The finish line

0 13
Avatar for Perpetual
2 years ago

This is my story

It was drizzling languorously when the briefing was done

It happened that good. But it was still hazy. Serenity reigned . Such a time that sleep sweetens, and when some would curse whoever or whatever that awaken them, aborting a sweet dream.

Nothing could have prompted the decision. A strong decision. A radical action carried out softly. But the daybreak's and meet whatever it may. That was how it happened in Amankwu royal palace that morning 🌅.

Eze Ejikeme, obi ogudu 1 of Amankwu, had lived happily and peaceful with his wife, ugoeze ijeoma. They were adjudged as having lived prosperously too over their twenty-one years of marriage, with their three beautiful daughters and three wonderful sons. The king was known and reversed as a man of careful disciplines. The queen 👑 was reputed for her unassuming mien. Her royalty did not get into her head; she was such a humble woman, a loyal wife in herself effacing majesty before the public. She was always calm before the king and was ever ready willing to carryout his bidding. Men envied the king for having such a beauty, such an angel as wife.

There was no doubt as to whether obi ogudu 1 loved his dear wife. He was proud of her as he flaunted his obi he would either scurry into their bedroom to meet and be with her or he would send for her to offer him that needed companionship. Togetherness was there ritual of communication. Two love birds, they loved each other stupendously, as if lifet was only but once.

That fateful morning was a turning point. The king nudged his queen 👑 to wake. He did not call her mine, for that was what he used to call her. He was already sitting on the bed 🛏️ with legs astride. She had used her right hand to search his body since neither of his leg nor arm was on top of her. What she touched was not what she bargained for. She open her eyes 👀. What she saw first was his trunk covered in his pink green flowered pyjamas. Realizing that he was no more lying down, she traced his face up. The bed lamp 🪔 was lit already. She saw a plain face looking down on her. She was dazed, frozen. But she could immediately afford to stare at him, with a pouted mouth. She nearly blacked out. Could it be normal? Did he have a bad dream? God. She struggled out of her sparkling milk coloured voluptuous quilt.

My Lord, good morning"there was no reply. Quite unusual.

My Lord, is it okay?

"I have something to tell you"he replied coldly , and continued to stare at her.

She was getting rather confused 🤔 about him. "Is this a dream?" No

What must it be my lord? I am all ears. What could it be? Something crucial.

Oh, I cannot wait to hear what the matter is, she said, raising her hand to caress his cloudy face, maybe,to see him clearly. He dodged , and softly muttered.

I am through with our marriage.

He was precise. At first, ugoeze felt stupefied. She could not be sure she heard him well enough. But if she did she waited to hear more. But nothing followed . They only stared at each other . But her month hung agape with no sound coming from it. She seems to hear him very well. After all, she was poised at hearing him out. She heard very well,she was sure. But she was not sure she understood him a whit.

She was staring at him, her eyes 👀 doing enough to prod him to say something reasonable. Yet, he did not utter a word. His face remained expressionless.

My Lord, I don't understand,"she struggled with herself, and said. "Could you repeat what you just said?"she requested.

I am through with my marriage with you. More word added, but meaning the same thing. It sounded like more explicative but unreasonable enough, it wouldn't interest her to hear it repeated. But something seemed certain to her: her marriage just came to a crossroads!

I still don't understand my Lord, she said pleading for explanation. What do you expect me to do?

Leave my palace and go back to your people, he sounded absolute.

Just like that? "Yes"

"Our children" she managed to ask with a trembling voice.

They can take care of themselves. They are quite grown, he offered as an answer.

Okay, my lord," she decided to end the conversation there . Maybe, she was in deep reverie. She would revisit it if everything did not turn out a big joke. But she knew her husband as a man who could do anything unprodded. She knew him as a man who took his time before holding on to an idea, to any decision. He seemed to have taken a decision at the moment. But he claimed to have no scintilla reason at this time. But something hardly comes sans nothing.

Two days passed, three, four, five days passed and Eze Ejikeme obi did not say a word to Ugoeze ijeoma. By this time, he had chosen to be sleeping 😴 in the bedroom at the ground floor. Ugoeze ijeoma saw herself lying 🤥 awake all night in their bedroom upstairs. In the day the king would be very careful not to entertain that warm ritual of staying with her. It began to dawn Ugoeze that her husband might mean his words. She forced herself to his palace one of those days when he had no guest and ask him what the problem was. She has taken time to examine herself to know if she erred in any way. She was quieter these days and she remembered nothing. She was quieter these days and was careful not to betray her worry before her two children, oluebebe and nnaoma, who were back from school holidays. Chukwubuikem and udoka were in school in UK and Canada respectively; while Nkeiruka and Uchnna were studying at the University of Abuja. She kept asking him what the matter was, pleading 🥺 with him to tell her, and vowing and apologizing for an offence she hardly could put her finger on. Her husband assured her that she did nothing wrong to him.

" And how do you mean I should go back to my people? And you mean I did no wrong. Why then should I leave your palace? Give me one reason my Lord.

I have no singular reason, for no singular reason you're sending me away? How can ,my Lord? There must be a reason. Do me the favour of knowing my sin. Why?

Because I don't want to marry again, why? Because I don't want to marry again." Because you don't want to marry me again. " No, because I don't want to marry again." What did I do to be so disgraced, my Lord?" It's not a disgrace...." What did I do to be divorced?" Nothing. Did you do anything for me to marry you?"

" Oh! My Lord. My Lord...." You didn't do anything for me to marry you," he said calmly. What shall I tell my people that made my lord to send me back home.

Anything you like. My Lord, be serious. What do I tell people?" That I don't want to marry again. That I'm through with our marriage. That our marriage line is drawn."

Our marriage line is drawn? Why? Why?" Yes you know, I just want to be," you mean? " Yes. I just want to be."

My Lord. You don't have to be alone. No, my lord. We started this marriage journey well. Together we can always raise and make a wonderful family. Together, we can make a huge success of our marriage finish line. Talk to me my Lord.

But I'm grateful to you for the number of years I married you. And what we've achieved together. It's about time I listened to my mind. Just to be. And I'll be very grateful to you." He thought he was generous in his explanation.

He was serious, but he looked calm like zinedine zidene of Real Madrid, in the dugout. But the way his eyes began to rove, it could be that many thoughts roved in his head. But Ugoeze was not telepathic. It's about time I listened to my mind. Just to be. And I will be grateful to you.' Ugoeze ijeoma repeated herself. She could not miss the tone of finality in Eze Ejikeme who used to her loving husband.

Ijeoma had been known as a symbol of loyalty to the king. She had to be loyal even at this time of crisis, uncertainty. The day she decided to go back to her natal home, the king detailed three of his driver's to use three of his fleet of exotic cars in taking her and her belongings home. They should leave one of them, 4 matric mercedes jeep,for her use while they should return in the remaining two. Four of his guards were to accompany her home and help in carrying down her luggage 🧳. Ugoeze ijeoma went home.

Please the story will continue next time.

Sponsors of Perpetual
empty
empty
empty

Please I'm open to sponsor

2
$ 0.00
Avatar for Perpetual
2 years ago

Comments