What Makes A Responsible Parent?

2 26
Avatar for Pearlkel
2 years ago

I guess it does not make sense to call a father irresponsible, does it? It could make sense because not all fathers are responsible. When I got to work today, settling down to the day work, I heard some people shouting in the corridors of my office. I got curious and demanded what the problem was, my secretary too was acting like she didn't know, so I went out to see for myself. 

What I encountered was a funny situation. The man was demanding to see me and the security was asking him to see the college bursar. It was like they were at each other's throat. 

Silently, I asked the security man to return to his duty post and that I will handle it from here.

The man seemed to have calmed down a little, then I took the lead and he followed me into my office. I sat before I could even offer him a seat. I have seized him up already, he was not illiterate but he is not educated. Education is not about reading and writing, it is more than that. 

We got at it.

What is the matter, Mr Harrison?

He cleared his throat in an attempt to answer my question. 

Today is the first day of the term and my ward was sent home for school fees. 

That seems serious, right? I wanted to ask him further questions but I rather asked for the presence of the bursar. 

When he came, I wanted to hear directly from him. As soon as he came, I demanded from him what had transpired. 

Sir, this parent hasn't paid his ward school fees for last term. And as directed……

I asked him to stop at that juncture. That sounded irritating to my ears. 

It was a scene where I had not to be angry. It was quite a scene. Turning to the Mr Harrison, I said:

With all due respect sir. You haven't paid your ward's school fee for last term and we have resumed another term. 

He wanted to break into my speech, I asked him to excuse me, then continued. 

I wanted to find out how the child managed to stay in school for a term without paying, and enjoyed all the privileges due to a student who had completed his or her fees. 

This is a fee paying school and for any parent to enrol their ward here, they ought to be prompt in paying their fees. And if per adventure you have some problems paying, adequate information and follow up should be given to the constituted office. 

At this point he started pleading. It wasn't in my office to cover what is not right. I asked him to go back to the bursar and make an arrangement on which he would pay the fees. 

To be fair to the office of the bursar, how on earth would a man who knows he has a responsibility to fulfil pretend not to know it, trying to shy away from it. 

This was how we handled the matter today. But one thing I noticed is that the man in question is not one of such who would struggle to pay school fees. His standing alone can pay the fees for a whole session. 

Despite being a man of influence, he prioritises his ward education for something else. You will be surprised to learn that he had organised one big party where he had spent a fortune. 

This is one problem that parenting in the 21st century has been confronted with and until the right kind of steps is taken, parents will keep losing value and their wards may seize that opportunity to become wayward. 

A parent ought to always stand up to act well on their part. 

We should never fail to do what is expected of a good parent. Care, love, provision, social security, and education are the most important heritage we ought to give our wards. No one as a parent should shy away from this responsibility. 

Lead image


6
$ 6.39
$ 6.29 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Olasquare
$ 0.03 from @Oikawa
+ 3
Sponsors of Pearlkel
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Pearlkel
2 years ago

Comments

An irresponsible person can never become a responsible parent. It takes a responsible person to be a responsible parent

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Some knows the right way to do it but just decided not to take it in full. Some even love to take late decisions so people won't think they have it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago