Raina Must Go To School

1 24
Avatar for Pearlkel
1 year ago

Watching father shout at mother because of me is one of the saddest things I have ever experienced in life. Despite all my father said, mother would always say at the top of her voice:

"Raina must go to school! She's no different than the other kids!"

I stared at my parents with teary eyes. Lately, they've been having different arguments and it really pains me that I am the cause of it all.

Meet me, Raina Donald, the only child to Sarah and David Donald. To some, I was a special child as I was very creative, to some, I was disabled, to my dad, I was just a liability but to my mum, I was her world.

I was diagnosed with dyslexia at the age of eight. I am ten now and I still find it hard to understand some concepts. My mum and dad weren't able to afford a special school so I had to go to regular school and it was really hard for me. Most teachers don't have the patience for me to understand better. Everything seems complicated to me, words look like puppies and flowers and the only subject I'm good at in school is art. My imaginations run wild and I am able to bring them to life and that was why my best subject was arts.

Sponsors of Pearlkel
empty
empty
empty

"We cannot afford to waste our time on her! Don't you get it?, she cannot make it as a normal student in school"


"My baby girl is special and she would learn like others. End of story."

my mum ended with finality in her voice.

I was crying so hard. I hate when my parents fight because of me. I then rushed out of the house to the backyard. That was my safe space.

"Raina!Raina! Into the house now!" My mum screams from inside. I quickly rushed into the house as I knew she was angry and I didn't want to upset her more. When I got into the house, I saw that she was furious and angrily chopping onions on the chopping board and when I got in she angrily stabbed the knife into the board.

"Never cry or be apologetic for who you are. Understand me?"

"Yes ma'am " I sniffed as I tried to avoid crying.

I went to school the next day to realize I had a new teacher. She was so kind and she told us to call her aunty Lily. Aunty Lily would always carry me along in class unlike other teachers and would only let out a smile at me anytime I got something wrong. She later approached me and told me she could help me. I was surprised at how she knew I was dyslexic. She told me the story of her being dyslexic and how her teacher helped her to overcome it. 

Looking back today, I could say that my mother and Aunty Lily did all they could to ensure that I became the best version of myself. 

Sooner than anyone could remember, I overcame so-called dyslexia and grew through school.

After my final papers at the university, I returned home to my parents as a graduate of law. That was the happiest day of my mother's life. I saw her countenance as the tears of joy were gathering in her eyes, I ran to give the warmest hugs for believing in my weakness to become the woman she wants me to be. 

I came out of law school and was called to the bar as a bencher. As the best graduating student from law school, there were quite a number of companies queuing up for my services. 

Everything I have become today is due to the kindness my mother and my teacher, Aunty Lily showed me. 

Lead image

First Published Here


2
$ 0.54
$ 0.54 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Pearlkel
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Pearlkel
1 year ago

Comments

Congratulations, thank God for your mom and teacher..and you kept in pushing

$ 0.00
1 year ago