb. You will have a natural time to wake up based on your routine. This might be before your body makes its usual morning routine, which means you will have to start your day a little early.

You should also take into consideration the work, that you need to get done. If you know that you are going to be really busy, then you should start earlier. If you know that you are going to have a slow day, then you can sleep in a little. Just make sure, that you are getting the most out of your time while you are able.

The other factor, that you need to take into consideration is your mental status. This is the state of your mind. Some people are naturally more awake, than others. If you know that you are going to have a really busy day, but your mind isn't focused, you could end up getting really tired in a short amount of time, which will make your day even worse.

Developing Morning Routine

The next step towards a productive day is to have a pre-set routine, that you go through every morning. This will set your mind at ease, and get you ready for the day. There are two types of people. Those, who like to get up at a certain time every morning and those, who do not have a set routine. The first type of person needs to get up earlier every morning, so that they can get everything done in a set amount of time. This type of person should set their alarm for an earlier time each day until it becomes their new routine.

The second type of person can get by without a set routine. This is best for students, who need to be up at different times for different classes. Pick a time, that you wake up, and stick to it.

Here is how you can develop your morning routine.

Click the image for source
  • Exercise: You need to start each day with a positive mindset, so you should start off by doing some exercise. Consider joining a gym if you need a larger area to do your activities. Walking or jogging around your house for a half an hour or so, will help get your mind off of things and give you a good start to the day.

  • Eating Breakfast: Your day is going to start with a good breakfast. You need to eat something good every morning to prepare your body for the day. You don't have to follow any special diet, but try to eat some sort of fruit or whole grain product. Avoid eating too much fat before hand, since it can make you sleepy.

  • Preparing Yourself: Your mind is half of the battle, so you should spend some time thinking about the day's tasks before hand. Doing this will help you relax and put yourself in a better frame of mind.

Getting Over The Hump

Once you have a solid routine and you are actually getting some sleep, then the real work can begin. You still have to get over the hump. The first obstacle, that you are going to face is the negative emotions, that are going to start creeping in. These are going to be the feelings of guilt, shame and anger.

  • Guilt: Guilt is probably the most common one, that people experience. They guilt themselves into thinking, that they aren't trying hard enough, or that they should have succeeded. This is one of the biggest mistakes, that people make.

    You are not going to know if you are successful or not. It is just going to happen naturally or it is not going to happen at all. Guilt is a waste of time, and it is going to make you miserable. Stop feeling guilty, because you were longer in bed.

  • Shame: Another common one, and this one is even more destructive. Shame is when you feel like you are not good enough. This might be true in some cases, but it usually isn't. The problem with this is that you start to fixate on it. You think about it constantly, and it drives you insane. A lot of people don't know this, but there is a cure for shame. It's called exposure. The more you think about it, the more you are going to feel it. The best way to get over something, that you are ashamed of is to talk about it to someone else, who has gone through it. It is important to do this with someone, who has experienced it before, but it is also important to do this in a safe environment.

  • Anger: This one is self explanatory. You might be angry at something, that happened in the past, or you might be angry about something, that is happening now. Either way, you have the right to be angry. Don't let anyone tell you, that you shouldn't be angry. The key to getting over anger is to channel it into something constructive in the present. In this case you are angry about the situation, that you are still in bed, but you can use that anger to help you. Channel your energy into continuing to work on your routine, or start taking steps towards changing your situation.

Created with Canva

12
$ 8.68
$ 8.27 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Meyzee
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 6
Sponsors of Peter-Molnar
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Peter-Molnar
2 years ago

Comments

This is my problem as a mom of two kids. I always wake up at 12 noon. I lost the habit already. Maybe when my kids are older, I can have my morning routine... I just subscribed. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you. You see I have a 3 year old one and we have a routine, because we have to go to the pre-school at 9am. So we get up every morning at the same time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice. I have a toddler but because of the pandemic, we can't bring him to a daycare center.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Everything is open here now in the UK. So children centers and nurseries are fully open. I hope you can take him as well as soon as possible. Sitting at home is "killing me".

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Same here in France but there was news that one student got positive so they closed the school. But we try our best to go to the beach.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh my God! Just because of one student. All he or she needs to do is just stay at home for 10 days and it should be fine.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's what happened here. We don't trust the environment now. We actually got hit covid last year so better be safer now.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am not really a morning person but because of work, I tried to be one. But what I really do not like is when it is the weekend, I want to sleep so much but my eyes are accustomed to waking up very early.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is because of your body clock. When you wake up every morning at the same time, your body know you have to wake up.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, that is exactly correct. Our body will also do the same routine every day because it becomes our habit.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I used to set an alarm to wake up early. And the first thing I do is to have a very short prayer and open the bible. Honestly I become lazy these days, the reason why I cannot do morning exercise. But I'll try to manage myself again.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

As a Mother myself, I can be either a morning person or a night owl according to the need of the day 🤣 ... I always advise one thing to people, try to sleep by 10:30 pm max though I do not follow my own advise lol... my parents were very strict about it and I make sure my daughter follows and because of such good practice, she sleeps well and doesn't complain in the morning of dizziness.. great suggestions

$ 0.00
2 years ago

As for me, I'm a morning person because Mom has a store and I'm required to woke up early because I'm the one who opens it. Even if I really want to stay in my bed longer, huehue. But I'm used to it and waking up early is actually good.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes it is very good for us. I noticed if I stay in bed long in the morning I will not be as fresh. I feel more tired. I get up at 7 am.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mine is 5:40 am, too early huehue

$ 0.00
2 years ago

..aw..me I have this late morning routine lols, since I always slept 2-3am in the morning I always wake up late 😁 no matter how I try to sleep early, but I can't. I guess that's my routine already 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh that's so late. I have to get up at 7 am to get my little one ready to nursery so I make sure I sleep enough. Usually I sleep 7 hours.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

..yeah, I always sleep late but once the school year started here I have no choice but change my sleep routine lolz..I have insomnia that's why sometimes no matter how I try to sleep early my eyes and mind don't want to cooperate 🙈

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Im a morning person and wake up at 6:30-7 😅 it's a struggle for me coz I always lack of sleep... Then become sleepy at work.. And what's annoying is, during holidays, my eyes don't allow me to sleep longer huhu

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Do you go to bed late or you are a light sleeper? I go to bed at the latest at 12 am and get up at 7am. It is enough for me. I am a good sleeper.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Light sleeper..even a small noise can make me awake..i can't sleep as well if there is light..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Although having a good sleep is necessary but we should set up a routine to wake up at particular time because it will make us more punctual.The tips you shared will definitely help us to be an early riser.Exercise and good food in Morning are really important to keep us in good health.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes only with fresh head we can be punctual. Breakfast is very important to gain energy for the day.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

there are people, who hate getting up early in the morning and everything seems to be a hassle. They are slow, grumpy and better not talk to them, until they are fully awake and ready for the day.

Okay, I did not tell you that, but how did you know? Hahaha! It would be a lot of work for me to become a morning person. But I'll try.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha The only reason I know this is because I worked with someone, who was like that. She was still sleepy even at work.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh ny goodness. You are not working with me right? LOL. I also get sleep even at work! But no worries! I do my best to not get noticed. 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That was a girl from Germany. Be careful and do it when nobody sees you. haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aye aye, captain! LOL

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yayy I always wake up at 5AM! Ugh hahhaa and when that happens I read here at read cash. I guess this is my routine now? Haha. Char. I'm a morning person but I don't exercise haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow that is super early. I get up at 7 am every day. Get breakfast and get my little one ready for nursery. She starts at 9am. That's my routine.

$ 0.00
2 years ago