Sweet Black Cloudy Friday

6 35
Avatar for Pearlkel
2 years ago

Image source

Its a while I saw Musa my childhood friend. Work has really made a vacuum with my social life that I almost loss those who mattered in life. This Friday, I am going to take sometime off to see one or two of my friends. Musa came to mind. While I dressed up, Isaac crossed my mind. What do I do? Okay. I will go to see Isaac who lives closer to me than Musa.

Isaac was so surprised to see me. Hope you're fine? He queried. I am, just came to see how you're doing. Its been a while. We share a plate of Nigerian jollof rice with friend croaker fish and plantain. It was a great reunion. We spoke about work and the tussle that has been going on between the government and corporate organization on the issue of cryptocurrency. Two hours with Isaac seemed like a year. As I started to prepare to leave we fixed a hang out on the Vitoria Island Quilox restaurant in two weeks with other friend.

My Uber arrived and we zoomed off to the other part of the city. Lagos is indeed a mega city. It took us another two hours to arrive Allen Avenue in Ikeja. Musa had prepared a sumptuous launch that I could say no. Vegetable stew with goat meat and stock fish was served with pando yam. I told him of the plan to hookup at Vitoria Island in two weeks time with the rest guys which he gladly accepted. I decided to take my leave after a long chat with Musa, my only Hausa friend before the unimaginable happened.

Image source

Sponsors of Pearlkel
empty
empty
empty

Gbo! Gbo!! Gbo!!! The sound of gun from a little distance to where we were

standing, my friend and I. Everyone scamper for safety. We couldn't wait to see what was happening, my friend and I ran quickly back to his apartment. Shop owners hastily locked up their stalls without proper arrangement of the wares they sell. The pandemonium was everywhere around the street. My heart was literally in my mouth as I breath heavily from the short race I just had. What was that? I asked my friend.

Cult boys are at it again. They are still counting scores probably.

This is how they terrorize this place almost everyday and the law enforcement agents haven't been able to clamp on them. At this instance, I wondered if I am not in Nigeria. I haven't seem it this tough. Broad day gun battle. How did we get here? I was so perturbed that my countenance could be felt from the next door.

Normalcy have returned, let me see you off, my friend spoke to me lightly as he made for the door. Loud siren could be heard from the patrol vehicle of the police, only meant to scare the dangerous elements away. No single arrest was made.

As we stepped outside, there was wailing and shouting across the road. A young boy in his early teens had been dropped (killed). And another was carried on the shoulder by a macho man. He isn't dead but from the look of things, he was gasping for breath.

Just like that, two promising young men were killed. I was so frightened that I told my friend I won't be visiting again if he doesn't consider get another apartment in another part of the metropolis.

Cultism has eaten deep into the fabrics of society. Children who have does not have a will or sense of direction have been brainwashed and initiated into deadly secret cults and even assigned missions they must accomplish. As such, our society is deteriorating in all ramifications on a daily basis.

I made an order for a Uber to take me home, this is about the third time and they all turned it down. Perhaps the news about the invasion have spread to other parts of the city.

The whole streets was deserted except for petty traders who were beginning to display their wares again. One of the traders adjacent to my left spanked her child and drew him into the shop by the ear for walking a little further from her presence saying in pidgin English:

Come back here, I no kill my mama, you no go kill me.

Meaning that the boy should not cross his bounds or out of her sight. It is so bad that people live in fear of insecurity. It is so alarming, nothing seem to be under control. Human life is been handled like no-man-business.

This is indeed a bad weekend for the parents of those lads who were visited by untimely death. What more could be darker than this on a Friday?

Lead image

8
$ 5.94
$ 4.70 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 1.00 from @cool08
$ 0.05 from @Fexonice1
+ 4
Sponsors of Pearlkel
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Pearlkel
2 years ago

Comments

I don't see the issue of cultism ending in Nigeria because it has eaten into the youth and surprisingly, even the teenagers are involved.

I had an experience when a young boy stepped on me on the school campus, I was trying to tell him to watch where he was going and he flashed me with an ax. After he went people told me that I shouldn't have said anything.

I was like, this boy is the age of our last born but I understand that the country is messed up

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The same thing happened last Friday here in Ondo. Two cult members were gunned down by members of a rival cult group. I seriously don't know why people still engage in cultism these days. I think it's the height of stupidity when one decides to still risk their own lives by joining a good-for-nothing group of unchaste and violent individuals all in the name of brotherhood.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Its an increasing problem menace in our society these days. There is need for urgent overhauling of these unscrupulous elements from our societies.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

So sorry for their lives. We all live in fear of insecurity. We keep praying for God's protection but the government aren't doing anything. Innocent lives are claimed because of these act. Something happened too here in Ondo which claimed the live of a young boy. The Dad was sitting beside him and was crying. What a waste. Though,they have caught some of them who they believed were suspect. But will that bring the dead?

$ 0.03
2 years ago

This is saddening that peoples lives are always at risk from these cult groups...stray bullets killing the innocent, I pray for the comfort of the parents of the diseased...may God help us in this country,

please ehn sir next time just meet somewhere else that place needs a proper check...thankGod you weren't a victim.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yeah sometimes it's good to meet with friends and discuss about what's going in your life and also take part in outing it make us feel fresh

$ 0.02
2 years ago