On miners and collusion

0 103
Avatar for PedroRomero
4 years ago

Please bear with me for a moment...

I'll start on a tangent, but I promise this short text IS about miners and collusion.

I have kids...

I have three actually, and they are 8, 5 and 2 years old.

All boys, so roughhousing happens often and we really enjoy it.

I'm not small, at least not for European standards. I'm 1,80 m and weight around 103 Kg. My eldest son is now around 1,20 m and probably around 35 Kg. So I'm like three times bigger than him. I also do some Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu (just a blue belt), although lately I haven't been training as much as I'd like.

This all just means that whenever my kids and me fight playfully, they don't really stand a chance. It's not bragging or anything, it wouldn't make sense to brag about that, it's just a fact of life.

My eldest sometimes gets frustrated because he would really like to dominate me sometimes, I guess that's nature doing what nature does, he challenges me.

One day I told him that he still needs to grow up to beat me, and that probably, when he's around 16 or 17 years old and actually can beat me, he will no longer feel the need to do it.

Fact: I could hurt my kids if I didn't love them so much and maybe if I was a sociopath or something. I won't, of course, but I could.

Now, the fact that I am bigger and stronger than them also enables me to help them in some ways. For example, sometimes they fall asleep in the couch when we are watching a movie or something, and I just pick them up and take them to their bedroom. It's quite easy for me to carry them. The 8 years old is getting bigger now and I might struggle getting through some doors because I don't want to bang his head against the frames and such. But if I didn't care about that I could probably just lift him over my head and run to the bedroom easily...

Here's where I think all this will make sense to you.

Imagine if somebody told me not to carry my kids to bed when they fall asleep on the couch, or let them sit on my shoulders when we are walking on the street and they get tired because that would make the fact that I can dominate them clear and evident...

There will be no turning back.

The moment I pick my kid up in the are I will be showing that I can crush him if I want to.

"Ah... you can help him climb to a bunk bed... that means you could also throw him out the window... we're doomed, the system doesn't work anymore, parenthood is a lie!!"

I'm sorry, if you don't find that ridiculous I can't help you understand it.

Other adults could also hurt my children.

Just thinking about it makes me imagine myself as Charles Bronson on an 80's movie... or the guy from the "Revenge" movies... I would slaughter anybody who tried.

Just in case you didn't connect the dots:

Miners are the father and Bitcoin Cash is the child.

Miners CAN crush Bitcoin Cash.

In fact, some miners are the "other adults" in the analogy and they do try to hurt BCH, but the "mining fathers" protect us.

They can even collude to protect us from evil miners. They join forces and fight against reorgs and stuff.

The fact that miners can collude to wreak havoc should be evident by now and it shouldn't mean they cannot collude or associate to do GOOD for Bitcoin Cash.

Showing strength is not attacking.

Does this mean that the developer funding proposal is perfect?

I don't know about that. I think some "debate" would help get to a good way of distributing the funds and such.

I just wanted to debunk the "if miners can collude to fund devs they can also collude to change the 21 million limit..." BS. We've know they could do that for long now. That's why Satoshi wrote that "He ought to find it more profitable to play by the rules, such rules that favour him with more new coins than everyone else combined, than to undermine the system and the validity of his own wealth."

There are incentives, not destiny or impossibility to change things.

As somebody wiser than I said: "The price of freedom is eternal vigilance".

We must actively get behind the good initiatives and against bad initiatives, it's not like the system is "set in stone" and it will work forever no matter what... We need to ask miners to do good things and prevent them from doing bad things by showing support to that which furthers our values for a P2P Electronic Cash System and getting the issuance of money out of the state hands.

2
$ 0.40
$ 0.10 from @Moeb
$ 0.10 from @fmarcosh
$ 0.10 from @reizu
+ 1
Avatar for PedroRomero
4 years ago

Comments